Chevron Left
Back to Visual Analytics with Tableau

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Analytics with Tableau by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
1,573 ratings
299 reviews

About the Course

In this third course of the specialization, we’ll drill deeper into the tools Tableau offers in the areas of charting, dates, table calculations and mapping. We’ll explore the best choices for charts, based on the type of data you are using. We’ll look at specific types of charts including scatter plots, Gantt charts, histograms, bullet charts and several others, and we’ll address charting guidelines. We’ll define discrete and continuous dates, and examine when to use each one to explain your data. You’ll learn how to create custom and quick table calculations and how to create parameters. We’ll also introduce mapping and explore how Tableau can use different types of geographic data, how to connect to multiple data sources and how to create custom maps....

Top reviews

AG
Aug 19, 2017

Through this course learner can efficiently learn about dual layer maps, dual axis, creating calculated fields and many more. Thanks for such a great platform to learn and for great instructors.

DL
Aug 8, 2021

This course, which I completed as part of UC Davis' Data Viz Specialization, was clearly presented and involved a lot of hands on assignments that helped to increase confidence and skills.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 300 Reviews for Visual Analytics with Tableau

By Gunjari B

Jun 18, 2018

A great intro to all charts and types with insights on which charts to use when, lectures are a bit pacy but quite informative! It would help to align the lectures of each week to the assignments and a to maintain standard data source without discrepancies.

By sumit c

Jun 26, 2019

This particular course of the specialization was great. The basic aspect of visualization was demonstrated very well & the work on assignments was a great aid to help understand the key concepts of various Charts, Color, Shape, Size, Type of Data, etc

By Bijoy M

Jun 15, 2020

This is a highly recommended course to develop skills in Tableau analytics. All the contents are well-managed, elaborately described and easy to understood. Practice assignments will help to easily grasp the techniques. Thanks to the instructor.

By Kevin A H T

Apr 25, 2020

Best of the 3 courses so far, shouldn't be third in the specialization. If you don't have time to complete the specialization or if you want just an overview of both simple and cool things to do in tableau this is the course you want to take.

By Sohum S

Mar 4, 2021

This format was very straight forward and digestible. The way the information for assignments was provided was also very helpful. I wish all of the other professors/courses in this certification used Prof. Brar's format.

By Abigail L

Nov 7, 2020

The course was easy to understand. I was afraid that I might not be able to get the grasp of it since I started with the 3 Week part but then I was able to easily absorb it. Thank you! I will take the full course now. :)

By M G

Sep 11, 2020

This is a very effective course. Videos are short but understandable full of contents, also assignments are super clear and useful. This is the third one but I feel that I startad mastering Tableou in this course.

By Anna M

May 4, 2020

I really enjoyed all the Specializations, professors are really motivated and the courses are all well structured! I recommend it to anyone wants to learn about visualizations, also a Tableau is a great tool!

By Deborah L

Aug 9, 2021

This course, which I completed as part of UC Davis' Data Viz Specialization, was clearly presented and involved a lot of hands on assignments that helped to increase confidence and skills.

By Suhaimi C

Feb 4, 2021

Great course and content. Got enough practice on peer assignments. Really like charting guidelines. Highly recommend this course to get your data visualization to the next level.

By Dea F A

Mar 17, 2021

The teacher taught a lot about Tableau and it give me more understanding about what to use. Would like to get back to the course video again anytime needed as it is very helpful

By Rizwanur R

Apr 12, 2021

Practical and useful. The structured introduction to Tableau is great and seems like it would be useful as the second course in the specialization rather than the third course.

By Heleny M D B

May 13, 2021

My favorite course from this learning path. I learned how to use Tableau's functionalities and the activities were exciting to do. There is more focus in practice than theory.

By Florian B

Apr 11, 2018

Good intro to Tableau. The instructor is crystal clear. The case study is pretty good, it's very satisfactory to understand at the end what is wrong with this company.

By Ashutosh K S

May 18, 2019

It was effective and simple to learn few concepts which can be fruitful for my future projects. However calculated fields should have been discussed more in detail.

By deepak p

May 24, 2020

OH I LOVE THESE COURSES. SUCH VALUABLE KNOWLEDGE, I AM INTRIGUED.

I AM A BIT JEAOLUS ON TO WHY I DID NOT FUMBLE UPON THIS WEBSITE BEFORE AS AN INVESTMENT BANKING MD.

By Olivia M

Nov 4, 2017

The course is very clear and easy to learn. Teacher is great! The tasks are well designed. By completing the tasks one by one, our Tableau skills grow gradually.

By Jamiil T A

Apr 24, 2019

Very hands on course. I can now answer some business problem through visual analytics. I highly recommend the course . And once again thanks to all instructors.

By Rachel P

Oct 26, 2020

This has been the most useful course in the Data Visualization with Tableau series. This course teaches practical applications in Tableau. Very well done.

By Ong X H

Jul 9, 2021

The course is well organized with step to step guide for various charts in Tableau. It is the best course I have taken thus far. Well recommended to all.

By Sy Y W

Jan 3, 2018

So Far, This is a Very Good course design. However, if it is possible, more practice assignment will be much better for learning and improving the skill.

By András L S

Jan 22, 2021

Great course with good insturctors! Significantly more useful then the first two in the specialization, would be fine as a standalone course too

By Nitin K

Nov 26, 2018

this course is really nice for beginner because you get hands on with the tableau pretty easily as instructor illustrated in a very good manner.

By Luis G G I

Nov 11, 2020

Nice course, the length is less than the others but it is compensated with a in hands projects which teach you how to create graphs in tableau.

By Jacquewyn C

Apr 7, 2021

Important course for me. Understanding analytics and descriptive statistics in addition to the data provided is the extra thread to get there.