Chevron Left
Back to Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy by University of Virginia

4.8
stars
656 ratings

About the Course

How much should you charge for your products and services? Traditionally, businesses have answered this question based on the cost to produce or provide their goods and services. This course shows you the economic factors behind pricing based on cost and the pros and cons of a cost-based pricing approach. Developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia, and led by top-ranked Darden faculty and Boston Consulting Group global pricing experts, the course provides the practical and research-based models and methods you need to set prices that maximize your profits. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: --Apply knowledge of basic economics to make better pricing decisions --Recognize opportunities for price discrimination—selling the same product at different prices to different buyers—and recommend strategies to maximize sales and profits --Calculate three types of price elasticities to determine the impact of price on demand --Analyze and apply different pricing models -Cost-plus pricing -Marginal cost-plus pricing -Peak-load pricing -Index-based pricing --Evaluate the impact of channel intermediaries and customer lifetime value on pricing...

Top reviews

CA

Invalid date

All you need to understand about calculations and economics regarding pricing is explained, in detail, using clear examples and with great material to feel satisfied about complex information.

SM

Invalid date

A good course but there were places where I felt things weren't clearly explained. Also, the quiz questions were sometimes somewhat ambiguous.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 148 Reviews for Cost and Economics in Pricing Strategy

By Ma. T A G

Jun 27, 2020

Excellent course- as a marketing professional I appreciated being able to understand in better detail (conceptually and mathematically) the concepts that I've been applying broadly in pricing work in the real world. Adequately challenging and engaging!

By Liliya A

Oct 7, 2022

This course is really high-level with great instructors, well-organized and structured videos including essencial materials. I recommend it to anyone who would like to gain additional knowledge in price strategy and market analysis.

By Priyank G

Dec 31, 2020

This course is dense...loaded with terms...theory...examples. At the same time it is hugely interesting, makes you sit up and work out the problems. I hugely recommend this course for everyone related to buying and pricing.

By Maria A B

Apr 7, 2019

I'll definitely recommend this course as it gives you the basic structures to learn about the pricing fundamentals, like what cost and margin are and how to calculate them etc... it is also well explained, very thorough.

By Cezar G

Sep 30, 2017

Excellent overview of Pricing strategy. The teaching quality is world class, concepts are clearly presented and explained, and the assessments are structured expertly to ensure an understanding of the course content.

By Si

Dec 25, 2022

The course is great. The last business case study was challenging and fun.

Unfortunately, I met a learner who is irresponsible, marking my final business plan with a 0, whereas the other 2 learners marked 95%/100%.

By Robert B

Oct 19, 2021

Great course for everyone working in pricing with the basics that you need to know. Very well structured. I work in an industry with double marginalization and it was great to get some theoretical insights on it.

By Francisc G

Aug 5, 2019

Even though there might be things I don't require for my job role/company, it's well put together and every new bit I learned helped me a lot to understand the business culture I'm currently in. Great course!

By Garth Z

Oct 6, 2020

This course gets straight to the essence of the core concepts and formulas of pricing strategy. Content and instructors are clear and the final project properly reflects the material covered in the course.

By Meredith P

May 8, 2018

Concepts in this course are challenging but the class is setup for students to succeed. I really enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about pricing strategy.

By Camilo A A

Jul 7, 2019

All you need to understand about calculations and economics regarding pricing is explained, in detail, using clear examples and with great material to feel satisfied about complex information.

By Judith A

Jul 13, 2023

Cost and Economic in Pricing Strategy is a discourse I was glad and privy to have taken and it has helped widen my scope of knowledge especially in determining the prices of a new product.

By Lynette B

Sep 1, 2020

A great refresher course that allowed me to get back into the pricing calculations with ease. It can be challenging if you are not familiar with the statistical calculations.

By Juan J M

Jan 22, 2022

Professors explains every topic in a very clear and practical way. For a non-economics person like me, the course has a lot of value and encourages me to research more.

By Nikitas P

Jun 12, 2019

Really helpful and well-designed course for those interested in understanding the basic Pricing concepts in practice and learn how to approach any pricing challenge

By Olesya A

Apr 28, 2019

The succinct and exhaustive account of pricing. Specifically, this course highlights the role of a firm's cost structure in pricing strategy. Highly recommended!

By franck C

Dec 19, 2020

Great with challenging case study.

I review very different approaches and had very different feedback for mine so I wish I had some feedback from the Trainers.

By Trevor E

Jul 20, 2020

This is an excellent course. Videos are reasonable length and have the essential content. Quantitative information is presented in a very palatable way.

By Luis E S C

Dec 7, 2020

it is a good course with a pretty cool explanations, the modules are so interesting and the knowledge can be applied in lots of markets and segments

By Munish M

Oct 11, 2018

Great course. Has good coverage of important concepts and is delivered very well. Really useful course for those with interest in strategic pricing.

By Wasawat W

Jun 5, 2022

The course is well planed and easy to absorb. The example is clear to understand plus, the formula is well used along side with real life example.

By Max U

Apr 28, 2021

Excellent course with top lecturers. I really learned a lot about pricing approaches and strategies in this course thanks to the great lecturers!

By Robinsson Y S D

Mar 27, 2020

It is excellent I learned a lot and acquired tools that I did not know and strategies that increased my horizons of thought on the subject

By Parv S

May 19, 2020

One of the most challenging courses I have done on this platform and yet one of the most rewarding ones. Can't wait to do the next one!

By YANG X

Mar 25, 2020

Good cases with strong background knowledge, the course provides a framework for me to reflect loads of real-world business problems.