Chevron Left
Back to Managing Social and Human Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Social and Human Capital by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
1,305 ratings
210 reviews

About the Course

People are the most valuable asset of any business, but they are also the most unpredictable, and the most difficult asset to manage. And although managing people well is critical to the health of any organization, most managers don't get the training they need to make good management decisions. Now, award-winning authors and renowned management Professors Mike Useem and Peter Cappelli of the Wharton School have designed this course to introduce you to the key elements of managing people. Based on their popular course at Wharton, this course will teach you how to motivate individual performance and design reward systems, how to design jobs and organize work for high performance, how to make good and timely management decisions, and how to design and change your organization’s architecture. By the end of this course, you'll have developed the skills you need to start motivating, organizing, and rewarding people in your organization so that you can thrive as a business and as a social organization....

Top reviews

DM

Oct 20, 2018

Excellent Course. Understanding human behavior is one of the most difficult challenges in an organization. This course describes the challenges well and offers approaches to tackling those challenges.

AA

May 26, 2018

The case studies in the course are exemplary. For an MBA student to understand the decision making process at the highest level and to gain right decision making approach this course is a must .

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 209 Reviews for Managing Social and Human Capital

By Aditya A

May 26, 2018

The case studies in the course are exemplary. For an MBA student to understand the decision making process at the highest level and to gain right decision making approach this course is a must .

By Zackary H H

Dec 05, 2018

Great course I took away a lot of information from this course.

By Shrinivas G U

Dec 07, 2018

Excellent course. The lecture are short but the point. As an employee in a large organization it is easy to relate to the examples and suggested practices

By Ahmed M A E

Dec 12, 2018

Simple and nice!

By Craig B

Feb 03, 2019

Terrific!

Interesting case examples, we'll presented, concise, and enjoyable.

By Deleted A

Nov 07, 2018

Basics

By Tameika B

Nov 10, 2018

very informative

By Nugraha M B

Nov 28, 2018

i think this course is absolutely good for this function, simple to operate the website and good speaker in this course video.

By Ojas K

Nov 29, 2018

This course help me to understand the organisation structure, how decision are made and how we should behave in an organisation. One of the best course on HR and give a good understanding of managing social and human capital.

By xue l

Nov 14, 2018

thanks , really need this foundamental knowledge before I can understand my SHUMBA course.

By Meredith W

Feb 06, 2019

This course really helped me gain a better foundation on how to manage organizations and individuals!

By Abhishek P

Feb 14, 2019

very helpful for understanding about the human resource potential in an organization. an absolute must for anybody managing people.

By IMOUKHUEDE I

Feb 24, 2019

Very concise and helpful course. Literally improved my managerial skills.

By Chidurum E

Feb 26, 2019

I enjoyed the new knowledge I have acquired. The professors are great facilitators, and I will continue to take classes through coursea.

By Amy W

Feb 20, 2019

Incredibly well paced course with very engaging professors and material. I was very impressed with the clarity of discussed topics and frequency at which new material was presented - without becoming overwhelming. Taking this course was a pleasure.

By Ankit K

Mar 15, 2019

Great course and very well presented by Professors.

By Paola F R B

Nov 30, 2018

Me gusto mucho este curso, los maestros son muy buenos, aunque me gustaría que explicaran exactamente como aplicar algunas cosas

By AM

May 03, 2017

Liked the course a lot - Prof. Mike Useem's lectures are like stories - thats why they work!

By Pascale D

Feb 23, 2017

Des exemples concrets pour appuyer la théorie.

By Ana R

Jul 26, 2017

Loved it. Really good teachers, great examples.

By rajneesh r

Feb 18, 2017

nice course with good mtrl

By Pelayo A

Sep 10, 2017

Complete and usefull introduction into the subject

By ronit z

Dec 25, 2016

Valuable case studies and excellent walk-through by the professors.

By Christopher N J

Jun 21, 2017

Good course on this topic. Best thing is that they provide good real life examples about the issues they discuss.

By Roland P

Nov 24, 2017

The introduction may seem a little slow, but you swiftly take us deep into the real life of managing people and the trip is a great big 8. Thank you professors for your amazing insights !!