Chevron Left
Back to Data Management for Clinical Research

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Management for Clinical Research by Vanderbilt University

4.7
stars
956 ratings
300 reviews

About the Course

This course presents critical concepts and practical methods to support planning, collection, storage, and dissemination of data in clinical research. Understanding and implementing solid data management principles is critical for any scientific domain. Regardless of your current (or anticipated) role in the research enterprise, a strong working knowledge and skill set in data management principles and practice will increase your productivity and improve your science. Our goal is to use these modules to help you learn and practice this skill set. This course assumes very little current knowledge of technology other than how to operate a web browser. We will focus on practical lessons, short quizzes, and hands-on exercises as we explore together best practices for data management....

Top reviews

EJ
Nov 12, 2019

Very excellent course with fun project assignments. I learned quite alot even though I already have a good amount of knowledge on data management! The professors are also engaging and professional.

AK
Jun 22, 2020

This course is very carefully designed to give a moderate idea how the eCRFs are made in RedCap database system.It gives you a fair background of clinical research processes and database designing.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 296 Reviews for Data Management for Clinical Research

By Katherine E

Dec 14, 2020

A really engaging course with very good speakers and plenty of hands-on assignments.

I found the last week was a little disjointed due to a number of additional speakers and lacked the flow of the first five weeks, but all the information was very relevant.

Many thanks for providing such a useful course.

Katie

By Beatriz

Apr 6, 2018

Good course to start to know how to develop a good survey with appropriate variables that allow you to gather pertinent information for your study. It also allows you to know and learn how to use Redcap, a tool to capture and manage data, that has been developed by the same University that imparts the course.

By Diana Z

Jan 19, 2020

It's a good course in general, my only problem with it is the issue I experienced with an assignment were I was supposed to use redcap but it was locked for me to use so I spent 2 weeks getting the help I needed, because at first no one would pay attention and then the support people didn't know what to do.

By Simisiolaoluwa O

Jun 5, 2020

The course was well organized and had interesting topics. My only comment is that the delivery of the materials (video/powerpoints) could be better. Please update videos or find more lively instructors who do not ramble in the recording of the powerpoints. It will make listening more engaging for students.

By Sarah B

Nov 24, 2020

This is a good course when it comes to a general overview of clinical research data management. I love the hands-on approach it takes when using REDCap. Some of the special topics videos seemed a bit irrelevant to data management though, in my opinion, though good information to know.

By Raisa P R M

Jun 21, 2017

It was a very interesting course, I recomend it. The only drawback that I can mention is that different investigations are regulated by different organizations depending on the country so there is additional information that you must look for in order to complete your knowledge.

By Kierstin L

Feb 28, 2017

Quite an informative course to take briefly. It was able to shed light on what the thought process for work a data manager must use. Would be great if more real world application on how inter-working the data manager is with the rest of the team conducting the research study.

By Diego A R M

Sep 8, 2020

It is a nice introductory course for the theme, I felt that sometimes they read a lot of powerpoint slides, still, those are well made.

The practical videos are awesome, that is the best part of this course, you could really see how much this is going to be applicable.

Thanks!

By Martin D

Mar 19, 2020

I think this course is a start point for people who want to work in clinical trial field. Being a CRA, the content of this course also provide a new perspective of how I could manage the trial in compliance with GCP and applicable regulatory requirement.

By Tabitha S

Mar 11, 2019

I think overall this was a good course but that some of the elements were a little simplistic. I'd have liked some modules that delve more into the technical elements of data management for clinical research, e.g. SAS programming and how it can be used.

By Elena M

May 6, 2020

I strongly suggest this course, it gives you a solid hands-on experience of REDCap. None the less, I found 2-3 video lessons really muddled and difficult to keep up with, especially the one about medical glossary.

By Arya P

Sep 30, 2019

Very well designed course to give a basic idea and background about Data management to users new to the field of Clinical Research. I would totally recommend this course to anyone who needs a head start.

By Christa O

Mar 19, 2019

Lots of great information. Wish we could go into more detail on certain topics, like conducting data audits that would be really practical in a real-world setting. Also wish discussions were more lively.

By Naveen r

Dec 11, 2020

Thanks a lot for the lecturers to provide a piece of knowledge about data management. I gained knowledge from your lectures. Especially Electronic Data Capture concept...

By Tracie K

Mar 26, 2020

This course was good. Specifically, I was interested in information on REDCap which we will be utilizing at our institution for a project. Thank you!

By Deepika N

Nov 3, 2016

Very informational with hands on experience. Highly recommend it to others who are looking for basic courses in clinical data management.

By Heidy

Nov 24, 2016

Other than minor technical glitches, excellent way to learn about clinical research, REDCap & general data management principles.

By Asif T

Sep 16, 2020

Good experience......and also teachers are good. And type of explanation is good and I think everything about course is good.

By Nancy S

May 28, 2020

Excellent course for introduction to data management, survey design and data collection for research using REDCap.

By Ciro A

Jun 10, 2019

very interestig, for work in data managment for clinical research,I lear to use RED CAP for analysist study

By Toluwalope M

Aug 3, 2017

Excellent overview of Clinical data management and an introduction to basic concepts in the field.

By Hema S M

May 12, 2020

I'm interested in clinical research luckily I found this course it's Very useful...

By Muzaffer A

Jun 15, 2020

i have learned to create the forms to collect the data regarding clinical research

By Georgy A

Oct 1, 2019

best course on DM for Clinical Research, however the videos are rather monotoneous

By Deepti B

Jun 6, 2020

So much to learn from all the professors. Thankful to coursera for having this.