Chevron Left
Back to Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy by University of Virginia

4.8
257 ratings
58 reviews

About the Course

How much should you charge for your products and services? Traditionally, businesses have answered this question based on the cost to produce or provide their goods and services. This course shows you the economic factors behind pricing based on cost and the pros and cons of a cost-based pricing approach. Led by Darden faculty and Boston Consulting Group global pricing experts, the course provides the practical and research-based models and methods you need to set prices that maximize your profits. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: --Apply knowledge of basic economics to make better pricing decisions --Recognize opportunities for price discrimination—selling the same product at different prices to different buyers—and recommend strategies to maximize sales and profits --Calculate three types of price elasticities to determine the impact of price on demand --Analyze and apply different pricing models -Cost-plus pricing -Marginal cost-plus pricing -Peak-load pricing -Index-based pricing --Evaluate the impact of channel intermediaries and customer lifetime value on pricing...

Top reviews

MP

May 08, 2018

Concepts in this course are challenging but the class is setup for students to succeed. I really enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about pricing strategy.

AG

Apr 06, 2018

Even if you are familiar with the basics of microeconomics, and cost structures, this course combines it all together to provide a new perspective of using these models and concepts in pricing.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 56 Reviews for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

By Fabricio R

May 13, 2019

Excellent course. In my view, the academic rigor of the week exercises needs to be improved even for a beginner level.

By Nikitas P

Jun 12, 2019

Really helpful and well-designed course for those interested in understanding the basic Pricing concepts in practice and learn how to approach any pricing challenge

By Olesia A

Apr 28, 2019

The succinct and exhaustive account of pricing. Specifically, this course highlights the role of a firm's cost structure in pricing strategy. Highly recommended!

By Daryl

Apr 24, 2019

An excellent course. A gold star online experience, fantastic teachers, albeit challenging in parts.

By Maria A B

Apr 07, 2019

I'll definitely recommend this course as it gives you the basic structures to learn about the pricing fundamentals, like what cost and margin are and how to calculate them etc... it is also well explained, very thorough.

By Paolo V

Apr 03, 2019

Good refresh, good learning of new concepts, excellent delivery of the lectures by both professors

By Georgiy Z

Feb 21, 2019

Excellent overview of economics in pricing strategy.

Great deal of practical work. Very applicable to real life scenarios.

By Boe C

Jan 23, 2019

Good instructor/prof. Material is a bit basic and some of the quiz and practice questions are less precise in the phrasing of question objectives than they could be but overall the material is informative and could be productively put into practice.

By Shubham M

Dec 30, 2018

Wonderful Course, with lot of insights and case studies.

By Fábio I A

Dec 17, 2018

An amazing content that allows me to understand serious companies pricing strategies.

By xavier u

Nov 25, 2018

Very useful and clear but only good to obtain interesting learning material - NOT for certification

Peer reviews not working. If peers do not review your assignment , you cannot validate the course. I completed the assignment very early and I had no means to make peers review it.

ATTENTION: you can pay for the course and not be able to validate it only because peers do not review you assignment; and you have no control on that. Moreover, NO moderation on peer reviews resulting in low grading quality.

By Anurag P

Nov 19, 2018

Introductory level, but a fun course !! Not very hands-on but still will add to your knowledge.

Best Wishes.

By Eladio M

Nov 17, 2018

Really useful course that I can recommend to every business manager

Excellent professors

By Alexandre C O

Nov 16, 2018

Amazing course, it takes us through details and specifics in the matter of pricing! I highly recommend!

By Youssef C

Nov 13, 2018

v

e

r

y

i

n

t

e

r

s

t

i

n

g

c

o

u

r

s

e

,

l

e

a

r

n

t

a

l

o

t

By Munish M

Oct 11, 2018

Great course. Has good coverage of important concepts and is delivered very well. Really useful course for those with interest in strategic pricing.

By ROMAN S R

Oct 10, 2018

Excellent!!!!

By Vladislav T

Oct 01, 2018

Great overview of main concepts, simple and immediately applicable explanation of elasticity and regression!

By Felipe O H

Sep 13, 2018

I loved the course, it is both a theoretical and applied sound program.

By Ashish A

Sep 13, 2018

It was really helpful in increasing the understanding of different pricing strategy. It was really a nice course.

By Evgeny L

Aug 31, 2018

Great course. Strong theoretical base linked with practical exercises

By Seshu Y

Aug 31, 2018

Good Course

By Dominique V

Aug 17, 2018

I loved the course, but if you want an overview of Pricing Strategy at least I missed it in the course! This course focuses on how to do the maths of price elasticity which is good and interesting too!

By Bilal Y

May 29, 2018

I would have loved if we were able to see a complete example, similar to the one we have done in the end of the course.

By Meredith P

May 08, 2018

Concepts in this course are challenging but the class is setup for students to succeed. I really enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about pricing strategy.