Chevron Left
Back to Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework by University of California San Diego

4.0
stars
3,318 ratings

About the Course

This course is for novice programmers or business people who would like to understand the core tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. With no prior experience, you will have the opportunity to walk through hands-on examples with Hadoop and Spark frameworks, two of the most common in the industry. You will be comfortable explaining the specific components and basic processes of the Hadoop architecture, software stack, and execution environment. In the assignments you will be guided in how data scientists apply the important concepts and techniques such as Map-Reduce that are used to solve fundamental problems in big data. You'll feel empowered to have conversations about big data and the data analysis process....

Top reviews

GM

Jan 31, 2016

I'm forced to give 5 stars. I don't want to have a certification on a poor quality course (another coursera mistake). This material needs tremendous amount of work to get finished and revised.

DA

May 15, 2020

Learned about Hadoop Ecosystem, limitations of map-reduce approach and Spark as a solution to overcome some of limitations.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this MOOC.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 760 Reviews for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

By Megha S

Mar 20, 2018

awesome

By Light0617

Oct 12, 2016

great!!

By Laurentino C C

May 14, 2016

Thanks!

By Waseem A

Mar 27, 2016

quality

By Pedro V H S

Mar 9, 2016

awesome

By Towhidul I

Dec 16, 2015

awesome

By José A M C

Dec 6, 2015

woooo!!

By David E H

May 30, 2018

thanks

By Buzz Z

Jul 30, 2017

Great!

By Longsheng W

Oct 26, 2015

Nice!

By NAMBURU V

Nov 9, 2020

good

By Bussetty S S

Nov 2, 2020

GOOD

By JayanthKumar K

Jan 4, 2020

Good

By qiaoyihong

Nov 25, 2017

good

By Bala S M S K

Mar 16, 2016

good

By Petar B

Feb 11, 2016

GJ

By Stefano P

Nov 22, 2015

I found this course a lot better than the previous one.

More concrete and with interesting material quite applicable on work use cases.

I think there are some points of attention to be addressed in next versions of this course.

a) Quiz sometime are very hard to be solved because there is no explanation in the course. But quiz are very useful (as the community) to really learn the material.

b) some lessons are hard to follow. Probably better to put at the beginning of lessons a mandatory activity to read some material on web (I found very useful links in discussion community, after them I was able to follow the course, but not before)

In any case I consider this very useful and I thanks all of you for the effort you put it

Stefano Priola

By Rehan K

Mar 13, 2016

Some of the presentations during the course were not up-to the mark. The instructors were literally reading the instructions rather than explaining them. Week 4 instructions were really poor.

In some cases the topics were discussed very briefly, so briefly that it was not making any link to the over all discussion. Again week 4 lectures stand out in this regard.

The exercises required a lot of programming skills, which were at times quite frustrating. If these were required, the course introduction should have clearly mentioned it.

Being a senior professional, it was at times very difficult to keep pace with the assignments. There has to be some way out for special circumstances where a student is unable to complete an assignment.

By Helena L

Aug 12, 2016

The course is very good but some essential aspects just got a very sketchy overview (like e. g. Hive).

The time effort increases dramatically from 1st to 5th week: just a set of lectures and 1 quiz in the 1st week (1 hour) to 3 quizzes and 2 programming assignments in the last week (7-8 hours). The 5th week got also a different lecturer which was very hard to follow.

There are definitely required at least basic python skills as well as unix command line familiarity.

Nevertheless there was a lot of fun with this course and I would recommend it to everyone who'd like to get a fast overview about Hadoop and MapReduce.

By Venkateshan K

Jan 4, 2016

It's a good course that covers multiple platforms in the Hadoop ecosystem in a relatively short amount of time in addition to providing an introduction to Spark. That very aspect is also something of a disadvantage because most of the topics are dealt with at a rather shallow level, and some of the details come across as pieces of facts missing a clear coherent connection.

Nonetheless, it is a good beginner course, and it would be difficult to expect to learn more given the constraints of time and the vast amount of content there is in this field.

By Adam H

Dec 19, 2017

The information in the course is valuable, especially the explanation of Spark. The course documentation needs updated, because instructions for installing pyspark do not work for a disproportionately large number of students, and the mentors do basically nothing to help. The section on Spark has some disturbing mismatch between the information provided in the video lectures and the questions on the quizzes; at least on question on each of those quizzes must be guessed, as the information is simply not in the lectures of handouts.

By Yang X

Apr 1, 2019

Overall the teaching and structure of the course is great. However, I guess some of the assignment, especially some of the quizzes could really use some more explanation since relevant points might not be covered during the course. So does the programming assignment, I guess maybe it could be due to the focus of this course is not yet writing better scripts, but one thing I think that is missing is how to combine those snippets to make a pipeline to automate the task or make the task reproducible.

By Pavlos C

Feb 27, 2019

Good course to give you potentially chaotic concepts. Prerequisites, that are not must but will definitelly help a lot: some basic linux command line fluency, basic python knowledge. Without those it still might be doable but might be a total nightmare. Many comments judge harshly some of the instructors. I would disagree on those, especially about class 3 instructor. The guy has a good way to present his concepts. Last week is the best.

By Toby P

Oct 30, 2015

This is a good course for anyone without major experience with Hadoop and/or Spark. Covers high level concepts and architecture, and basic tools of each. In this first iteration of the course, there are several typos in the assignments but fellow students have quickly provided corrections that, I'm sure, will be incorporated into subsequent offerings.

If you want to learn, I would recommend at least trying this course.

By dan f

Jan 24, 2017

Pretty interesting course and l now feel reasonably confident starting my own projects using spark. Only issue was with submitting some of the assignments. A lot of the time they would not work when I tried to submit. I eventually got them to submit using a different computer. This may be a problem on my end but from what I could tell from the discussions, many people had similar problems.