Chevron Left
Back to Getting Started with Essay Writing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Getting Started with Essay Writing by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
2,820 ratings
771 reviews

About the Course

Course 2: Getting Started with Essay Writing This is the second course in the Academic English: Writing specialization. By introducing you to three types of academic essays, this course will especially help prepare you for work in college classes, but anyone who wants to improve his or her writing skills can benefit from this course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - create effective thesis statements for your essays - plan and write compare/contrast, cause/effect, and argument essays - write well-developed body paragraphs Note: The lectures and practice activities are available for free, but you must upgrade to the pay version in order to take the quizzes and get feedback on writing assignments....

Top reviews

BD
Nov 16, 2015

Thank you for teaching me how to write basic essays. This has been one of my most important goals for years. I've tried several other ways of learning but your method worked for me. Thank you so much.

MU
Feb 10, 2016

I always loved writing. What I didn't know, however, was that writing had some scientific structures that could make it very interesting. Take this course and know why. I took and was very successful.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 767 Reviews for Getting Started with Essay Writing

By 刘诗琦

Mar 17, 2017

入门。

By Andrea U

Jul 12, 2020

Content is valuable and ,if approached with commitment, can improve your writing skills. However, the system through your essays are evaluated from other peers has to be revisited. It would be much better if there was a professional figure who corrects and grades your assignments. Moreover, many students of this course are unfair and spiteful individuals who enjoy giving you low grades. There is no control over this procedure and, to be honest, it is very annoying.

By Caitlin C

Mar 11, 2019

I feel it was good for the basics but it needs to be made more clear that this is really JUST getting started. It has no reference to how to write essays under a time limit and I would say it is quite unhelpful for UK students (I don't know about elsewhere out of the US). I don't really like the peer review system as people were unfair and then gave rude comments or just untrue/ unhelpful advice.

By Tim Z

Jul 26, 2018

Perhaps comparing to have writing classes offline, writing course online is not so beneficial for me, because all the feedback come from other students, but they are not as professional as teachers are. So the effect of this course only have me practice three essays but lack of modifications and improvement.

By Federico R

Feb 7, 2016

There is a problem with the peer reviewing of the assignment. Even you finished all tasks, you need to wait for receiving your grade. For example, I am still waiting for the grade of my assignments, specially I am waiting for more than two weeks for the grading of my assignment in week 2.

By Erin M

Feb 7, 2016

I didn't like this course as much. Mostly because the peer reviews were strict and unforgiving and as an experienced, essay writer, I didn't feel I needed the rigid, boring academic structure required for this assignment. However, I made it through with a decent mark so I'm grateful for it.

By Lavender W

Jul 5, 2020

It is not very difficult for me because I have a lot of knowledge about grammar and so on, so maybe it varies from person to person. I think it better make a test before we learned and give us suggestions to learn which part.

By Chieko T

May 6, 2019

It's a very useful course; however, peer graded system doesn't work well because we have few peers. On the other hand, Edx has a staff graded system which works very well. Coursera should reconsidered the peer graded system

By Catherine

Jan 16, 2017

The ONLY reason I rated low is because I paid this course and am receiving NO feedback from other students on essays. Very frustrating when you have tried to do your best but get no peer reviews.

By Trishant R

Jul 27, 2020

Good course for learning about essay writing. The course is very repetitive after Week 3 since the instructions for other essay types are the same. Overall, the course is easy to complete.

By Momin U

Aug 28, 2020

The learning experience was brilliant; however, in peer review, some fellow students give 0 marks without any definite reason. Fellow students need to take peer-reviewing seriously.

By Jose A V

Apr 30, 2020

The content is good but I wish there was more support from instructors. For example, giving a detail review of essays in order to learn a lot more would be ideal for students.

By Divya A

Sep 2, 2020

It is not for all. Most profitable for school going pupil or college students. But lots to learn. Just not suitable for me.

By Maksim O

Nov 15, 2015

Much better than the first course in the specialization.

Too many dependencies on non-standard data formats, like MS Word.

By Jingfei Z

Jan 9, 2017

It is a good course, but if you want to hand on the assignments, you have to pay. So I am a little disappointed.

By Supantha R

Aug 7, 2020

The course was OK,but it could be better. They could provide us with more information.

By Portia A

Nov 16, 2015

Its ok, I didn't learn a little and I didn't learn a lot.

By 罗詹妮

Dec 29, 2015

Too easy. The example showed is not very academic

By Anwar R

Mar 27, 2019

Don't charge for the quizzes please. :D

By Karen R T

Sep 20, 2020

It was a good course! Well organized!

By Luana B

Mar 16, 2016

The course was great and interesting.

By 匡翔宇

Mar 27, 2017

还行吧。当然只能带入门,学一点理论。要想学会论文写作远非这门课能做到的。

By Mohamad A T

Dec 21, 2019

Good learning opportunity

By Derrick G

Jul 17, 2019

looks good !!!!!!!!!!!!

By harpa ó

Dec 1, 2015

It was okay.