Chevron Left
Back to Disaster Preparedness

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Disaster Preparedness by University of Pittsburgh

4.7
stars
837 ratings
278 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever viewed a news report depicting the aftermath of a devastating natural disaster? The damage to human life and property are both staggering and heartbreaking. All parts of the world face the possibility of floods, hurricanes, tornados, fires, landslides, earthquakes, tsunamis, and other natural phenomena. Are you prepared if disaster would strike you? This course will help you prepare! The course is appropriate for any learner who is proactive about developing the core competencies of disaster readiness and survival planning. It is especially useful if you are seeking techniques that can ensure your personal protection, as well as the safety of your family, property, and belongings, during a natural disaster. In addition, it offers essential preparation for a variety of emergency situations and inconveniences, even if you do not live in major tornado, flood, hurricane, tsunami, or earthquake zone. For instance, could you and your loved ones manage without access to potable water, electricity, fuel, and banking facilities? If you are unsure of your ability to respond in any of these possible scenarios, this course is for you! Throughout the course, you will be introduced to the Disaster Cycle, specifically the Mitigation and Recovery phases, and will create an extensive personal preparedness plan for survival in the absence of common amenities, such as food and water, shelter, and communication. You will also acquire practical, easy-to-apply strategies for maintaining a healthy attitude during disaster which can allow you to remain calm, avoid panic, and draw upon inner and outer resources in dire circumstances. Although death may be an inevitable outcome of extreme circumstances, a balanced outlook can provide comfort for all parties involved. Finally, issues of how institutions and governments can aid in disaster are also discussed. If you are interested in this topic you may be interested in other online programs at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Learn more about those programs by visiting our website: http://www.online.pitt.edu/programs/school-of-nursing/...

Top reviews

CH

Jan 31, 2017

Really great course that's paced well. I believe this is a course everyone should and CAN take! These things are important to know especially if you live in an area where disasters are prone.

SM

Jul 06, 2020

Excellent course, logically put together and well presented. It raises multiple issues, some of which we were aware of but had not addressed and others which we had not even considered.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 276 Reviews for Disaster Preparedness

By Vimal D

May 24, 2020

A very well constructed course. It is more oriented towards personal disaster management but the lessons can very well be applied at larger levels. It orients your thinking towards making you a Disaster Ready Person. Good One.

By Tamara L

Apr 19, 2016

An engaging and highly informative course. My only concern is that the required reading was not available, and there were several broken links for optional reading. This needs to be looked at and repaired as soon as possible.

By Thomas M I

Apr 29, 2020

Well presented introductory course by clearly experienced and knowledgeable Instructor(s). Enjoyed the content, demeanor, and tenor. Slow tempo easily attenuated by speeding up play-back speed.

By Dagmawi M A

Oct 12, 2016

the course is great. also I would like to thank coursera for the fee-waiver opportunities without which people like me could never afford to take such high quality and up to date trainings!

By Hafiz M W

Apr 07, 2020

It is fantastic course, I have learned emergency preparedness skills, resources, different survival kits survival techniques and much more. I truly recommend this course.

By Kate

May 06, 2020

Course material was very useful, and the attention to awareness as an emergency preparedness skill was appreciated. The peer review section of the course needs revision.

By Pawan M

Oct 28, 2017

It is a great course...This will help you in understanding how you prepare and mitigate for the disaster..It is a well equipped and a good course conducted.

By Deshraj P

Jun 11, 2020

It was very intellectual course. The tutor was very well prepared & explained theory nicely. And the case study about disaster was very knowledgeable.

By Bro G S

Sep 29, 2016

Interesting study, it covered things that I all ready knew but also presented others that I had not considered. Overall a good place to begin.

By Ihtisham I

Jun 27, 2020

Great course for having knowledge about disaster preparedness, it must be done by every individual because disaster cant wait for anyone

By Pradeep R

May 28, 2020

I loved the course. Micheal Beach was really good instructor, he made this course so interesting and fun. This course is a must have.

By Michael K

Apr 29, 2020

Good content, some links are out of date and do not work. Wish there was more content to really get into the nitty gritty of each week.

By Pinaki D

Oct 21, 2016

It is indeed a wonderful learning experience especially with respect to using practical tips and tricks for disaster preparedness

By Jacqueline B

May 24, 2020

The videos were good, and having the transcripts to read was very helpful, but some of the reading links don't work anymore.

By Derek H

Nov 27, 2015

Kind Regards,

Reasonable for target audience, good self awareness review and expansion of cultural and professional base.

By Eleanor

Nov 05, 2017

Very informative, large amount of videos instead of reading, easy to switch off with the amount of audible content.

By ANDRIEUX R

Jan 16, 2018

Cours complet, bonne approche du sujet bien qu'un peu superficielle mais tout les sujets sont traités !

By Fabián R I

Apr 21, 2020

The course is very good, however it would be good if they delivered digital material from the modules.

By Bernard H

Aug 17, 2016

Amazing practical information. I would have appreciated more showing of the water purification system.

By Carlo C

May 18, 2017

It gives basic preparations for disaster and where to go in case of disasters, which really helps.

By Andrew R

May 18, 2016

Very good course, but sometimes goes into too much detail for things that are quite common sense.

By Christina G

May 05, 2020

Examples slightly outdated, but the information is excellent. Glad I took the course.

By Paige B

Sep 26, 2016

It could go a little more quicker into the Medical aspect but otherwise very good.

By Mido T

May 28, 2018

interesting course, makes you mentally prepared for any disaster situation.

By Prakash S

Apr 08, 2019

Learnt a lot about disasters and its management processes.