Chevron Left
Back to The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking by Google

4.7
stars
42,147 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

Top reviews

TS

Aug 5, 2019

This was a very fun course! I really enjoyed the style and pace of the information given. A lot of technical information was given while the course made it easy to take in and comprehend the material!

BC

Jun 23, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

Filter by:

7451 - 7475 of 9,591 Reviews for The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

By Amber W

Apr 15, 2021

This course was not bad in the general knowledge and information, although there was a lot of technical jargon that would not be necessary to everyday fixing of a computer on the network. Knowing just how much each packet of information is being transported is a cool but in reality when working hands on it's not going to help you in the field.

By Reed K

May 3, 2022

Was great getting the background of computer networking. However I think it went too indepth for what the course is intended for. I'm already in IT support and I've not ever had the need to learn how to compress IPV6 addresses, nor have I needed to remember how many bits are in an IPV6 address. I've yet to see any business use IPV6 as of now.

By Semenov V

Mar 9, 2021

It was a big course, very interesting. But, I think it's too looooong, I'm really tired to complete this course. Also I want to get more practise, because these knowledge are nothing without practise. If you really want to become a system administrator, you need also a job, because this course can't teachs you everything. Good luck, everyone!

By Adedola A

Nov 9, 2022

Course 2 was a bit more technical but the instructor delivered his lines well. my only grouse is that some of the quizzes were transcribed into Russian making the instructions difficult to understand. Had to use Google translate to change it to English...would be helpful if those pages were edited and changed to English for English speakers

By K

Mar 8, 2019

Absolutely great course! It's not as hard as you would think, but as long as you don't give up it will start to make sense the more you learn. It is very confusing, but I've been studying these similiar concepts for about a year now and even took a Cisco course from Syracuse University for Veterans, and luckily there is a bit of an overlap.

By Megha G

Aug 9, 2020

awesome!!!...Taking this course was a right decision for me as I didn't know much about networking. But the course consists that one needs to know about networking.All the areas covered are super important for me in the coimng future.

Also I will not remain clueless when there is any small discussion amongst the friends about networking!!

By Edward S

Dec 8, 2020

The things keeping this from being a 5 are that sometimes there would be a lot of information without applicable quiz questions, while other times the quizzes would seem to cover things not necessarily in the course. This module also did not have any hands on exercises like logging on to virtual machines, although that may come later.

By Ayesha S

Sep 12, 2020

Awesome course that's jam-packed with information! I definitely learned loads and will for sure have to review all that was learned! I do wish that the course had a bit more interactivity to really anchor the information learned perhaps in the form of more Qlabs. Overall a great course with a fabulous teacher who made learning fun!

By Gonzalo d l

Jul 1, 2022

Hoy puntuo con 4 estrellas al curso, porque considero que faltan mas tareas "practicas" o "lab", a demas de que en una oportunidad debí realizar 6 veces una prueba que daba 100% de respuestas correctas pero al enviar la tarea daba 0%, tuve que acudir al soporte tecnico para que intervenga, lo cual retrasó la finalizacion del curso.

By Yousuf M

Aug 6, 2020

The overall content is very good. I have two suggestions.

first, please include some practical examples for the important topics.

second, the sebneting or subnet mask part was not well explained. if you read the discussion everyone has problem with the way it is explained and well-explained practical examples should be given.

best,

By RJMW

Nov 12, 2020

This particular course was extremely challenging for me from the the starting line to the finish line. However, I am grateful for every bit and byte (pun intended) of information given to me in this course. I am still looking forward to continuing my journey of completing the Google IT Support Professional Certificate Program.

By Donna S

Jul 31, 2020

This course is full of computer knowledge! There are some videos where I wish things were explained better but I find critical thinking is important in these instances. There are flaws in the testing that make it stressful to take tests. But again patience is a virtue with this course. Take notes and keep moving forward.

By Marcus J B

Feb 19, 2021

This course was somewhat challenging, I understand that there is a lot of information dealing with the bits and bytes of computer networking. Some things I think would help improve this learning course is maybe more plugins showing connections. All in all this course was great though, looking forward to the next one! Thanks

By Rob H

May 19, 2022

Some of the materials, I feel, should have more time dedicated to it. Conversely, there are other portions of the course with plenty of information that could have been bypassed. Perhaps this is just my opinion.

I enjoyed this course very much. I was challeneged beyond expectation

Thank you for the knowledge and experience.

By Paul B I

Jun 6, 2021

this was very difficult for someone who has never dealt with networking outside of setting up a home network. i have learned a lot from this but suggest maybe breaking this up into something a little easier to follow. so much information in such a short amount of time was hard to remember and put to use during the quizzes

By Carlos E

May 29, 2020

It is a very interesting course, it gave me a little light on the internet and computer networks. The truth is a difficult and broad topic and I think I need a little more to reinforce it, that's why I give it 4 stars, because it is a lot of technical information for people who are not supposed to have previous experience.

By Brittany B

Apr 6, 2022

This course is very dense. Watching and rewatching the videos doesn't much help when you aren't grasping something. More plug in activities, term vocab sheets, and flashcards for all of the terms/abbreviations would be so helpful. The data analyst course has these and I think it would add so much to this course as well.

By Rezwanul H T

Apr 15, 2020

Wow !! This was too much stuff. I think this course could be shrink to only few basic detail which is needed as there are lots of stuffs that we might not need to know so much in detail. Or the course can be split into two or more or even a different program. This is too much information. But the overall course was fun

By Esteban C

Aug 6, 2020

It was a very complex set of modules relating to networking and the structures of IP and how the interaction between computers is very broad. Some of the material could be better presented and more thought out. but there's no denying that what is here to digest will come really handy in the career field of IT support.

By Matt G

Jul 20, 2022

The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking course is challenging to say the least. If you didn't know how the Internet works before doing this course, then you will definitely get your fair share of culture shock. Computer networks are vastly complicated. This course will definitely prepare your mind for a wild ride.

By Abdulmajid A

Jun 23, 2020

The course was really great and had a lot of important info , but the info should use a more of a practical demonstration, the course is mostly theoretical, and a huge ammount of information being thrown out into you in each video, but the quizes kinda took the right approach putting "some" info into practical use.

By Ilya L

Mar 26, 2018

Everything is great, but the graded quiz system needs to be changed at moment, when its compares answers to correct one. its very SENSITIVE to any mistakes with any letter, like aDDreSS will be correct, and aDreSS is not. Its sensitive even with a DOT at the end like in DNS IP 8.8.4.4. is not correct. And so on....

By Emerson H

Sep 21, 2022

Very good material exposed by dynamic videos and text. You have a chance to test your skills after each step, and sometimes you really put your hands on.

Like most Coursera material they are great and approved with trustable companies in the background for sure is one of my preferred online source what I need.

By Denise P T

Jun 4, 2021

It was first journey for me in studying Computer Networking,

that t was something i was yarning to do. It was a grate course, i struggle a lot but going at it over and over gives prepares me a better understand of Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking . I would like to thank everyone that takes part in lecturing.

By Dean E

Dec 6, 2019

This is an extremely high-level overview of how computers network with one another. Some of the information is really great, and this course is a good setup for a deeper dive into networking. Be warned: Some of the questions in the graded assignments can seem pretty vague. Take your time and think it through.