Chevron Left
Back to COVID-19 Training for Healthcare Workers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for COVID-19 Training for Healthcare Workers by Stanford University

4.9
stars
4,766 ratings
981 reviews

About the Course

COVID-19 is rapidly spreading across the globe and all providers must be prepared to recognize, stabilize and treat patients with novel coronavirus infection. Following completion of this short course physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals will have a unified, evidenced-based approach to saving the lives of patients with COVID-19, including those who are critically ill. Learning modules are broken into short videos presented in a richly illustrated and compelling manner. The course is self paced and providers can schedule their learning to fit with their schedules. Topics include symptoms and signs in patients with COVID-19, early stabilization of patients, preventing the need for intubation, and ventilator management. The best evidence and guidelines are summarized while accompanying handouts provide written learning points and links to online resources. Simple infographics are available for providers to utilize within their care facilities to educate and promote optimal care across their entire institution. To learn more about our other programs and find additional resources, please visit Stanford Emergency Medicine International (https://emed.stanford.edu/specialized-programs/international.html), The Stanford Center for Health Education (https://healtheducation.stanford.edu/), and our Digital Medic Initiative (https://digitalmedic.stanford.edu/our-work/covid-19-resources/). Accreditation The Stanford University School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians. Credit Designation The Stanford University School of Medicine designates this enduring material for a maximum of 5 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity. If you would like to earn CME credit from Stanford University School of Medicine for participating in this course, please review the information here prior to beginning the activity....

Top reviews

EE
May 31, 2021

Wonderful thank you. Full of great tips, well illustrated and explained systematic approach to patients with varying degrees of illness. This has increased my confidence to handle COVID-19 patients.

FK
Oct 21, 2020

The course was extremely helpful and informative. It was perfectly balanced between use of pharmacological as well as non-pharmacological interventions used for the management of COVID-19 patients.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,007 Reviews for COVID-19 Training for Healthcare Workers

By Dr. S K

Dec 6, 2020

Amazing! I loved this course! The way material is delivered is very comprehendible and easy to understand. The course isn't just interesting but contains very valuable and important information.

By Maria N M

Jan 20, 2021

A friend recommended Stanford Medicine’s COVID-19 Training for Healthcare Workers in Coursera which covered both theoretical and practical skills about COVID-19. It was a really well-designed course. Topics covered were diverse but essential and a good mix of easy and difficult quizzes. I liked how the quizzes were short and that there were pre- and post-tests and that I was allowed to retake the test until I am satisfied. I believe that helped me appreciate and reiterate the learning points.

By James P L

Jul 27, 2020

It is a great course material which is rich with latest knowledge. It empowers and extremely equips one at their own level of understanding.

I am so proud to have had undertaken this course and the tasks were so challenging

By JOSE J A P

Sep 13, 2020

Te course is timely and relevant. It is a very good guide not only for healthcare workers but to all front liners. Congratulations to all the contributors of this amazing online course.

By Daniel T

Jul 22, 2020

Great overview of COVID-19 management, from detecting and managing mild illness, to intubation and ventilator management.

By Sundaresan P

Aug 2, 2020

Very good course covering all the aspects of Covid 19, Ventilator settings, Treatment and other tests related to risks.

By Dr. S P

Aug 5, 2020

It is the most well drafted course on the planet for info on Covid 19. i am glad I found you. Thankyou COURSERA.

By Vaishnavi K

Jul 25, 2020

This is an amazing course providing all information of how to be safe and as well as treat people with Covid-19.

By Zain U A A

Apr 17, 2021

Excellent course, very relevant and useful information. Thank you to the team for providing this course!

By MOLTUS K M

Aug 3, 2020

Very informative and eye opening, courses, weapon which can be used to save lives. Thank you very much.

By Rohan P

Jun 9, 2021

Amazing beginner to intermediate level training for Covid 19 health care workers. A great start.

By Larry C R M

Aug 1, 2020

Excellent program that helped to refresh my memory. Would highly recommend to MDs and RNs.

By A Y G

Jul 25, 2020

Thanks for that excellent course, this Covid 19 days.

By Aarti

Jul 18, 2020

Excellent course. Well organized learning experience!

By Janine A B . B

Jul 28, 2020

Got it for free. Learned a lot from this course.

By Raúl E S P

Aug 11, 2020

Great and a must for all healthcare workers

By Dr. M K

Jul 30, 2020

Latest updated course on COVID-19 till now

By Dr. P S

Aug 7, 2020

Just about right kind of course..... They could have made the certificate bit more attractive & useful looking!!

By Nafi C

Oct 11, 2020

Took this course because I just recently turned 18 and was cleared to ride on my town's first aid squad again amid the current COVID-19 pandemic. I am only an EMT-B and while I thought that the beginning, which covered recognizing and protecting yourself/others from COVID-19 was helpful, there were many things such as medications/drugs to administer, how to intubate a patient, or how to set up/monitor a ventilator that simply did not apply to me - some of the topics such as how to intubate do not even apply to nurses! This course could be fully utilized by an actual doctor, but I feel like the only doctors doing this course are doing it as required further medical education through work. For anyone who is not a doctor and is a lower rank such as a RN, PCT, EMT, etc. this course is short and somewhat useful - I managed to knock it out pretty quickly since I already knew the majority of the content in the beginning, but when it got into pharmacology or intubation, I tried my best to learn a thing or two even though it didn't apply to me.

