Chevron Left
Back to Algebra: Elementary to Advanced - Equations & Inequalities

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algebra: Elementary to Advanced - Equations & Inequalities by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
465 ratings

About the Course

This course is intended for students looking to create a solid algebraic foundation of fundamental mathematical concepts from which to take more advanced courses that use concepts from precalculus, calculus, probability, and statistics. This course will help solidify your computational methods, review algebraic formulas and properties, and apply these concepts model real world situations. This course is for any student who will use algebraic skills in future mathematics courses. Topics include: the real numbers, equalities, inequalities, polynomials, rational expressions and equations, graphs, relations and functions, radicals and exponents, and quadratic equations....

Top reviews

NB

Feb 24, 2024

An outstanding MOOC in High-Secondary Algebra of Numbers, Linear Equations and Inequalities through computation exercises, mathematical modeling and applications with Desmos software.

SH

Dec 2, 2021

The class was challenging and the assignments were rigorous training. I like the word problems and how fractions are used as a more complex way of learning and doing the math.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 126 Reviews for Algebra: Elementary to Advanced - Equations & Inequalities

By Riaz A A M K

Jun 16, 2023

It was a nice experience learning from such a brilliant lecturer, The course content was simple, easy to understand and last parts are mostly technical, which makes the course content interesting.

Thank you

By Steve B

Nov 12, 2021

I had to drop a Calc class because it had been so long since I took Algebra. This course helped me refresh those skills where I feel much more confident moving forward.

By Raymond W

Mar 14, 2023

Enjoyed this review. Questions and examples were very thought provoking. I would have liked to have more examples to practice on or a referral to other example source.

By Brian G

Mar 17, 2023

The course is good but corrections should be placed on screen when errors are made by the lecturer, as in Khan Academy. Some of the answers require more explanation.

By Marcelo V G

Jan 23, 2023

It would be nice to have more comments on the exercises' answers and reference back to where you can see more information about that topic.

By Hera M A

Jan 9, 2022

Some of the lectures are slightly too long. I think this course would be more of a refresher than an in-detail course.

By Steve C

Jul 18, 2022

Very good. Clear content. There are a few mistakes where the instructor says one thing and writes something else.

By Jayaraman R

Jun 1, 2024

Excellent course. I had difficulties in absolute values, learning how to graph and some word problems

By Joseph L W T

Sep 24, 2021

Easy to understand, would have been 5 star if only there were more sample questions to practice on.

By Parth M

Aug 13, 2023

fun course and helpful

but i wish it was more interactive and had more activities

By Borin S

Oct 12, 2022

The explanation is nice, but one lecture over 15 minutes is too long to focus.

By Taofiqur R Z

Jul 26, 2021

kkgetoptionalnhvjg

By Colin P

Jan 10, 2023

Good referesher

By Tayfun E

Jan 11, 2023

Thanks

By Sunni S

Jul 10, 2023

cool.

By Jody-Lynn R

Nov 18, 2021

First off in a recent quiz given. I gave a correct answer and in the query that was posted, it stated that I couldn't put in anything other than the numerical answer. They wanted no signs of any kind, just the numerical answer. I had the correct answer. They told me I didn't because I didn't have the P and approximate sign with the numerical answer. Your course displayed the answer would be correct if I included the very items with the correct numerical answer, which is the one I gave. Yet, you marked incorrect because I followed your instructions and didn't place anything other than the numerical answer in the box.

Your professor speaks way too fast. That is not constructive.

I need to take another course with some review of the same material to feel more comfortable with it. I think for me at nearly age sixty and twenty years being out of college, this course was healthy for me to take. I did like the professor. I did he was too fast. I was not boring at all. That I liked.

By Laura P

Apr 9, 2024

I took this course as a refresher. I had most recently studied college algebra over a decade ago at my local community college. One of the most profound differences between that course and this one is the lack of practice offered. There are sample questions but there are no practice questions as there would be in a traditional setting. I found I had to spend considerable time using other sources like books and YouTube videos to make sure I grasped the concepts fully. More examples in addition to having practice questions would have been beneficial.

By Frieda P F

Dec 3, 2022

The course gives a basic understanding of Equations and Inequalities which would serve well as a primer to high school or basic college level algebra. I thought the videos were helpful but generally lacked depth. The lecture notes were skimpy but I found the practice problems and quizzes helpful. A few times I had to look up concepts on Google to get a deeper understanding.

By Nassima W

Jul 21, 2021

This course lacks some useful details and common thread. Anecdotes aren't details, they are just anecdotes.

Overall, it was good, and I signed up for another math course from Coursera.

By N B

May 24, 2023

Not in depth, inferior to other free of charge lectures and courses you can find on Youtube, FreeCodeCamp, etc...

By Gaurav T

Jun 5, 2024

More to intrest to learn deep on liner

By Kiều T

Jul 1, 2023

Too simple

By Ladislao R

May 16, 2023

It was an ok class. I no longer have high expectations for math courses; far too many instances of questions on quizzes not matching the content taught in terms of difficulty and lack of explanation on how to solve them. The example problems while helpful for the most part lack the difficulty which is encountered in the quiz problems. A lot of word problems aren't intuitive and require you to search for how to solve them elsewhere. Big curse of knowledge issues with math instructors.

By Dalton G

Dec 15, 2023

Certainly doesn't start off at the elementary level. Explanations are insufficient and the exams at the end go off the rails very quickly. Examples in the lessons are very rushed and don't thoroughly explain concepts in a way a beginner can understand. I found myself having to look up better explanations of things such as absolute values on other websites.

By Honey L B G

Sep 5, 2022

this is complicated math..i try to answer how can i answer the numbers????