Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
3,173 ratings

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

MU

Feb 10, 2016

I always loved writing. What I didn't know, however, was that writing had some scientific structures that could make it very interesting. Take this course and know why. I took and was very successful.

BD

Nov 16, 2015

Thank you for teaching me how to write basic essays. This has been one of my most important goals for years. I've tried several other ways of learning but your method worked for me. Thank you so much.

Filter by:

851 - 862 of 862 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By SUSAN S H

Feb 18, 2016

I am learning a lot but I can not afford to pay.

By Hannah T

Feb 4, 2016

Perhaps this class would be good for a non - native english speaker. I went through the first, maybe, five videos. From what I could tell, I learned all of the stuff in this class by the age of 10. If this class is for people who english is a second language, it should be more obviose.

By tilaga r

Sep 4, 2021

I wasn't able to upload my essay under my submission page. And I couldn't reach out to any instructors because, I don't have my instructors contact details. Its very disappointing as I really would like to submit my essays and get feedback from my peers.

By Jasper N

Sep 13, 2016

Very general, and knowledge you could easily acquire from the web. The only difference is the presentation of the information is stretched over an hour worth of video. The most useful part of this course however is the walk-through examples provided.

By Rebecca E

Feb 22, 2016

Didn't learn much of anything at all, the peer review system is lazy on the Teacher's part, and half of my classmates couldn't even speak proper English, let alone write it.

By Brian C

Jan 4, 2020

Do you want to bill four times for this? No help center to contact except only garbage...

I would never recommend anyone for this course... fuck!!!

By SiefElDin S

Jun 6, 2021

Peer graded course to the core, to the point that it is hard to learn anything from!

By Suheyla C

May 16, 2016

Totally disorganized, mis-managed, unfairly graded course!

By Edward S

Oct 24, 2019

Very mediocre, basic and poor calification system.

By Sara E

Jun 16, 2016

bad for the projects

By Ridhwa K

Sep 28, 2020

i cant unenroll!

By Prakriti M

Oct 5, 2019

i djhdfjkdn