Chevron Left
Back to Graph Search, Shortest Paths, and Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Graph Search, Shortest Paths, and Data Structures by Stanford University

4.8
stars
1,750 ratings
207 reviews

About the Course

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: data structures (heaps, balanced search trees, hash tables, bloom filters), graph primitives (applications of breadth-first and depth-first search, connectivity, shortest paths), and their applications (ranging from deduplication to social network analysis)....

Top reviews

DS
Mar 29, 2020

Awesome course! Professor Roughgarden is fantastic. The material was appropriately challenging. Perfect amount of rigor. Only one minor squabble: the hash problem set is terribly misleading.

TG
Nov 30, 2019

It was an awesome experience to learn from such a teacher. Now I have a much clear view of the graph algorithms. I have enjoyed this course. Thanks to Stanford for offering this course.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 203 Reviews for Graph Search, Shortest Paths, and Data Structures

By 秦天

Jun 12, 2019

amazing course

By Karim E

Jan 15, 2018

Awesome course

By Ajit C B

Aug 31, 2020

Great course!

By Rishabh K

Jan 11, 2018

just awesome!

By Ryan S

Jun 28, 2017

Great course

By Saurav M

Mar 22, 2019

NIce course

By Maxim M

Dec 8, 2019

brilliant!

By monkfish

Jun 24, 2018

great fun!

By Madhurya R

Sep 13, 2019

Great job

By clayton w

Feb 2, 2019

excellent

By Felice F

Aug 31, 2020

Loved it

By Neo

May 13, 2019

Awesome!

By goldkeytom

Jan 2, 2018

excelent

By ryan

Sep 25, 2017

Awesome!

By Yisheng Y

Dec 1, 2016

Awesome!

By Ahmad e D

Nov 8, 2020

🔥🔥🔥

By Jingyuan W

Nov 13, 2019

Great!

By dynasty919

Feb 20, 2018

nice!

By Sergey T

May 30, 2020

This course was useful to me, thanks. As usual, I liked lectures and programming assignments provided, except for week 4.

I didn't like week 4 materials. It was a huge disappointment to me when the theory about hashing appeared to be too 'theoretical' with absolutely no code at all. It's just some high concept maths and nothing more. It is a real disaster if you are a 'doer' because you'll probably get almost nothing from 4th-week lectures and will be ought to learn about hashing somewhere else. This comes to a question of whether you need to learn hash tables here (and pay your money) or not. So if you have never encountered hash tables in your life, you might want to learn it before you take this course. In that case, consider it as a requirement for your enrollment.

By Christopher E

Sep 21, 2019

The only reason this is not a 5-star review is because of the Week 4 programming assignment. The point of Week 4 is to demonstrate the usefulness of using a hash table when frequent look-ups are necessary. However, the constants inherent to the assignment problem make the suggested algorithm take anywhere from 30 min to hours. Meanwhile, there is another algorithm that can accomplish the task in mere seconds, but this is not apparent without scouring the message boards for help. I feel it would be better to either rethink the assignment to bring it more in line with the point of the teaching material, or deliver some instruction on the actually useful algorithm, which is fascinating in its own right.

Otherwise, this course is excellent as usual.

By Gonzalo G A E

Apr 21, 2020

In general, the specialization is great (it's challenging, full of interesting material, and the Prof. is interesting yet light to watch for hours in video). However, two of the programming exercises in this course seemed required solutions that were not related to the covered topics and for which the week's material provided sub-optimal (hence ultra slow) solutions. That was a bit frustrating. Nonetheless, it forced me to explore more about the algorithms, data structures and other solutions.

Still a great and challenging course!

By Sivaramakrishnan

May 11, 2020

Algorithms part of the course was phenomenal as always. But the Data Structure side of the course was (a bit of shuffling around the point?) little less engaging. I realize that DS is as important as Algorithms but is certainly not as fun to teach as Algorithms. Maybe the assignments and Quizzes could be restructured to make DS lessons more engaging. Just my 2 cents, otherwise Prof. Tim was cool as always!

By Ahmad B E

Jun 2, 2017

Great course for computer scientists. It is easy to understand but it takes too much time to be completed. The video lectures were long and full of too much explanation. And the week 4 programming assignment took very long running time to complete using the algorithm specified in the course but less time using other algorithms.

By Li-Pu C

May 27, 2020

I would say it would be a little bit too hard for people that do not major in computer science, and programmed less before.

Even though the professor gives the lecture well, but the input size of the text file is often too large. I think it'd be better to provide the assignment easier.

By Bianca D

Feb 23, 2019

Great course; especially on Data Structures and when certain ones are appropriate. I do wish the final exam solutions would be posted after completing the exam successfully in the same way the problem set solutions, hints and comments are provided.