Chevron Left
Back to Wharton Business and Financial Modeling Capstone

Wharton Business and Financial Modeling Capstone, University of Pennsylvania

4.6
269 ratings
42 reviews

About this Course

In this Capstone you will recommend a business strategy based on a data model you’ve constructed. Using a data set designed by Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS), you will implement quantitative models in spreadsheets to identify the best opportunities for success and minimizing risk. Using your newly acquired decision-making skills, you will structure a decision and present this course of action in a professional quality PowerPoint presentation which includes both data and data analysis from your quantitative models. Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is the leading data research platform and business intelligence tool for over 30,000 corporate, academic, government and nonprofit clients in 33 countries. WRDS provides the user with one location to access over 200 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines including Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics....

Top reviews

By AV

Nov 02, 2017

Good course that helps understand different considerations to take into account when creating models. Well laid out Capstone project to help understand portfolio diversification and Optimal Portfolio.

By RT

Sep 26, 2016

Really a great set of courses to understand and apply models to many different scenarios. I was able to use the skills I learned right away in my profession. Would definitely recommend.

Filter by:

40 Reviews

By Sola ODEWABI

Jan 15, 2019

This course is very demanding and require high level of concentration with total attention to be able to complete the capstone assignments and project but will deliver practical capability in financial analysis for investment purposes.

By Jesus Oropeza

Dec 27, 2018

Excellent course and very good approach for a project to evaluate the learning of the other modules. This is probably the best course of the specialization, as is not only a test, but a simulation of a real life application to help make clients undestand the importance of diversification in portfolio management.

By Filippo Loddo

Dec 19, 2018

The course was good, but lack of support when I needed. My questions were not answered and had to find out by myself wasting a lot of time.

By Alessandro Ligi

Dec 06, 2018

best course in the specialization

By Micael Daher Jardim

Dec 06, 2018

The course lacks compatibility with the rest of the Specialization. It is tremendously hard and there is no orientation or guidance. Thanks to the support of some colleagues I might be able to finish it. But I ask myself if the extra work was really worthy.

2 stars because of the relevance and deepness of the subject.

It certainly doesn't represent other courses from the same university.

By Michael Maxwell

Oct 15, 2018

This course is a great way to get working knowledge of financial models and efficient frontier portfolio investing. Highly recommended!

By Rishikesh

Oct 12, 2018

Material and the course are not related! I would suggest if you wan to make it this complex please have instructors on hand!

I did markowitz inundergrad and masters too, and i did my Masters from LBS and undergrad from LSE i had to ask my professors to help! This is quite strange.

The internal teaching staff said that they wantd students to be creative and look at the way to solve it for themselves however the onus of figuring out how to create a matrix and why its done in that manner should not be on youtube.

Thank! The other 4 are great but this one is really bad!

By Deshmukh Paresh Ganeshrao

Oct 12, 2018

A course that tests your complete understanding of all the courses in the specialization.

By Martin Štourač

Oct 01, 2018

I was enjoying the ending of my specialization a lot, however it is very very needed to say that week 3 quiz is insanely overtuned and requires to find and use knowledge that was not part of the materials or videos in the whole specialization ( 4 courses + capstone).

By Manoel Lino Costa Neto

Sep 15, 2018

Excelent Course!