By Renee O

Jul 27, 2020

I was disappointed in this course, Harvard Ventilation as well as Osmosis COVID-19: What you Need to Know were 10 times better than this course. The only thing I learned were NSAIDS, polypill, QTc prolongation, the role of hydroxychloroquine and it gave an idea of why it's use is so misinterpreted, angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor, ACE inhibitor, or an angiotensin receptor blocker, ARB, benzodiazipines and dexmedetomidine use. That's all I learned new, basically names of treatments that are used or not used and that changes with time. I expected more, it is however good if you want basic, half-fast introduction and for general public knowledge but I wouldn't recommend it for healthcare settings.

By liza k

Apr 10, 2021

Ambox current red.svg This article describes COVID-19 current events.

Information can change rapidly as events unfold.Keep in mind that primary information may contain gaps. You are currently viewing version that was last modified: 24 November 2020, 13:27 (UTC) (Refresh page)

New Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)

SARS-CoV-2 (CDC-23312) .png

New Coronavirus (2019-nCoV)

The structure of the new coronavirus.jpg

The structure of the new coronavirus

Scientific classification

Kingdom: Viruses

Family: Coronaviruses

Latin name

SARS-CoV-2

Commons-logo.svg

pictures

Wikisource

NCBI MN908947

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) - An infectious disease caused by acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2). [1] Since the end of 2019, the virus has spread globally and caused the Coronavirus pandemic 2019-2020. [2] [3] General symptoms include fever, cough, and shortness of breath. Relatively less common symptoms are muscle pain, sputum, and sore throat. [4] Most cases present with mild symptoms, but in some cases pneumonia and polyorgan failure develop. [2] [5] Mortality rates among those infected range from 1 to 5 percent, but vary with age and other comorbidities. [6] [7]

Infection is transmitted from person to person through respiratory droplets, which occur mainly during coughing and sneezing. [8] [9] Symptoms appear 2-14 days after infection, with an average of 5 days. [10] [11] The standard method of diagnosis is reverse transcription reaction (rRT-PCR) of a polymerase chain sample of the throat or sputum sample. It is also possible to use blood serum immunoassay. [12] The infection can be diagnosed by a combination of symptoms, risk factors, and the characteristics of pneumonia on computed tomography. [13] [14]

Recommended measures to prevent the disease are frequent hand washing, keeping distance from other people, and not touching your face with your hands. [15] The use of primers is recommended only for those who have suspicious signs characteristic of the virus; The use of the mask is useless for a healthy person. [16] [17] At this time, there is no COVID-19 vaccine or specific antiviral drug. Disease management includes symptomatic treatment, care, and experimental measures. [18]

On January 30, 2020, the World Health Organization declared the 2019-2020 Coronavirus epidemic an international threat to public health, [19] [20] and March 11 a pandemic. [3] Local delays have been reported in all regions of the disease. [21]

By Catherine E K

Feb 21, 2021

This is a great course to learn it helps you understand each and everything that you need to know about helping someone that needs help with oxygen and how to go about assisting them and I also teaches you about each and everything that you need to know about the covert the symptoms even though the patient doesn’t have all the symptoms he might have some of them it might look like he has or she has just a virus or the flu but it could be a possibility that they have the culvert 19 they go into great detail explaining all the equipment that you are to use at the from the actual beginning of the process of checking and observing the patient as they do with helping with the oxygen ventilation and so on and helping them to get out of that situation of recovering from the culvert 19 and I really appreciate the doctors and staff members that had assisted the other doctors on the videos andThe videos were very educational they weren’t something that she would just get bored of it was very complex and understood you were able to understand each and everything that the instructor was teaching you thank you and have a great evening God bless stay safe

By Septian J

Aug 15, 2020

This has been exceptional journey! I am a pharmacist from Indonesia, where our COVID19 case is spiking. This course is helping me and many of my friends in healthcare field to learn more about Emergency medicine, ventilation management, how to treat severe dyspneic patient. Our intubation medicine uses propofol and midazolam, and I learned ketamine, dexmedetomidine and ketamine could be used as alternative.

As community pharmacist, these skills will help me prevent COVID19-suspected patient , if they come to my pharmacy, and for the very least, I can direct the patient to a better healthcare settings while using proper PPE and (hopefully not happen) if something gets worse, I could prepare for the worst case scenario.

Thank you.

Terima kasih!

By Ashley D D G

Sep 8, 2020

I started this course this day and also finished it this day. I am not a health worker, for I am still a student. I am quite interested in medicine and biology but I don't plan to pursue this field. But this course has helped me and gave me knowledge about the novel coronavirus. Symptoms, along with the proper handling and ways to keep me safe.

This course can be very helpful to those people who are front-liners because it will provide certain knowledge on how to manage and deal with COVID patients and other people who appear to be sick and as well to those who aren't, but there is still a chance of them carrying a virus (asymptomatic).

The lecture videos were great and very informative. I recommend this course!

By Saaniya M

Nov 2, 2021

I enjoyed going through the modules of this course. The information was broken up in an effective manner, so as to introduce someone with little, or maybe even no healthcare related experience to this topic. As the course progressed I realized that my own internal confidence regarding my patient management skills, diagnostic abilities, and procedural thinking was improving, backed by a thorough understanding of the basics of COVID-19 Training. With the information that I have received from this course, I will now be able to assist the healthcare system in future pandemic situations. Thank you for your time and consideration.