Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
42,133 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

DL

Feb 23, 2021

This course was amazing and helped me understand so much more about networking, things I never thought I would know or understand. Very fulfilling and I can't wait to use this knowledge going forward.

BC

Jun 23, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

Filter by:

7501 - 7525 of 9,589 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By Matthew P K

Mar 27, 2018

Excellent course! It would have been great to have seen some of the troubleshooting tools demonstrated in real-world practical examples. Also, the lesson on subnetting could have gone into a more detailed explanation. Overall, a very good and useful course. Looking forward to the next one.

By Amanda D

Feb 6, 2022

This seemed like a mass of definitions of technical concepts, which is great, but not a lot of practical application, beyond a couple of sentences like "This is useful for troubleshooting" with no indication of how its useful. The course would be improved with more practical application.

By Gabriel G

Jul 25, 2021

This course was really interesting but at the same time some parts were confusing. I really like the instructor's positive energy and enthusiasm, but some of the material was just too difficult for a complete beginner to comprehend. But still this course was absolutely amazing experience!

By Michelle M

Apr 11, 2021

I really enjoyed this course and love that is has transcripts because I read those rather than wat the videos however I wish we would go into detail about some of these topics I have to refer to professor Messer to completely understand and comprehend what I am writing down but I love it!

By Howard P

Nov 22, 2018

Although filled with many highly technical subjects, a high level emphasis was kept to ensure that the subject matter was understood enough without bogging down in the technical minutia. A very nice balance that gives the beginner a good leg up and enticing them to go deeper on their own.

By Gatdong K W

Sep 13, 2018

I am very glad to complete this course of which I will know more about using modern technology. Actually I am now in process to apply the skills that I have gain through The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking course, how to connect or how to set-up connection, how the OSI Model works.

By Max M

Feb 22, 2021

The course was very informative, but some more visual demonstrations would be helpful to follow up for complex topics. The instructor did an excellent job with been clear and concise. Also, some of the text are inaccurate with numerous spelling errors or simply did not follow the audio.

By Jesse F

Mar 18, 2018

It seems like a short easy course but the depth of information and the additional reading really fill out the class into a professional and credible source of learning. There's so much to cover in such a short time you can easily review it 2-3 times and still learn something each time.

By Lesley E

Apr 1, 2022

I thought the course was well done but could use a little more structure. In some cases, terms were introduced without explanation and converting decimal or binary to hexadecimal was not demonstrated. Considering the amount of information to learn, I applaud the course design overall!

By Justin S

Jan 2, 2020

Good course, but the quizzes and tests don't always seem like a good test of knowledge. Lots of questions about random obscure numbers which really don't seem all that relevant which makes the course harder than it needs to be. Wish there was way more details on troubleshooting also.

By Igor E

Mar 1, 2018

Good explanations. Some of the real world examples, for example how the networking model works step-by-step were amazingly helpful. Other times there could be more examples, instead of just plain definitions. But still I would name this the best networking basics course I've taken :)

By Deleted A

Sep 20, 2018

This was the most challenging couse so far in the series. A lot of technical information. I think a few more visual aids or handouts or diagrams would have helped to make the material easier to understand.The instructors did a great job at making the complex info engaging to learn.

By Scott A

Jul 23, 2018

Definitely a crash course, the course isn't too bad. It would be nice, if they included a little more work you could do on your own, maybe a program that lets you build networks to give you a more understanding and a little experience with the course layout.

Over all, great course.

By Jolene M K

Nov 29, 2022

This is a very nicely paced course. Although it needs to be updated. Some of the references inside the videos are dated. So much has changed within the IT field in just the last 4 years. Also, I would suggest more hands-on practice modules might be a help to solidify the concepts.

By Sergio B

Feb 4, 2021

As someone who has a small background in Computer Networking and has not done it in several years, this was pretty straight forward and easy to recall what I knew. There was a lot of theory but i think practical quizzes are the best when it comes to understanding concepts faster.

By Jeff F

Nov 13, 2021

This is really great, it helps me to understand some of the basics concepts of the core computer networking. However I'd suggest to add more lab in building samples of networks with for example cisco packet tracer in order to apply for instance IPv4 and IPv6 addressing schemes

By Misti I

Jul 18, 2021

This course covers A LOT of networking (especially for a beginner) The exam at the end of week 3 proved most difficult, and I used the discussion forums and outside resources to better explain the 5 layer model. Maybe the five layer model should be a course all on it's own.

By David R E

Aug 5, 2021

learned a lot but I'll have to go back and look up some ot the sections because when I got to the compression test I'd pass it then it gave me a zero so I had to contact coursera and they had to wait on google to correct thier error so It's been 2 months that I lost waiting

By Md. T K

Sep 10, 2020

This is awesome course. You can learn many networking things like how computer device communicate each other, IPv4, IPv6, DNS, DHCP, Troubleshooting, Cloud Compute, Interview etc. It's really helpful for who want to be a Network Engineer.

Thank You google team, coursera team.

By Cody D

May 28, 2019

Did not enjoy the guy teaching it at all, otherwise would of been 5 stars. He was annoying and used words that I had to look up sometimes. One example was using the word "antiquated". Why make the learning harder? I hope people do not get as frustrated as I did with the guy.

By Angela L

Apr 1, 2018

Overall, a great course. I know that they will continue to make improvements. There are a few sections in the material that are not as clear as they need to be (for example, in the IPv6 compression exercises). However I still enjoyed the course and felt that I learned a lot.

By Victor R M L

Jun 1, 2020

Buen curso recomendable, para repaso de los que ya tienen carrera relacionada con sistemas y computación y para el publico en general y que con esto puedan entender un poco la lógica que hay detrás de la tecnología que usamos día a día y puedan dejar de pensar que es magia

By Kevin M K M

Mar 16, 2018

Covers all the basics of networking, but you may want to practice more on subnetting and router connection to really get a grasps of networking. I think this module should have included networking simulation like GNS3 to complement the theory, that's why I give it 4 star.

By Kamal K M

Jan 22, 2022

It was great learning as well as valuable experience to me. The course curriculum is very well designed and it also has good engaging quizzes to test our concepts at the end of each lessons. All concepts are well explained with practical approach and real life examples.

By Chris l

May 1, 2022

honestly struggled with this course, i am more of a visual and hands on learner, alot of this course was alot of info just being droped on you, i had to use alot of outside videos and breking down the info into more chewable bits. still a good course and would recomend