Chevron Left
Back to Health Concepts in Chinese Medicine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Health Concepts in Chinese Medicine by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
373 ratings

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/L0-cZt1Hw7c Chinese Medicine and Modern Medicine are two distinct medical systems, yet they both aim at the prevention and treatment of human diseases. With this in mind, we should understand the practice of Chinese Medicine in the context of Modern Medicine. In this course, we explore the basic theories underlying the practice of Chinese Medicine, compare and contrast the use of Chinese Medicine and Modern Medicine in Preventive Health, and discuss how to restore a healthy condition and understand the pharmacological basis of different types of Chinese tonifying herbs. By the end of this course, you will be able to: -              state the important Chinese Medicine literature from 5th century B.C. to 16th century A.D. -              describe and interpret basic Chinese Medicine theories -              apply the basic Chinese Medicine theories (such as the balance between Yin and Yang and the interaction among organs) to restore a healthy condition -              compare and contrast the use of Chinese Medicine and Modern Medicine in Preventive Health -              explain how the balance of Yang/Qi and/or Yin/Blood can be restored by using Chinese tonifying herbs -              adapt the Chinese Medicine concepts by reviewing the contemporary researches on pharmacological activities in Chinese tonifying herbs...

Top reviews

NP

Jul 25, 2022

Excellent course, excellent introduction on the subject, Professor Ko is excellent and friendly, I'd like to have intermediate and specialized courses from this same speaker offered on Coursera.

K

May 24, 2019

Great class. This was a unique class in that it explained the scientific background of TCM concepts. I really enjoyed this perspective since it is not information that is commonly available.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 125 Reviews for Health Concepts in Chinese Medicine

By David S C F

Jul 20, 2020

Me gusto mucho la primera parte del curso, la teoria del yin y el yang me parece que se desarrolla demasiado quitantole tiempo a las otras. Me gustaria saber más sobre los meridianos y las interacciones de los organos de acuerdo a los elementos. Gracias por el curso, Dios lo bendiga. (Spanish)

By Thuy D

Oct 2, 2023

The Course is well designed with interesting knowledge about Chinese Medicine. It’s useful for me to learn TCM to apply in my daily and in my job as Yin Yoga Teacher. It’s neither easy nor difficult. All Videos are good created for me to understand. Please make more courses about TCM.

By Leon B

Sep 10, 2020

This course is good to anyone who want to know about the science and pharmacological basis of Chinese Medicine. A bit difficult if you don't understand biology especially about internal organs but the tutor (Robert Ko) explain the material well so it helps to understand the material.

By Duygu Ö

Mar 28, 2021

As a medical student, i took this course during my biochemistry lessons and it helped me with my lessons a lot by giving me a new perspective. Also, i loved the fact that informations were repeated in different weeks so that i could remember them well by the end of the course!

By NG G L M

Apr 20, 2020

I’ve gained valuable knowledge on how to better look after my health and awareness of the long term benefits of “bu” . Importantly, how we can improve our health and live better quality life with appropriate supplements using natural herbs in chinese Medicine.

By Isabela B

Jul 5, 2020

Great occasion to learn about Health Concept in Chinese Medicine . Very useful notions, which allow a better assessment of health. The course is well structured and systematized to introduce the basics. Don't miss this opportunity.

By Ripon H

Feb 22, 2022

I am grateful to Hong Kong University for giving me the opportunity. I am also grateful to Sir Robert Ko to make such an amazing program. I would love to learn more opportunities to study at an advanced level.

By YHCT K T T T V

Jun 21, 2023

Perfect for MD student who has passion with Chinese Medicine. Lectures are organized so logicable, from basics theory of Chinese Medicine to treatment, speacialy in herbs treat using pharmacology to explain.

By Fabrizio M N

Apr 11, 2023

By far one of the best and most useful course I've ever had on Coursera. Great reading materials too, difficult but clear and logic. The teacher is simply a genius. It exceeded my highest expectations.

By Kseniia T

Mar 24, 2020

Very informative and rich course for those who are interested in Chinese Medicine. For me was a bit difficult because of poor "professional medicine English", but some dictionaries helped. Thank you1

By Nadia P

Jul 26, 2022

Excellent course, excellent introduction on the subject, Professor Ko is excellent and friendly, I'd like to have intermediate and specialized courses from this same speaker offered on Coursera.

By fernando g u

Nov 19, 2020

Uno de los mejores curso que he hecho.Bien preparado.Bien explicado.Videos buenisisimos,de alta calidad .En general el curso no tiene rellenos innecesarios.

Enhorabuena y muchisimas gracias.

By Heathyr

Dec 27, 2023

A very thorough, well-rounded and helpful foundation course in Chinese Medicine. I'm grateful to have found it here on Coursera and would love to see more TCM courses on this platform!

By Candace

Oct 8, 2023

This was fun to watch and the reading materials made me have the confidence that I was truly learning something important and useful that I can use in my day to day life.

By Ana M V M

Aug 1, 2020

I really liked this course is very complete it really met my expectations. I thank to coursera, the University of Hong Kong and especially Dr. Robet Ko for this course.

By Saeed K

Aug 29, 2023

This course helpful to understand much information about Chinese medicine. Quality of content was excellent. Thanks so much for your valuable lecturers.

By Nicolet V

May 16, 2023

Great course, recommended for all healthcare practitioners to understand patients who use this system of Medicine alongside other treatment modalities

By May N

Jan 16, 2020

This course was really helpful for beginners as it went through each and every concept that was taught. It was detailed and I found it interesting!

By PANDYA Y U

May 30, 2020

Excellent!!!!!

I Received a Great knowledge about the Chinese medicine system, learnt a lot about the old traditional system of medicines!!!!!

By Izabela L

Jan 6, 2020

Great course if you want to learn more about Chinese Theories and its applications. Well explained, and taught. Great supplementary materials!

By Marci W

Jan 17, 2021

I really loved this course. It was quite challenging, and absolutely worth it. The knowledge I attained will certainly help me in my career.

By Hadassah A E

Oct 14, 2020

Congratulations! Continue what you've started because you can help a lot of people know more about the power of Chinese Medicine! God bless!

By K

Nov 11, 2021

Fantastic and informative course. I am very grateful to learn the knowledge in this excellent course. Thank you Prof Ko and Coursera!

By Braulio G

Dec 18, 2020

Excelente curso profesor Robert, me gustaria saber si tiene una segunda parte para continuar aprendiendo.

Gracias,

Braulio Gallo.

By Jonathan J

Dec 14, 2017

A great mix of traditional medicine mixed with evidence-based science. Thoroughly enjoyed this course and would recommend !!!