Chevron Left
Back to Get Started with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Get Started with Python by Google

4.8
stars
1,022 ratings

About the Course

This is the second of seven courses in the Google Advanced Data Analytics Certificate. The Python programming language is a powerful tool for data analysis. In this course, you’ll learn the basic concepts of Python programming and how data professionals use Python on the job. You'll explore concepts such as object-oriented programming, variables, data types, functions, conditional statements, loops, and data structures. Google employees who currently work in the field will guide you through this course by providing hands-on activities that simulate relevant tasks, sharing examples from their day-to-day work, and helping you enhance your data analytics skills to prepare for your career. Learners who complete the seven courses in this program will have the skills needed to apply for data science and advanced data analytics jobs. This certificate assumes prior knowledge of foundational analytical principles, skills, and tools covered in the Google Data Analytics Certificate. By the end of this course, you will: -Define what a programming language is and why Python is used by data scientists -Create Python scripts to display data and perform operations -Control the flow of programs using conditions and functions -Utilize different types of loops when performing repeated operations -Identify data types such as integers, floats, strings, and booleans -Manipulate data structures such as , lists, tuples, dictionaries, and sets -Import and use Python libraries such as NumPy and pandas...

Top reviews

NF

Jan 13, 2024

About the most interesting learning experience i have had. I love the course structure , its clarity and especially the content of its labs which took the concepts to another level of understanding.

BA

May 24, 2023

Excellent introduction to Python programming, Pandas, and NumPy. I'm quite familiar with all three but still learned a few new tricks. The walkthroughs in this series are quite well done.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 206 Reviews for Get Started with Python

By Matt

Jul 24, 2023

No one grades your project at the end, so that is a bit disappointing. But I guess it's ultimately on you either way whether you are prepared going into interviews with these skills. The combination of videos and readings were very helpful. Most of the time it was clear what previous material I was to use to complete an assignment.

By Faraz B

Jan 25, 2024

A very good crash course on python, especially NumPy, pandas and jupyter... If you have prior programming experience than it'll be easier, for a total novice this may take longer than the course deadline...

By Aviad S

Nov 29, 2023

A great course, explaining what matters, nice examples. i would have loved to get some more advanced examples. and how to choose a data structure that is best suited to the data.

By Priyanshu G

Jun 24, 2023

1. Perfect course for beginners and people who have little knowledge of programming.

2. Course does not contain much about OOPs. Just an introduction is there.

By Craig S M

Aug 7, 2023

I would say this is a good course for beginners to intermediate. Unfortunately I had a already covered a lot of the content so I didn't learn much.

By Md F A

Oct 11, 2023

This course offers lot of detail Python programming resources. I'd personally liked to see more of programming exercises and examples.

By Dhruv S

Aug 7, 2023

need more some basic problems on data structures and data handling.

By Rana M T

Dec 14, 2023

Its A good course for data analyst to build its skills better

By David O

Jun 23, 2023

Nice course but not so explanatory for a python beginner.

By Faisal A

Jun 6, 2023

excellent learning outcome with python

By Katelynn D

Jun 27, 2023

Jumps around a bit too much

By Ehtisham U

Jun 18, 2023

Very good and to the point.

By Mahesh S

Nov 13, 2023

great learning course

By Suman D

Dec 6, 2023

It's a good course

By PRACHI S

Aug 16, 2023

very insightful

By Wassim R

Oct 3, 2023

thanks

By Stavros X

Jun 19, 2023

Practicing python during the program is for sure one of the highlights of it, however I would expect a lot more advanced practices to be thought during a course that has the 'advance' label in its title. I liked the way that combines the steps of a project , from the planning and executing , to the presentation of the findings. I didn't like that the project's lab was so much driven by ready notes because it didn't let me to struggle at all and it was I just typing things without any problem solving action to be need by my side.

By Anthony N

Apr 10, 2024

This course was interesting, but I didn't find it as rigorous as the previous courses I've taken from Google. I hope the future courses in this specialization are a little bit more challenging and help me grow my technical skills.

By Kunaal T

Apr 29, 2023

This course is very much designed specifically by keeping data analyst/scientists in mind. Maybe those parts can be removed from here and add more Python practice sessions.

By Steve A

Jun 18, 2023

Have some previous knowledge of Python before taking this course. You'll find it much easier to follow.

By Moulaye S D

Oct 10, 2023

theorical

By Wayne T

Jun 28, 2023

Very unimpressed. This course could have been much more useful if they had focused on using python to address real world problems, rather than spending so much time teaching individual functions. It's like trying to learn Excel one function at a time rather than working on a problem and solving it. They did provide real world examples, but the way they did it was way too structured. This is not how real world problems are addressed. They should have had the instructor take us through several examples of how he used python to address real world problems. Watching him go through the learning would have been very instructional and very helpful. What we got was a bunch of lectures on the individual components of python - not helpful for beginners. These lectures would have been more helpful after we knew how to use python.

By Philipp E

Jun 26, 2023

Too easy, assignments and test do not test. Everyone will pass this. Sometimes just outright wrong information. Even in an assignment the answer is outright wrong. E.g. it is wrong to claim that parantheses are used to create a tuple. Tuples in python are made by commas not by parantheses. You only use parantheses to border a tuple when needed. The course is totally basic. If this is all you need to be advanced in data analysis in python everyone is advanced in data analysis

By Anabi H

May 14, 2024

At my opinion at the beginning of the course it was good but after orders of code getting more the illustration turned to be only reading the syllabus also at the project no illustration and some new things appeared ( code ) at the model answer .

By S. H M

May 9, 2024

It was very difficult for me to rate this course. If I were to look at the course independently, it was at the level of an introductory review of Python and Pandas. But it was good in the whole certification process.