Chevron Left
Back to Graph Search, Shortest Paths, and Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Graph Search, Shortest Paths, and Data Structures by Stanford University

4.8
stars
1,962 ratings

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: data structures (heaps, balanced search trees, hash tables, bloom filters), graph primitives (applications of breadth-first and depth-first search, connectivity, shortest paths), and their applications (ranging from deduplication to social network analysis)....

Top reviews

OK

Oct 30, 2021

The course was very interesting. As a person who struggles with problem-solving, I found this course very helpful because the professor's ideas are well explained. It makes me to learn more.

DS

Mar 29, 2020

Awesome course! Professor Roughgarden is fantastic. The material was appropriately challenging. Perfect amount of rigor. Only one minor squabble: the hash problem set is terribly misleading.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 236 Reviews for Graph Search, Shortest Paths, and Data Structures

By Damian C

Feb 17, 2018

I found this second part of the Algorithms stream fascinating. Getting into the details of Algorithms I only knew by name before was an extremely rewarding experience. Lots of fun and very enjoyable. Thanks Coursera for making the available, keep the good work!

By John W

Aug 13, 2017

I am still really enjoying the course. The programming assignment for week four didn't require a hash table to implement, so didn't seem entirely relevant to the week's material (instead I used sets). At any rate, would wholeheartedly recommend the course.

By YuGanshU

Nov 25, 2023

A very good and smooth session went with you. The videos were straightforward and point to point with full explanations . Will probably ,most likely, recommend this session to others. Easily this is one of the best data structure course available online.

By Jithu K

Nov 27, 2021

A very good course to understand the basics of graph theory. The hands on assignments ensure that the theory is well understood. The learners can build upon the advanced topics based on the basics learned here. This is a course of intermediate difficulty.

By Constantinos F

Apr 30, 2017

The professor is amazing. He has the ability to present the material very clearly, concise, and with a good dose of humour! I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in algorithms and data structures as an undergraduate or a professional.

By Long N

Jan 16, 2021

The course is well organized. The instructor is amazing for explaining these algorithms in details and easy to understand. All the programming assignments are really challenge, but there're only a few of them. I wish it could have more assignments.

By YEH T P

Feb 26, 2018

Data Structures helps me resolve problem quickly, and force me to think the problems in a more solid way. I will try to figure out what kind of operations I need when solve a specific problem and which data structure is suitable in that situation.

By Nicolas T

Mar 28, 2019

Another great, in-depth, course on algorithms. Now that the book is also available it's even better. Please just rework the assignment of week 4, it is unrelated to the week's lecture if you want to complete it in a reasonable time.

By Anton B

Nov 30, 2018

Awesome. Thought one improvement idea: when the questions are asked about some dataset shown in a picture it would be nice to retain the picture when the form is shown. Otherwise one need to rewind to recall the dataset.

By Sviatoslav S

Dec 31, 2016

I really enjoyed it. Perfect balance of practice and theory together with clear explanations. I also appreciate the mentors efforts that always answer any questions and try to help. Thank you Tim, Vassilis, and Arjit.

By Akash K B

May 24, 2020

The Course was good and the explanation really helped me in learning the algorithm and implementing them. But week 4 assignment required much more than the course taught us or else it's just very much time consuming

By Shivam G

Apr 8, 2023

Very good in theory as well as in implementation. It makes you think about the algorithm in a low level, which helps in building the understanding how and why an algorithm works. Sometimes little bit heavy in maths

By Dinghan X

Dec 10, 2019

I have to say it is getting challenging. Like the one programing assignment where python will encounter stack overflow issue. But, having the capability to identify and solve the problem is pretty fun. Nice course.

By Okhunjon K

Oct 31, 2021

The course was very interesting. As a person who struggles with problem-solving, I found this course very helpful because the professor's ideas are well explained. It makes me to learn more.

By derek S

Mar 29, 2020

Awesome course! Professor Roughgarden is fantastic. The material was appropriately challenging. Perfect amount of rigor. Only one minor squabble: the hash problem set is terribly misleading.

By Tarit G

Dec 1, 2019

It was an awesome experience to learn from such a teacher. Now I have a much clear view of the graph algorithms. I have enjoyed this course. Thanks to Stanford for offering this course.

By Shaun G

Aug 2, 2021

Very well put together course. Problem sets are tricky; however, by the end of the course, you feel quite accomplished and comfortable dealing with graphs and basic data structures.

By Hanyu C

Nov 12, 2017

Focused on principles and motivations behind algorithms. You might forget an algorithm you learned, but you will definitely be able to come up with one quickly after this course.

By Oleksandr S

Aug 4, 2019

Nice that this course gives ability to learn the inner implementation details of data structures. That was required for my work and was covered in the course on great level.

By Axel U

Dec 11, 2020

I like the handwritten slides during the lecture. It reminds me of actually sitting in class and the professor developing the material on the chalk board live. Very cool.

By ahmed a

Apr 9, 2020

The best algorithms course available. More on the theoretical side which in my opinion is more important, if theory is understood, implementation becomes second nature.

By Jephte E

Dec 27, 2019

I am very confident in the skills I learned. I have read some books on algorithms but this course makes the application so clear regardless of your programing language.

By Karan S

Sep 1, 2018

Learning algorithms is a must for all computer scientists. This course propels you on the path and kindles the spirit of inquiry and knack for finding better solutions.

By Mariia B

Jun 9, 2021

Thanks a lot to Prof Roughgarden for great lectures, to course mentors and fellow students for fruitful discussions. It was a hard, but insanely informative course.