Chevron Left
Back to Managing Social and Human Capital

Managing Social and Human Capital, University of Pennsylvania

4.5
994 ratings
169 reviews

About this Course

People are the most valuable asset of any business, but they are also the most unpredictable, and the most difficult asset to manage. And although managing people well is critical to the health of any organization, most managers don't get the training they need to make good management decisions. Now, award-winning authors and renowned management Professors Mike Useem and Peter Cappelli of the Wharton School have designed this course to introduce you to the key elements of managing people. Based on their popular course at Wharton, this course will teach you how to motivate individual performance and design reward systems, how to design jobs and organize work for high performance, how to make good and timely management decisions, and how to design and change your organization’s architecture. By the end of this course, you'll have developed the skills you need to start motivating, organizing, and rewarding people in your organization so that you can thrive as a business and as a social organization....

Top reviews

By DM

Oct 20, 2018

Excellent Course. Understanding human behavior is one of the most difficult challenges in an organization. This course describes the challenges well and offers approaches to tackling those challenges.

By AA

May 26, 2018

The case studies in the course are exemplary. For an MBA student to understand the decision making process at the highest level and to gain right decision making approach this course is a must .

Filter by:

165 Reviews

By Ankit Kuchhal

Mar 15, 2019

Great course and very well presented by Professors.

By Chase Huang

Feb 27, 2019

Overal this course is quite useful to me, and I think it will be better if we can go into more details of current workplace examples, such as the success and failed stories of leading organizational changes.

By Chidurum Ekeke

Feb 26, 2019

I enjoyed the new knowledge I have acquired. The professors are great facilitators, and I will continue to take classes through coursea.

By IMOUKHUEDE IBIEZUGBE

Feb 24, 2019

Very concise and helpful course. Literally improved my managerial skills.

By Francesca Morse

Feb 21, 2019

The course was very informative for people who don't have any background in business. It gives great insight on the various organizational structures, and it does a great job of explaining what a company has to go through if they want to lead a significant change within their organization. There were some typos that I noticed on some of the slides, however, it was overall a great course to take.

By Amy W

Feb 20, 2019

Incredibly well paced course with very engaging professors and material. I was very impressed with the clarity of discussed topics and frequency at which new material was presented - without becoming overwhelming. Taking this course was a pleasure.

By Abhishek Panigrahi

Feb 14, 2019

very helpful for understanding about the human resource potential in an organization. an absolute must for anybody managing people.

By Meredith Wilwant

Feb 06, 2019

This course really helped me gain a better foundation on how to manage organizations and individuals!

By Craig Borax

Feb 03, 2019

Terrific!

Interesting case examples, we'll presented, concise, and enjoyable.

By Ahmed Mohammed Ahmed El-Affendi

Dec 12, 2018

Simple and nice!