Chevron Left
Back to Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
330 ratings

About the Course

This course covers basics of algorithm design and analysis, as well as algorithms for sorting arrays, data structures such as priority queues, hash functions, and applications such as Bloom filters. Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Top reviews

ST

Aug 10, 2021

this is the best course on data structures that i have found! Pr. Sriram Sankaranarayanan thank you! if i was a multi-billionaire i would definitely donate a check to you for this wonderful course :)

GG

Jan 17, 2024

It was a good course, but i think that more examples for the practical tasks would have made it a lot better. Sometimes it took me a long time to understand the requirements.

Filter by:

76 - 98 of 98 Reviews for Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing

By Fernando A

Jan 12, 2022

very good content

By Hidetake T

May 19, 2021

In-depth course.

By Marcos J

Nov 27, 2023

Quite thorough

By Russell L

Mar 6, 2024

Excellent!

By Sandipan D

Nov 27, 2022

Excellent!

By Martin

Jun 3, 2021

Well made!

By MANJIT K

Jul 21, 2022

Wonderful

By Devansh S R

Jun 29, 2022

AWESOME

By Avin A

Dec 6, 2023

good

By Biju J

Oct 6, 2022

Gud

By Madhu K

Jul 1, 2022

Good

By Sahana H C 4

Aug 29, 2021

good

By Romel A M V

Apr 1, 2024

The course has no formal prerequisites, but you should have foundational knowledge in set theory, college algebra, Python, bits, bytes, and number systems other than decimal. I am biased since I have a CS background, my stance is the course is accessible given sufficient time to internalize the material. I would place Dr. Sriram Sankaranarayanan on par with some of my favorite professors. The concepts are clear, the class is well-paced, and the programming assignments are bite-size. Unfortunately, you have to buy the textbook if you're not a CU Boulder student, and Dr. S uses markers that screech when writing on the clear whiteboard. I do wish to have seen more programming assignments.

By Salman B

Feb 13, 2022

The instuctor is amazing. I like it how he explains difficult concepts in a clear manner. He made great use of slides and online presentation tools. The course was challenging and sometimes I had to research things on my own. Some of the mathematical concepts were unfamiliar to me. But they are not necessary to pass the course

By Wanjia Z

Mar 21, 2022

The videos are super great! The professor explains everything clearly.

However, the assignments are not that polished. There are tons of typos.

By Sergio G C

Feb 21, 2024

The contents of the course is fine. The professor makes clear expositions of the material. It is a good first course in algorithms.

By quy d n

Aug 30, 2022

Week 4 about Hashtable is a little difficult to understand! I need more exercise and programming for week 4.

By Ming-Hao C

May 30, 2022

It is amazing from week 1 to week 3 . I really learned a a lot. But I am kind of lost when in week 4.

By Rahul M

May 14, 2022

Some programming assignments were easy. Apart from that this course is excellent

By Harish T

Jun 28, 2022

nice

By Dave K

Dec 31, 2023

First the bad: This was a challenging course to take without having access to discussion forums -- which are not available to students not enrolled at CU. The course and lecture slides contained a lot of typos, and some of the course content was copied from third-party sources complete with errors. The whole thing could use a good proofread. Now the good: all of that said, I think in having to overcome all of those challenges I really understood the subject in depth! The lectures are pretty good if a bit scattershot, but they definitely helped me to get through the concepts with a clear understanding of the good, better, and best way to do things.

By Naruto C

Apr 1, 2024

The lecture explanations were mostly good. The coding exercise instructions were confusing.

By Mark B

Apr 7, 2024

Problem sets fun, lectures not