Chevron Left
Back to Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework by University of California San Diego

3.9
2,906 ratings
705 reviews

About the Course

This course is for novice programmers or business people who would like to understand the core tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. With no prior experience, you will have the opportunity to walk through hands-on examples with Hadoop and Spark frameworks, two of the most common in the industry. You will be comfortable explaining the specific components and basic processes of the Hadoop architecture, software stack, and execution environment. In the assignments you will be guided in how data scientists apply the important concepts and techniques such as Map-Reduce that are used to solve fundamental problems in big data. You'll feel empowered to have conversations about big data and the data analysis process....

Top reviews

GM

Feb 01, 2016

I'm forced to give 5 stars. I don't want to have a certification on a poor quality course (another coursera mistake). This material needs tremendous amount of work to get finished and revised.

GC

Oct 25, 2015

Super hands on introduction to key Hadoop components, such as Spark, Map Reduce, Hive, Pig, HBase, HDFS, YARN, Squoop and Flume.\n\nI can't wait to the next course on the specialization.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 687 Reviews for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

By Mengfei W

Oct 06, 2018

This is one of the most disappointing classes I ever took on Coursera. I am a Coursera believer and have taken so many classes here. But with all due respect, the instructor in week 2 and 3 was just mumbling to himself in front of the camera. I feel kind of disrespected. This course is not well prepared and should not be on Coursera.

By Leonel G

Jan 28, 2018

This is a good introductory course. The content is good, but the presentation is not great. The presenters speak with a low, mumbling voice.

The programming exercises could also be improved: they are based on a contrived example (TV shows and view counts). The presentation of the exercise gives several clues on how to progress on the exercise, but in at least one case, that was not straightforward and there was a simpler solution.

By Ryan H

Aug 24, 2019

The instructor in week 2 makes me want to kill myself. There are people who can teach, there are people who can't teach, and there is this guy who absolutely cannot be allowed to teach due to safety reasons.

By Davide C

Oct 08, 2019

The course presents a general introduction to Hadoop world, but some explanations aren' t clear.

I appreciated links and references proposed to study other (ex. Python), and section quiz.

Are there problems with guides of Cloudera, but can be solved searching on the web (thank you Stackoverflow).

FInally, I didn't like sections presents by the Indian professor, because he "ate the words" and without underline text a lot of phrases were incomprehensible

By Pablo T

Apr 10, 2018

A walk-through of Cloudera's tutorials. Way overrated and over-hyped. Not worth the money.

By Oana M

Oct 11, 2016

A bit more explanation along the slides would be really appreciated. Also it was a bit disappointing was the fact that the hands-on exercises were every word read from Cloudera, no addition/ additional information or clarification.

By Omar K

Oct 03, 2017

This is a very bad course. The VM image provided is very buggy and does not work. ( It took me 4 hours to make it to the second part of the first tutorial just to find out that the second part is broken due to miss-configured HUE server ). Professors do not respond to questions in forums as well. PLEASE do not waste your money/time on this course. The main issue is that other courses in the same specialization are very good but without passing this course, you can not earn specialization.

By Tiago L

Nov 30, 2017

I was almost done with this course but I ended up finishing it. I have taken other courses on Coursera, and this one is the worst so far. You may get to know the basics of the Hadoop Platform but the lectures aren't much interesting and the lecturer reads the bullet points or a script. I was disappointed, frankly.

By Ramneek k

Dec 23, 2018

Great course for starters

By Vinoth

Jan 30, 2019

Gained the hadoop(Map reduce) spark framework in detailed

By OUKHOUYA

Nov 06, 2018

Formation très intéressante!

By Daniel P M

Nov 28, 2018

Es un curso muy agradable, los temas son muy interesantes y de gran ayuda...

By chintan p

Feb 24, 2019

Course is awesome. It has clear my idea about MapReduce , Spark jobs.

By Huixin L

Mar 04, 2019

It provide the basis of the Hadoop platform. It also provide with some command to do the real life work. Good course to recommend.

By Abhilash R

Dec 16, 2018

This is a very good course to clear your basics and all the assignments gives you a good practice.

By savitri v v

Aug 09, 2018

very good

By Saad T

Oct 12, 2018

All the labs were really helpful in building the understanding of different applications. One area I felt could be helpful for labs is example of what output would look like at key intermediate steps. Writing up code stepwise and comparing results against some sample example would help as it would re-affirm the solution works as expected all the way through the exercise.

By Vikash K J

Sep 29, 2018

Course is very well planned. Starts from very basic and gets to very detail. Will appreciate if instead of cloudera VM or along with that, can be guided to set up the framework in local and complete the assignments.

By André P Z

Sep 30, 2018

Good explanations and hands-on.

By Nikhil J

Oct 07, 2018

Really great for a beginner. It has all the basics and required hands on assignment. No other website can match coursera's quality of assignment/quiz. I am surely going to keep coming back to revisit this course.

By Carlos D

Jan 17, 2016

Really nice course, where you can get into details on how Hadoop and Spark works. I miss an update with dataframes and newer versions of Spark and Cloudera VM, but it's OK for this level.

By Marcus C

Feb 08, 2016

this is great to get your hands dirty with your first Hadoop applications.

By Turdaliev N K

Oct 11, 2016

Thank you for everything, it was a great pleasure to learn hadoop with the professors and assistants like you

By Enrique G R

Jun 05, 2016

Very satisfied learning in this course, with 1st class professors and practical exercises to advance in my career

By Mahmood M S

Apr 23, 2016

Very useful course on Hadoop, MapReduce and Spark. It gives the motivation and momentum to explore Hadoop platform further.