Chevron Left
Back to The Power of Team Culture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Power of Team Culture by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
287 ratings
83 reviews

About the Course

Behind the success and failure of teams lies team culture. But what exactly is culture? How and why does it contribute to success and failure? In this course, you learn how to recognize aspects of team culture of which most people are typically unaware. It is often these seemingly unimportant aspects that have the greatest effect on the outcomes of group tasks. Your recognition of them enables you to form, join and lead teams more effectively. You also come to appreciate the role of ritual and symbols in the daily operation of teams, as well as in situations of change and crisis. Knowledge of the ideas and information in this class enables you to be a better team player and a more effective team leader....

Top reviews

BK

Nov 10, 2016

That was quite a fascinating course, at least for someone who does not know anything about anthropology. The tutor did an outstanding job and also provided good readings. Highly recommended.

WM

May 04, 2020

Got an amazing experience in online education with this course and bunch of new knowledge. I would like to thank coursera and University of Pennsylvania team for offering me a financial aid.

Filter by:

76 - 82 of 82 Reviews for The Power of Team Culture

By Belinda

Jul 07, 2019

Good info, but thought it would apply more directly to workplace

By Juhi S

Jan 23, 2018

The topic is very interesting but th

By Nikki A

Apr 14, 2020

The information was too basic for university level material. The most disappointing part was the way in which the information was presented. In other courses for this specialization, a group of professors conversed and connected dots over subject matter while also providing videos of acted out skits to show progression of teams; it was highly engaging! In this course, it is one professor speaking directly to camera; not engaging at all for learners.

By Caitlin S

Nov 14, 2019

I don't quite feel like this course matched up with what I felt was described, but it wasn't bad. I learned a lot about anthropological examples of culture formation and change, less about how it works and can be applied inside of companies. While the lecturer is incredibly knowledge, the format could be a bit more engaging probably than him just reading off a teleprompter and standing in front of a cheesy greens screen background.

By Jae C

May 31, 2020

Too theoretical. This is class for anthropologists. I wanted insights into knowing about team culture that I can apply to existing organizations. Even though there were occasional nuggets, most of the information is laden with terminology that prevents me from using the concepts to take advantage of team culture.

By Mandy A

Sep 04, 2018

This was not the hardest class I've ever taken on Coursera. I enjoyed the subject matter but wish I could be more challenged.

By Elaine W

Nov 04, 2018

Although it is interesting to hear this topic taught by an anthropoligist the content was very limited.