Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
42,147 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

DL

Feb 23, 2021

This course was amazing and helped me understand so much more about networking, things I never thought I would know or understand. Very fulfilling and I can't wait to use this knowledge going forward.

BC

Jun 23, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

Filter by:

7476 - 7500 of 9,594 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By Emerson H

Sep 21, 2022

Very good material exposed by dynamic videos and text. You have a chance to test your skills after each step, and sometimes you really put your hands on.

Like most Coursera material they are great and approved with trustable companies in the background for sure is one of my preferred online source what I need.

By Denise P T

Jun 4, 2021

It was first journey for me in studying Computer Networking,

that t was something i was yarning to do. It was a grate course, i struggle a lot but going at it over and over gives prepares me a better understand of Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking . I would like to thank everyone that takes part in lecturing.

By Dean E

Dec 6, 2019

This is an extremely high-level overview of how computers network with one another. Some of the information is really great, and this course is a good setup for a deeper dive into networking. Be warned: Some of the questions in the graded assignments can seem pretty vague. Take your time and think it through.

By KP P (

Jun 13, 2020

Very interesting , i like the teacher , i did not give it 5 star , they should have added more animation (demonstration and illustration ) . as most us we were not familiar with some of the topics , it was hard to understand the context, so animation is the best option , we few of them , and i appreciate.

Thanks

By Rebecca G

Mar 3, 2019

It was allot to take in without having a book in my hands. Taking this class was a bit difficult because it's all video's, so I found I learned and retained better not so much by watching the video but by reading along with the script. Overall though it moved really fast for my speed but I enjoyed the content.

By R. S

Jan 12, 2022

The course was extremely useful. I learned more terminology and the ins-and-outs of networking that my brain could handle within the short amount of time.

The course is very rigorous and requires a lot of coffee to get through some of the video. Changing up the course personnel would probably help a little!!!

By Joel C

Aug 21, 2020

I enjoyed most of this course. I did feel like describing the entire TCP Connection process from beginning to end in week 2 was a bit of a big ask, but I understand why it's important. That said, putting that together in pieces or even in a dynamic modeling setting might be more efficient for people to learn.

By Stacey G

Aug 18, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. While I likely won't work in networking, it is interesting how networking works and amazing that some geniuses developed this technology. I will have to refer back to my notes often to refresh the concepts and memorize the acronyms, but I liked the challenge and the material.

By Jessica R P

Sep 4, 2021

Some areas in the courses did not help in taking the tests. Had to do so extensive reading to clarify what was being asked and even reach out to mentors in the industry for direction because some information that the tests were asking were not really explain right in the course. So other then that 4 stars.

By John R B

Jul 5, 2021

The information comes very quickly, for people like myself with little to no background, the concepts can seem a bit too abstract - I would definitely have loved a little more context behind how & why some features function the way they do. Overall great course, I just felt a little behind the whole time.

By Miguel B O

May 15, 2020

It was entertaining, but too much information crammed into videos. It was difficult to do an essay type test since it's all a bit confusing and the examples provided make your head explode. However i do feel I learned a lot. So this is the reason for my 4 stars. I did have fun though and feel accomplished.

By Clayton S

Feb 28, 2018

While the overall course was awesome and highly informative, there were a few spots where I believe the lack of emphasis put on a subject area in the videos did not necessarily reflect that you needed to know it for the quizzes or tests.

Otherwise, I am loving this program and am quite excited to be in it.

By Deidre S I

Mar 4, 2019

The course was very informative but challenging. I definitely could have used a lot more hands on training with this information. The modules should be changed to include more hands on exercises that I could face when working as a technician. Other than that there was lots of good information to learn.

By Bablu K

Oct 3, 2020

It was a super technical course and well-presented. Having these skills will be really beneficial to you as an IT support specialist. A few things weren't that clear but hey you can google anything that you didn't understand well. I had to find some other resources in terms of understanding "subnetting".

By Karol C

May 17, 2020

The best host so far.

I wish there were more visuals in the courses. With all due respect - I don't have to see the host.

IMO, the motivational fillers are unnecessary.

Some questions in the tests were too theoretical/inpractical.

But in general, I found the course to be a nice introduction into networking.

By Michael B

Feb 26, 2022

This was very intense and educational course and I learned a great deal, my only critizems is the IPv6 Compression section, I had to go outside the Google course to get a full understanding of IPv 6 compression, I beleive Google could have done a better job of presenting the information in this section.

By Quedo S

Jan 21, 2021

Awesome course, the content delivery was nice and understandable. So far through this course I have been able to understand the subjects in my problem areas. The only issue I have is that some of the wording of some questions is confusing and the Wifi placement quiz instructions could be better written.

By Joshua M

Feb 28, 2021

I had trouble getting the Week 6/Course 2 DB forums to function properly. By this I mean by responses would not submit. I updated my browser and was able to submit/work on other assignments so I am not sure what the problem was. Fortunately DB responses are optional but I like to complete all my tasks.

By Trenton D O

Dec 1, 2019

I enjoyed this course and felt like I learned a good amount concerning networking. My only complaint is the lack of testing and hands on material; it felt at times like I was just being shown a wall of information. It's difficult to grasp a lot of new concepts by just listening to someone explain them

By StevenTorres

Jun 19, 2021

Very good course. Very informative, sometimes an information overload, especially with the subnetting area. Feel like a 6 minute video is not long enough to accurately get the message along on what subnetting is. Learned a TON though and that is all that matters. Thank you for offering this course!

By Michael B

Sep 11, 2018

This was a good starter course! Coursera uses a variety of methods to teach this subject, providing several avenues by which I learned the course material. Video lectures, reference materials, written tests, and hands on laboratories were all useful tools helping me understand this subject better.

By Josiah W

Apr 19, 2020

pretty much excellent. the one thing that prevents me from giving 5 stars Is the lack Of preparation for the big quizzes. Sometimes The teachers aren't that informative leading to outside research of even more than the answer itself but even how to breakdown and pass the Quiz. Other than that Nice.

By Yunbin M

Dec 18, 2021

The course is well-structured and pretty comprehensive, however, when introducing certain new contents, some of the terms mentioned is not introduced at that point of time, which causes quite a bit of confusion for me personally. Hope that could get improved in the future version of the course

By Billy M

Nov 30, 2021

Very informative course that was challenging but fun at the same time! Wish there were more hands on models throughout, the material can be extremely dense and visuals or interactive modules would be a big help. I had to rely on taking screenshots of the visuals in the videos in my note taking.

By Albert R

Sep 23, 2022

This Course of the Bits and Bytes of Networking would benifit greatly from more check your knowledge questions throught all the lessons, as well as some practical application practice on things we will be graded on. For example routing network traffic excercises, compressing IPv6 address etc.