Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
330 ratings

About the Course

This course covers basics of algorithm design and analysis, as well as algorithms for sorting arrays, data structures such as priority queues, hash functions, and applications such as Bloom filters. Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

ST

Aug 10, 2021

this is the best course on data structures that i have found! Pr. Sriram Sankaranarayanan thank you! if i was a multi-billionaire i would definitely donate a check to you for this wonderful course :)

GG

Jan 17, 2024

It was a good course, but i think that more examples for the practical tasks would have made it a lot better. Sometimes it took me a long time to understand the requirements.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 98 Reviews for Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing

By Joshua M O

Apr 24, 2023

I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn about the fundamental algorithms and data structures for searching, sorting, and indexing. This course covers a lot of material, from binary search and quicksort to hash tables and B-trees. The instructor explains each concept and algorithm clearly and in depth, with examples and illustrations. The assignments are challenging but not overwhelming, and they help to reinforce the learning outcomes and test the understanding of the topics.

I learned a lot in this course, and I feel more confident in applying these algorithms and data structures to solve real-world problems. One of my favorite concepts covered was the heap data structure, which is a type of binary tree that maintains a partial order among its elements. Heaps are useful for implementing priority queues, which are data structures that store elements with different priorities and allow efficient access to the element with the highest priority.

This course is well-designed and well-taught, and I enjoyed every minute of it. I would like to thank the instructor and the staff for creating such a high-quality course. If you are interested in learning about algorithms for searching, sorting, and indexing, you should definitely take this course.

By Dekel W

Nov 25, 2023

What an excellent course! I wasn't expecting the course to introduce so many topics this well. This is one of the only Coursera courses that feels like it's an actual university course. The instructor is engaging, knowledgeable, and works at a perfect pace for students. Also, the use of physical boards was perfect, and the electronic boards also worked well. Finally, the in-video quizzes, tests, and weekly programming assignments were great. They were clear and did a good job of developing intuitive and practical knowledge. After completing 30 Coursera courses, I'm excited to keep learning with Boulder as much as I can. Great job!

By Sina S S

Oct 27, 2022

I am a data analyst without a CS background, and this course helped me understand the fundementals of time/space complexity analysis. The instructor is really good in explaining the concepts. The only downside is the low sound quality in some episodes and the squeaking sound of the marker on the glass becomes really annoying at times. Also, beware that some rigorous mathematic proofs are presented in this course. Overall, a really solid course. Thanks to all the people involved in preparing this course.

By Jeffrey C

Apr 13, 2022

Great course overall. Helps teach you searching, sorting, and indexing algorithms and tests your knowledge with weekly assignments. The assignments could've been better implemented, but get the job done. The lectures were great and informative, although the algorithmic analysis always left me bewildered by the mathimatical proofs being used. Would reccomend for anyone interested in learning the topic.

By Buvaneswari R

Jun 11, 2023

Excellent Course! Clear explanations by the professor and clear instructions in the Jupyter notebook for the programming assignments. The best thing is that these assignments are not peer-graded. The estimated time per week turned out to more or less correct. Thanks to Coursera, U Colorado and Professor Sriram S for making these fundamental concepts available to interested learners.

By Md A

Dec 4, 2022

If there are very few good courses about data structure and algorithm to people very new to the field with minimum programming experiences, I must say, This is ONE OF THE BEST course to choose. Very thankful to the teacher who teaches in a way that you can imagine the whole process in your head. Love to all people did hard work to make this course available to people.

By Omar J

Jun 3, 2023

A great course! I'd highly recommend it for a good challenge. I took the for-credit version through CU, which includes a final assessment. The material is interesting, rigorous, and the professor presents the material with great intuitive lectures and enough mathematics to understand the theoretical concepts. The programming assignments are good practice. Kudos!

By Neelam B

Jun 23, 2021

I really enjoyed the pace and the lectures were very engaging. I also really enjoyed the assignments. I was nervous at first about not being able to communicate with my professor but with time, I was able to figure out everything by myself and using the internet whenever I was unsure of something. I am looking forward to the next course.

By Amir Z

Dec 31, 2022

This course was one of the best online courses I have taken so far. The content of the videos was rich and one would get a pretty deep understanding of the intended subjects by taking this course. The quizzes and the programming assignments were welly designed too. I am looking forward to taking other courses by this instructor.

By yosef c

Dec 11, 2021

It wasn't an easy course. The instructor is very engaging. The assignments are fair. It could be better if the lectures were with better presentations. I think that interactive presentations could add a lot to this topic. There are sites like "Visualgo" which could be great for this purpose.

But in general, it was a good course!

By Tuan C

Nov 3, 2022

This course is great for those who are looking to improve algorithmic skills. The professor did a very good job in explaining complex ideas in an easy to understand manner. The course uses CLRS as text book. Some concepts in the text book were made understandable through the professor's guidance.

By Milco N

May 9, 2023

I really liked this course, it provides lots of new insights and very good explanations into searching big data using techniques I did not know before. Exercises are nicely done using Jupyter. The only criticism I have is that I think that the code should have been more "Pythonic"/idiomatic.

By Kakashi

Apr 6, 2024

Great topics. This might just be one course which explores all the algorithms in detail. The lectures may get confusing for beginners since he is writing on board ( personally I prefer slides). I read the book in those cases. The python notebooks are awesome.

By Jayakhanna P

Mar 20, 2022

Overall was really good. The assignments and quiz focussed on thought process rather than exhaustive programming skills, which was what's really needed to test the skills. Giving the boiler plate code was really helpful to finish the assignments easily.

By Thammarak M

Aug 5, 2021

Prof. Sriram's lectures give a clear explanation of an otherwise difficult subject. The content is very up to date. The programming exercises are well designed to help deepening the understanding of the subject. Thank you much for the course.

By Nguyen D L

Jan 18, 2022

Thank you so much Prof. Sankaranarayanan

I love how your lecture explain the details of the inner working of these algorithms. Completing the class assignments give me a higher confidence as a programmer.

By Gregory G

Jan 18, 2024

It was a good course, but i think that more examples for the practical tasks would have made it a lot better. Sometimes it took me a long time to understand the requirements.

By S K

Oct 3, 2021

Well laid out course which is both concise and has elaborate assignments which help in learning the concepts well. Many thanks to the professor for his effort.

By Vadim

Aug 2, 2022

That is a very interesting and useful course. You will be able to gain helpful knowledges in understandable manner even without strong knowledges in math.

By William W

Oct 16, 2021

Instructor was great. Exercises in Jupyter were awesome.

Only negative is many videos referenced another course, but that isn't a big deal.

By Ujjwal s

Jul 15, 2022

VERY DESCRIPTIVE COURSE FOR UNDERSTANDING THE BASICS OF VERY IMPORTANT DATA STRUCTURES WHICH LAY THE FOUNDATION OF CODING

By Yao G

May 21, 2024

Dr. Sankaranarayanan's lectures are a delight as he manages to make a pretty dry subject both interesting and practical.

By Suein T

Nov 16, 2023

I like the informative content and assignments, the assignments are re not overly challenging but rather enlightening.

By Tong Q (

Jul 24, 2022

Very engaging and clear lessons and quizzes. There're only some typos but they don't hinder the learning process

By Andrew K

May 15, 2023

The lectures were informative and the assessments did a good job reviewing the material