Chevron Left
Back to Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework by University of California San Diego

4.0
stars
3,319 ratings

About the Course

This course is for novice programmers or business people who would like to understand the core tools used to wrangle and analyze big data. With no prior experience, you will have the opportunity to walk through hands-on examples with Hadoop and Spark frameworks, two of the most common in the industry. You will be comfortable explaining the specific components and basic processes of the Hadoop architecture, software stack, and execution environment. In the assignments you will be guided in how data scientists apply the important concepts and techniques such as Map-Reduce that are used to solve fundamental problems in big data. You'll feel empowered to have conversations about big data and the data analysis process....

Top reviews

GM

Jan 31, 2016

I'm forced to give 5 stars. I don't want to have a certification on a poor quality course (another coursera mistake). This material needs tremendous amount of work to get finished and revised.

DA

May 15, 2020

Learned about Hadoop Ecosystem, limitations of map-reduce approach and Spark as a solution to overcome some of limitations.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this MOOC.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 760 Reviews for Hadoop Platform and Application Framework

By José A R N

Dec 31, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Big Data and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

By Akshay V

Jul 25, 2016

I loved this course very much. The methodology used for teaching the students in order to build their basic concepts and basic understanding about the hadoop platform and application frameworks is astounding. I would like to thank all the instructors who guided and instructed throughout the course.

ThankYou so much.

By Suchit C

Mar 3, 2016

This course was really good ..The exercises were just right, neither too tough nor very easy. However I personally feel that Spark section could be described a little more in detail. However, it doesn't take anything away from the course. A fantastic introduction to Big data tools with Hands on experience.

By Iaroslav N

May 23, 2017

The best Hadoop introductory course on the market. Thankfully to the well structured course program it was easy to grasp all the Hadoop concepts with the reasonable time investment. The hands on assignment are challenging, but doable for anyone with no prior Hadoop or Python experience.

By Anirban M

Feb 13, 2016

The concept given for HDFS write & read was ok. But it requires to elaborate on the Map Reduce flow from the memory & process side. But the thing I really liked is Spark. It really changed my vision towards Hadoop. With such an advancement Hadoop has become one of my favourite.

By Binod

Sep 28, 2016

I learned a lot in this course. A lot of basic and fundamental concept those I was now knowing, learned here very easily. I would recommend to all guys who want to know BigData or Hadoop, must be enrolled this project. Thanks to all teachers and management team.

By Gökhan Ç

Feb 29, 2016

The course was amazing. I think this is the most appropriate course in this specialization. Other courses are also good but this one is different. This one was more about Big Data implementation, and was very good for students looking for development.

By Matteo C

Dec 11, 2016

Wonderful course that help me to improve my skill with Hadoop. Maybe for a person that hasn't got skills on big data / hadoop framework... this course could be a little difficult but the quizzes are simple and the programming assignment really funny!

By Leandro K O

Mar 6, 2016

An amazing in-depth look at the Hadoop Platform, MapReduce and Spark, the assignments have a good level of difficulty for those who are starting in the platform just like me and let you understand in a more practical way the way the framework works

By Albert O V

Nov 13, 2015

I really like this course, thank-you very much for giving us the opportunity to learn Big Data in such a great way, It is a pity I will not be able to go on with this specialization because I can not enroll without paying to the next courses ;(

By Pim S

Mar 21, 2016

Though quite difficult with limited programming experience, this course teaches you a practical skillset with which you can perform some data analysis in Spark or MapReduce which in turn illustrates the differences between these workflow.

By Gaurav

Feb 2, 2016

Beautiful series of lectures, the Spark bit could have been improved as the RDD and later portions are not covered in detailed but skipped too fast.

Nonetheless - excellent course for providing the groundwork for Big Data Analysis

By Zeeshan S

Aug 9, 2020

I really like the course. It starts building the foundations from the base and take you till the professional level. I really like the exercise of this course and it helped me a lot to understand the implmenetation.

By Vikash K J

Sep 29, 2018

Course is very well planned. Starts from very basic and gets to very detail. Will appreciate if instead of cloudera VM or along with that, can be guided to set up the framework in local and complete the assignments.

By German S

Aug 6, 2019

I enjoyed this course, it includes the architecture, applications and some basic programming examples using Hadoop platform, which is useful to roughly understand some basics of Big Data and distributed computation

By Nikhil J

Oct 7, 2018

Really great for a beginner. It has all the basics and required hands on assignment. No other website can match coursera's quality of assignment/quiz. I am surely going to keep coming back to revisit this course.

By Nidhish A

Jan 17, 2016

This course has given me a great insight into Hadoop Platform and provided a good basic foundation to continue and invest my knowledge and skills earned from this course in implementing future BigData projects.

By Venu G K

Jan 10, 2018

I wanted to get an overview of Big Data and system involved with analyzing Big Data. This course gave a good overview of what I wanted combined with background architecture and hands-on analysis as well.

By Deleted A

May 16, 2020

Learned about Hadoop Ecosystem, limitations of map-reduce approach and Spark as a solution to overcome some of limitations.Thanks for giving me the opportunity to participate in this MOOC.

By Carlos D

Jan 17, 2016

Really nice course, where you can get into details on how Hadoop and Spark works. I miss an update with dataframes and newer versions of Spark and Cloudera VM, but it's OK for this level.

By Deleted A

Mar 12, 2017

A very nice course covering the basics of the Hadoop ecosystem and Apache spark. The lectures are high quality and the presenters do a very good work of explaining the concepts. Thanks

By Shu

Jan 18, 2017

This is a great introductory course for entry level Hadoop learner. I hope more content can be added into this course. This course overlaps with other big data courses offered by USDC.

By LJ

Nov 30, 2015

Good introductions to all base modules with all necessary information (architecture, key components, workflow and data structures). The assignments are challenging but achievable.

By Carlos E

Jan 13, 2016

Excellent material, teachers and all in place to head studies in the right direction to learn Hadoop and related tools..!

Thanks very much for the great time shared with us..!

By 郑轶松

Jan 16, 2016

Although some instructions are not completely correct and waste some time. It is still a very fasinating class and take me into the whole new world of big data.Thank you.