Chevron Left
Back to Visual Analytics with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Analytics with Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.6
988 ratings
169 reviews

About the Course

In this third course of the specialization, we’ll drill deeper into the tools Tableau offers in the areas of charting, dates, table calculations and mapping. We’ll explore the best choices for charts, based on the type of data you are using. We’ll look at specific types of charts including scatter plots, Gantt charts, histograms, bullet charts and several others, and we’ll address charting guidelines. We’ll define discrete and continuous dates, and examine when to use each one to explain your data. You’ll learn how to create custom and quick table calculations and how to create parameters. We’ll also introduce mapping and explore how Tableau can use different types of geographic data, how to connect to multiple data sources and how to create custom maps....

Top reviews

AG

Aug 20, 2017

Through this course learner can efficiently learn about dual layer maps, dual axis, creating calculated fields and many more. Thanks for such a great platform to learn and for great instructors.

FB

Apr 12, 2018

Good intro to Tableau. The instructor is crystal clear. The case study is pretty good, it's very satisfactory to understand at the end what is wrong with this company.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 165 Reviews for Visual Analytics with Tableau

By Vaughn P

Feb 24, 2017

Great information presented clearly.

By Patihe S

Dec 29, 2016

Cool tools with knowledgeable instructor, thumbs up.

By Jeremy C

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent introduction to visualizations; looking forward to more advanced visualization techniques

By Naum S

Dec 11, 2017

I wish more time was spent on Calculated Field Functions, along with practice problems for the available functions in Tableau

By Jonathan G

Dec 25, 2017

Perfect and intuitive course

By Mukund R

Jul 29, 2017

great to learn tableau

By Craig S

Oct 18, 2017

Good overview of plotting different charts in Tableua. Good info on Dual Layer Mapping!

By LUIS G

Jan 03, 2018

I was not able to put together the formula and that it cause me a problem submitting the week assignment.

Very frustrating and do not see any help at all.

By Julio G C

Jun 26, 2018

Very good training, they miss LOD (level of detail).

By Chinmaya M

Oct 17, 2017

In the peer graded assignment, the pictures of visualisation shown is not good enough, we need to zoom it to 200%. Rest all are excellent in this course. Must do

By Pratibha K

Feb 20, 2018

This course is for beginners.

By Lauraleen O

Sep 08, 2017

Overall a nice introduction to using the features in Tableau

By Rajesh.N

Apr 11, 2018

Good content for the beginn

By Naazish M

Jan 05, 2017

Assignments should have been mentioned in details.

By Kukka V P

Nov 10, 2018

Course is good but the data sets should be improved for assignments, and some little clarification in assignments will be good

By Shreekant G

Jul 02, 2019

Good course with best practice assignment

By Victor S

Jul 11, 2019

It might be more appealing to have not one, but two or three examples in every video of Week 3.

By Priscila C d F

Sep 16, 2019

Great pratical topic but not so advanced as expected.

By Marina S

Oct 16, 2019

really interesting, right combination teorical/practice issues!

By Jose A S

Apr 06, 2019

It could be developed further.

The course was too short

By Iván C C P

May 05, 2018

I atended as a free user and I expected the course to be more technical. A possitive point is all the materials are very weel explained but there is a chance to improvement in the "tone" used by the teacher wich sometimes becomes a Little boring.

By sharat c s p c

Jun 22, 2017

Course is very basic not many new things to learn. But thanks for the effort

By Mark D

Apr 21, 2017

I enjoyed the hands-on aspect of this course. I learned more about using Tableau from it that the prior courses in the specialization. I give this 3 of 5 stars for 3 reasons:

1) My classmates and I think that the instructor left one video out the course which is necessary to answer one of the quiz questions.

2) The instructions for at least 2 of the peer-graded assignments are incomplete. The grading criteria requires features that aren't mentioned in the instructions. As a result you need to alter and resubmit the assignments in order to meet all the grading criteria.

3) The instructor repeats himself in the course videos. He's present a summary of the video while displaying a Tableau screenshot and then repeat the same summary while displaying a Presentation slide. I feel that more time should have been spent reviewing the Tableau features and eliminate the repetition of the material.

By Dennis M

Jul 12, 2017

Weekly lectures were extremely basic and often only a minute or so of actual content with another minute of preview of wrap up. If there is only minimal content, there is no need to constantly summarize lessons. Other than the poor course construction, the content was generally helpful in exploring basic tableau visualizations.

By Sunil C

Jan 30, 2018

Introductory course for tableau..