Chevron Left
Back to Startup Valuation Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Startup Valuation Methods by Duke University

4.5
stars
406 ratings
118 reviews

About the Course

How do different types of investors think about an investment opportunity? What kind of securities and contracts do they offer? How should a company decide what is a "good deal"? This course is designed to introduce you to the challenges and pitfalls of financing new enterprises. You will learn the basic tools for valuating companies, including using discounted cashflow analysis in Excel and understanding how to apply this model to your entrepreneurial venture. You will then learn how valuation works with different types of securities that investors use to finance startups, from bank loans to venture capital to angel investing....

Top reviews

CK
Apr 30, 2020

The best ever online course one could find. It is worth every single minute spent. Thank you so much for offering this course. And really so happy to complete this course. Much love to the professor.

SP
Apr 22, 2020

This course has helped gain knowledge of the valuation of companies of all sizes, basic funding criteria, and sources for a startup and a view of investors for a company.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 118 Reviews for Startup Valuation Methods

By Diego R A C

Apr 29, 2020

Muy buen curso para iniciar en la metodología para valuar startups

By Pratik K

Jul 16, 2020

Great Course for anybody planning to start his business.

By Nidhi S

Jun 15, 2020

Brain turner and insightful with real life examples.

By Raj M

Dec 4, 2019

Fantastic course on entrepreneurship finance.

By Chen-Hao H

Apr 17, 2020

The lectures are useful and helpful!

By Pedro V F d S

Sep 22, 2020

Great course. Amazing knowledge.

By Surenderrao K

May 12, 2020

Very well structured one! Thanks

By Amarendra P S

May 31, 2020

very succinct and helpful.

By Bruno P

Apr 29, 2020

Concepts clear and dynamic

By Rajeev K S

Aug 24, 2020

Very good knowledge

By Diana J I G

Sep 3, 2020

Very well compiled

By Daniel N O

Oct 10, 2020

I learnt a lot

By Michael K

Oct 11, 2020

Great course

By Ogbeide J E

Apr 14, 2020

great course

By HONG L C

Oct 17, 2020

very good

By Victor A D d S

Jul 8, 2020

Great!

By Stewart C

Mar 11, 2020

Very great course overall. Some of the lectures could use a bit more detail to avoid confusion. It would also be nice if there were solutions to the practice questions at the end of some of the videos. The week 3 quiz is finicky. For example, putting commas in a the answer for a value in the millions is counted as incorrect, but the exact same number is counted correct without the commas. Despite these issues, I am extremely glad I took this course. This subject is fascinating, and I look forward to the content provided by the subsequent courses in this specialization.

By Jamie F

Nov 24, 2020

Really enjoyed the material in this course - both professors do a great job of conveying the material. The only suggestion for improvement is that the graded quizzes don't offer explanation for why answers are correct or wrong - due to not being able to see the intuition behind an answer after successfully passing a quiz, I felt my understanding of the material was not reinforced as well as it could have been. Otherwise, great course.

By Marieke A W

Jan 23, 2020

Excellent course for people with limited math skills or little experience with startup valuation methods. The professors speak clearly, so they are easy to understand. Some formulas are not explained in detail, which means some quiz exercises are difficult to make. I had to search on Google for a more in-depth explanation of some valuation methods. That's a pity. However, I'm very glad I took this course. Thank you very much!

By Sourabh S N

Jul 5, 2020

Certain Concepts could be explained more clearly by walking through the calculations. Specifically to Week 3 - Option Pool. Self learning lead to Cap-Table method which is much easier way to calculate and understand option pools, but then numeric answers don't match. Walking through and example and clearly specifying the assumptions will be helpful.

By Tadashi T

Jun 7, 2020

Un gran curso, sin duda aprendes mucho sobre VC, Ángeles y cómo valorizar el curso. Las semanas 3 y 4 eso sí no tienen la calidad de la 1 y 2. No porque la materia sea mala, sino que no están tan bien explicadas las respuestas y estoy casi seguro que una de las preguntas en los tests es errónea. Sin embargo, vale totalmente la pena este curso.

By KRITARTH R

Aug 9, 2020

The faculty teachers are engaging and the pedagogy used makes the course easy to understand. The content of the course is also up to mark. However, it would be even more enlightening if a deeper dive into the valuation of startups would have been provided.

By AAYUSH N

Jul 27, 2020

3.5 to 4 stars are good for this course. The content was satisfying how slides used can be more interactive. Sometimes I had to watch the videos twice to actually get what the instructors are saying. But the course was good.

By Ardilla A

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent course! The only downside is I find the second part of this course is a little bit hard and confusing to follow through, therefore I have to repeat the lecture multiple times to understand the material.

By PrashanthKumar

Mar 24, 2020

Really good course design. However, the examples on week 3 could use some more explanation and clear presentation. There should be a follow up on the questions with solution explanation to simplify the concepts.