Chevron Left
Back to Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis by Macquarie University

4.7
stars
376 ratings
105 reviews

About the Course

As data becomes the modern currency, so the ability to analyse the data quickly and accurately has become of paramount importance. Excel with its extraordinarily broad range of features and capabilities is one of the most widely used programs for doing this. In the first course of our Excel Skills for Data Analysis and Visualization Specialization, you will learn the fundamentals of Excel for data analysis. When you have completed the course, you will be able to use a range of Excel tools and functions to clean and prepare data for analysis; automate data analysis with the help of Named Ranges and Tables; and use logical and lookup functions to transform, link and categorise data. This course will enable you to build a strong foundation in the fundamentals, helping you to be more efficient in your day-to-day and developing the necessary skills to work with the more advanced techniques used in later courses. To make the content easy to relate to and to personalize the learning experience, we are going to follow Zara's journey through the course. Who is Zara? Well, she is no-one and everyone. You will find that Zara's trials and tribulations sound familiar, and together with Zara, you will develop your Excel skills along the way — and, importantly, have some fun doing it. The Excel Skills for Data Analytics and Visualization courses are the sequel to one of most successful specializations on Coursera, Excel Skills for Business, which has attracted hundreds of thousands of learners and top ratings. Transform your skills, your confidence, and your opportunities by adding this new set of skills to your repertoire....

Top reviews

FV

Jul 18, 2020

Well done. A small thing, though: in the quizzes, the grading could be made more fault-tolerant. Example: an answer such as AND(y,x) instead of AND(x,y) is deemed wrong, which borders on the nasty.

AV

Jul 11, 2020

Super fun and and intellectual course. Real need of hour to excel in Excel :) . This course helped a lot, in improving skills in excel analytics.\n\nspecial thanks to both the instructors !!!!!!!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 105 Reviews for Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis

By Jaime R

Jun 21, 2020

There were some errors (typos and duplication) in the quizes and assessments, which are not only distracting but also confusing to interpret what is being looked for in an answer. I see many comments in the discussion forums from students addressing these but no answers from admin or moderators that they are looking to correct the issues or addressing questions where there is an error on the student's part. The study material and content are very good, but whomever is creating and QAing the final release of the quizes and assessments doesn't appear to be in lock step with the content for the respective sections.

By Ulvi K

Aug 16, 2020

This course very useful but their weekly assessment is not updated. Questions and assessment excel workbooks are different. Also, week 5 assessment workbook has not been uploaded. Despite of people's complaint they do not answer people and Coursera also can not help you. Please consider this comment, prior to buy this course. Stay safe :)

By Humaira M

Jul 13, 2020

Some values didnt match p in the final worksheet

By Vaishnavi S

Aug 21, 2020

This course Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis has shed light onto various features of excel that were foreign to me prior to the course. Even the complex of all functions were elucidated in a lucid manner making it easy to comprehend. Extremely engaging and informative learning. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole process.

By May T Z

Sep 18, 2020

This course is the best choice if you are going to jump into the field like data analyst or business analyst. Highly recommended! But don't forget to make sure you have basic knowledge in Excel as this course is intended for the learners with intermediate level in Excel.

By Lauren S

Jul 11, 2020

Great course--but there are a few issues with sheets already having the information filled out when the student is meant to do so and at least for the final assessment, none of the answer choices matches the spreadsheet's average retail price.

By Rachid Z

Aug 22, 2020

Excellent course. Excellent instructors. The only downside was the excel sheet for the fifth-week exam wasn't available which was a bit frustrating. But, the whole journey was fun and instructive. Many thanks to Coursera.

By Heleen B

Jun 30, 2020

I very much enjoyed participating in this course! For me, as a newby to Excel, it was a great way to learn a whole lot about the different functionalities of this popular spreadsheet software. Also, because of the many exercises available, I could immediately bring the formulae and other learnt operations into practice straight away. Thank you for offering this, and keep up with the good work!

By Abdul H R

Aug 06, 2020

Although I was a beginner but the lecture materials and the vedios both were easy to understand . And most importantly,though it was a non-credit online course,it help me to gain the basic knowledge of data analysis,and I do believe that it will pave the way for me to grow experties and professionalism.Thanks to all.

By ELSA G S P

Jul 23, 2020

Muy completo el curso. Solamente que en los cuestionarios sugeriría que dieran una mejor retroalimentación en caso de estar mal y redactar un poco mejor las preguntas para saber qué es lo que se pide exactamente.

By Md. A K

Jul 25, 2020

This course was very informative and structured so that the students can understand and grasp it easily.

I have learned a lot of new tricks and hope to use them when ever i can.

Thank you coursera for this course.

By Fred V

Jul 18, 2020

Well done. A small thing, though: in the quizzes, the grading could be made more fault-tolerant. Example: an answer such as AND(y,x) instead of AND(x,y) is deemed wrong, which borders on the nasty.

By Richard A

Sep 08, 2020

Very well thought out course. Pace is good, examples are spot on, and instruction is great for someone just starting out in data analysis and needing a strong background in the fundamentals.

By Apoorv V

Jul 11, 2020

Super fun and and intellectual course. Real need of hour to excel in Excel :) . This course helped a lot, in improving skills in excel analytics.

special thanks to both the instructors !!!!!!!

By Dipesh C

Jul 10, 2020

NICE EXPERIENCE AND LEARNT MANY USEFUL THINGS WHICH IS IS REQUIRED IN DAILY OFFICE USE

THANKS TO ALL TEAM MEMBERS AND MY ORGANISATION -RIL WHO PROVIDE ME THIS COURSERA COURSE

THANKS

By Amy

Aug 02, 2020

The course is very well structured, organised and the practice quiz are excellent too to seal understanding of each lesson. Have recommended to many of my friends already.

By VONG S

Aug 31, 2020

This course is very useful for me as I am currently an HR analyst in Cambodia.

Thanks MACQUARIE UNIVERSITY and COURSERA for this Excel Fundamentals for Data Analysis.

By Lisa T

Aug 05, 2020

So Happy finishing this course, thank you for both the instructor. Hoping it will bring me more opportunity. I will trying hard to learn more about data analytics

By PRAVEEN R R 1

Aug 08, 2020

Really Such a super course for the beginners. Course faculties were really good at explaining. I liked the course very much. Such a interesting course it is.

By bilal s

Aug 04, 2020

One of finest courses Coursera has offered. Bravo to the Macquarie team. I am so encouraged that I intend to take the rest of the courses in this series.

By MEENAL J

Jul 22, 2020

This course is excellent and I'm excited to learn more courses related to excel. I also want to learn Digital Marketing from Macquarie University.

By Edwin Y N O

Oct 01, 2020

Great content. I have learnt a number of functions that will definitely improve my data analysis skills. I found this very useful and insightful.

By Shaji K

Jun 30, 2020

Detailed course for upgrading skills for large volume of data in a structured and precise manner for analysis and subsequent action plans

By Xiuhong Z

Sep 25, 2020

Really amazing course. I really love two professors. And I really think this course is useful and easy to follow. Highly recommended!

By IBIKUNLE D F

Sep 10, 2020

The course was interesting and a bit step up from some of the functionalities that I learnt in Excel skills for business.