Chevron Left
Back to Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
655 ratings

About the Course

How much should you charge for your products and services? Traditionally, businesses have answered this question based on the cost to produce or provide their goods and services. This course shows you the economic factors behind pricing based on cost and the pros and cons of a cost-based pricing approach. Developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, and led by top-ranked Darden faculty and Boston Consulting Group global pricing experts, the course provides the practical and research-based models and methods you need to set prices that maximize your profits. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: --Apply knowledge of basic economics to make better pricing decisions --Recognize opportunities for price discrimination—selling the same product at different prices to different buyers—and recommend strategies to maximize sales and profits --Calculate three types of price elasticities to determine the impact of price on demand --Analyze and apply different pricing models -Cost-plus pricing -Marginal cost-plus pricing -Peak-load pricing -Index-based pricing --Evaluate the impact of channel intermediaries and customer lifetime value on pricing...

Top reviews

MS

Invalid date

Very helpful. The course provided conceptual insight in price setting methods apart from other relevant Technics and tools.

RZ

Invalid date

Pretty good content, but would have liked the option to do more practice problems, particularly problems using formulas from the course and real world applications. Overall it was a valuable course.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 148 Reviews for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

By arion07

Nov 16, 2021

Good information and techniques of how to increases profits in sales companies specially for products and massive consumption goods.

By Michael C

May 9, 2017

Interesting module considering this is my first time trying to understand pricing and how to set pricing. Learnt a lot, thanks.

By Pravar J

Apr 19, 2021

Great course. Helped me understand how to price your product with respect to market prices in order to attract customers.

By Alvaro F

Sep 27, 2020

Excellent, very complete and useful. Pretty sure I will be able to apply what I have learned here. Very well recommended.

By Georgiy Z

Feb 21, 2019

Excellent overview of economics in pricing strategy.

Great deal of practical work. Very applicable to real life scenarios.

By Dr. A R

Oct 5, 2020

Its a challenging course, need lots of understanding and hands on to clear the course. Had a great learning experience

By Bilal Y

May 29, 2018

I would have loved if we were able to see a complete example, similar to the one we have done in the end of the course.

By dispievi d

Sep 11, 2020

Muy enriquecedor y despeja inquietudes sobre fijación de precios que en emprendimiento, lo cual es un punto clave.

By Fernanda Q

May 4, 2020

This was a really well structured course, I was not expecting so much clarity on the content. Totally recommended.

By Ashish A

Sep 13, 2018

It was really helpful in increasing the understanding of different pricing strategy. It was really a nice course.

By targetUpsc 2

Dec 6, 2023

wonderful course to understand the pricing basics and different strategies along with real life case and handson

By Bruno d R D M

Aug 21, 2019

Congratulations for the course. I could learn the pricing techniques in a easy way and star taking in daily use.

By Vladislav T

Oct 1, 2018

Great overview of main concepts, simple and immediately applicable explanation of elasticity and regression!

By Reinis S

Jun 2, 2017

Great course and intro to pricing strategy, already excited for the coming courses in the specialization.

By jonathan

May 15, 2020

very good course! detailed, interesting and provides really useful concepts with real-world applications

By Alexandre C O

Nov 16, 2018

Amazing course, it takes us through details and specifics in the matter of pricing! I highly recommend!

By Ashish S

Sep 30, 2017

Brilliantly led course. The BCG material seems a bit fluffy - but from practice I know it is important.

By Meng Y

Sep 14, 2020

Great course to learn about the basics of pricing strategy, and some linear regression along the way.

By Daryl S

Apr 23, 2019

An excellent course. A gold star online experience, fantastic teachers, albeit challenging in parts.

By Paolo V

Apr 3, 2019

Good refresh, good learning of new concepts, excellent delivery of the lectures by both professors

By Gary S

Mar 18, 2018

Interesting, Challenging and rewarding. Recommended for all pricing enthusiasts and professionals!

By Bhaskar S

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course. Really enjoyed it throughout. Concepts are explained in a really nice manner.

By Wang L

Aug 8, 2017

It's a very helpful course can improve my analyze skills whatever I'm a salesman or a buyer !!

By Arun K

Aug 3, 2020

Very Nice course, looks simplistic but makes a lot of difference towards the understanding...

By Poushali G

Jan 21, 2018

Good course on pricing...look forward to completing the rest of the three pending courses