Chevron Left
Back to Disaster Preparedness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Disaster Preparedness by University of Pittsburgh

4.7
stars
839 ratings
278 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Top reviews

CH

Jan 31, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

SM

Jul 06, 2020

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 276 Reviews for Disaster Preparedness

By Nadeemahmadkhan

Oct 15, 2016

Very helpful to know different perspective of disaster

By Amanda F

Aug 23, 2015

Very well presented course. Enjoyable and informative.

By Timothy n

Mar 18, 2020

Even though outdated, it still has great information

By Madhusudanan.S

Jun 06, 2016

Excellent Course. Everyone should take this course.

By sathyaguru

May 25, 2020

Basicallly its good but reduce the lengthy vedios

By Chris J

Nov 26, 2017

Very practical, tons of information and advice.

By fernando g u

Apr 18, 2020

El curso es bueno pero no lo voy a seguir.

By Yue Y

Jan 17, 2017

a quite practical course for DP and ER.

By SK M S

Dec 17, 2015

Excellent experiencing in all respect.

By Ali M A

Oct 06, 2019

it was a very helpful course

By prudhvi s

Feb 22, 2020

good coarse to learn'

By Rohit h

Apr 18, 2020

Super course

By Alexander G S

Jun 15, 2020

It was a good course. There were a couple of mistakes in the text and also between the text and quiz. The last two I remember are in Lesson 5 the presenter from Japan stated for DMAT. "Actually I participated in the medical care for the Great East Japan Earthquake as a member of the Japanese DMAT, Disaster Management Assistance Team which is quite different from the American DMAT." The problem was in the quiz that was not an option, it did have "Disaster Medical Assistance Team", which of course is the correct answer and was in his slide. Another was in Lesson 6 where Michael states, "Third, the triage person will check how fast the victim is breathing. If over 30 breaths per minute and they may not need to count, if it's fast, they will know. They will tag the victim as red. If it's less than 30, they will check perfusion, or blood flow." Of course, when he goes and states "If it's less than 30." he's actually talking about Stage Four and not three. It was in the slides and any new students would be wise to save the slides to refer to for any quizzes, the text can be tricky. The only other piece was the assignment, if going to be reviewed by other students, it should have something showing if they left a response or not. I spent a good 20 minutes looking for their responses (there weren't any). As stated I liked the course otherwise, Lesson 6 was good to understand how the Triage system works that I didn't know about. Cheers.

By Damian N

Apr 18, 2020

There is political propaganda on a Required Reading, this and another "facts" that are myths like the twinkies expiration dates. Some good advices but the course need some revision

By Kirby P P

Apr 27, 2020

Needs to update the course with regards to pandemic disaster and other disaster our world is facing.

By David T

Oct 14, 2019

It was a very good basic course. It relied to much on FEMA and help coming.

By Perry N G P

May 19, 2020

Good way to be prepared on actual disasters! Kudos!

By Rohan

Jul 06, 2020

An informative course but instructor was boring.

By Dean W

Apr 24, 2020

it has help with something i have overlook

By Eddie W J

Oct 23, 2018

good teachers and yet the

By Benjamin M

Apr 13, 2020

Course is incredibly basic- if you have any survival background I am sorry to tell you that you probably won't learn much new and will be disappointed by the material. The lessons themselves are incredibly bland (Instructor Beach basically is just talking in front of a plain blue background the entire time- don't be fooled by the intro making it seem like he is out and about showing you practical scenarios), the material is outdated and does not include modern technology/alternative energy sources (i.e. when discussing light batteries are essentially the only recommended source of power when in fact you can easily and cheaply obtain more reliable methods like crank, shake, solar- even rechargeable lithium batteries you could charge via a USB solar pack connected to portable solar panel!). If you have absolutely no experience with disaster and zero knowledge of preparedness then this course might be for you. Unfortunately it was a major let down for me and material that should be relevant and interesting I found to be too basic to even really be considered a good refresher...

By Nicole W

Jun 22, 2020

The information is interesting; however, the way in which it is presented is rather dry and boring. There are much better MOOCs out there that illustrate the importance of planning a course to engage the learner. This course fails to do that. In addition in order to complete the class, there is a peer reviewed assignment. It seems some participants will score you low with no explanation even if you follow the rubric. I took this course due to the current issues in the United States. Sadly, I realized that it really is not worth the effort due to the subjective nature of grading.

By Lindsey F

May 01, 2020

I do not trust peer evaluations. My assignment was thoroughly researched, well explained and clearly structured. I utilized EIGHT (8) references and even managed to format my HTML references in MLA style. A peer reviewer gave me 3 and 1 across the board without even bothering to read my assignment.

By Igor K

Apr 28, 2020

This is definitely a needed course for all those, who were panic-buying toilet paper! The international perspective video was interesting, but the rating is given due to non-academic approach and very poor production value throughout.

By Michelle P

Apr 16, 2020

This course was interesting but seemed to be overly anecdotal and based on opinions