Chevron Left
Back to Health Concepts in Chinese Medicine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Health Concepts in Chinese Medicine by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
373 ratings

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/L0-cZt1Hw7c Chinese Medicine and Modern Medicine are two distinct medical systems, yet they both aim at the prevention and treatment of human diseases. With this in mind, we should understand the practice of Chinese Medicine in the context of Modern Medicine. In this course, we explore the basic theories underlying the practice of Chinese Medicine, compare and contrast the use of Chinese Medicine and Modern Medicine in Preventive Health, and discuss how to restore a healthy condition and understand the pharmacological basis of different types of Chinese tonifying herbs. By the end of this course, you will be able to: -              state the important Chinese Medicine literature from 5th century B.C. to 16th century A.D. -              describe and interpret basic Chinese Medicine theories -              apply the basic Chinese Medicine theories (such as the balance between Yin and Yang and the interaction among organs) to restore a healthy condition -              compare and contrast the use of Chinese Medicine and Modern Medicine in Preventive Health -              explain how the balance of Yang/Qi and/or Yin/Blood can be restored by using Chinese tonifying herbs -              adapt the Chinese Medicine concepts by reviewing the contemporary researches on pharmacological activities in Chinese tonifying herbs...

Top reviews

NP

Jul 25, 2022

Excellent course, excellent introduction on the subject, Professor Ko is excellent and friendly, I'd like to have intermediate and specialized courses from this same speaker offered on Coursera.

K

May 24, 2019

Great class. This was a unique class in that it explained the scientific background of TCM concepts. I really enjoyed this perspective since it is not information that is commonly available.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 125 Reviews for Health Concepts in Chinese Medicine

By Ridwan M

May 20, 2020

great course to study basic TCM as well as connecting knowledge to western medicine, the instructor really know the subject.

By Deleted A

Dec 20, 2018

Really interesting relation between classical - modern medicine. Outstanding presentation. Need previous formation though.

By Zyanya A N

Oct 26, 2019

So much but so good information if you don't really know anything about Chinese Medicine, I totally recommend this course

By Federico G

Apr 15, 2023

I enjoyed the course and learned a lot about Yin Yang, Qi and Chinese medicinal herbs. Thank you very much.

By Nicolina P

Mar 3, 2024

Prof. Robert Ko Hong is a very good teacher and science man. All the best to him and his lab! Xie xie!

By Natalia B

Oct 13, 2020

If you are into Chinese Medicine - it is very interesting course, high quality material. I loved it.

By Ejder A A

Nov 10, 2022

It was more productive than I expected. A very well-thought-out course. I learned a lot. Thank you.

By Dr V S M

May 2, 2020

Brain storming course for me, a practicing acupuncturist....in simple yet very effective language

By Hilda L A

Mar 4, 2020

Loved how the course was delivered. Hope they came up with other subjects about Chinese Medicine.

By Monalisa M

Nov 9, 2022

Very thorough and challenging course that I really valued, more than I expected, thanks!

By Titilayo F

Oct 16, 2020

Very enlightening and clear to understand. The supplemnetary materials are excellent.

By DR.JAHAFAR S A

Jun 12, 2020

Very good class, videos,

It's useful very much to learn, Chinese concept of medicine,

By Anand R

Jan 7, 2024

Good introductory course in TCM. Well conceptualised and presented. Thank you.

By paulbert h v

Jan 10, 2024

excellent introduction to traditional chinese medicine and herbal medicine

By Vitor D d O

Sep 6, 2022

非常感谢师父,课程很棒。 该计划非常适合医疗保健专业人员。 对中医有广阔的视野。 博士学位。 罗伯托。 我也很喜欢你们的上帝团队。 谢谢并恭祝安康。

By Jillian E C

Jan 21, 2019

My favorite course thus far. Excellent structure. Thorough and expansive.

By Mary E M

Nov 1, 2020

I was amazed of learning about the scientific basis of Chinese Medicine!

By Iziah R

May 18, 2019

Thank you for accepting me into the program! i highly appreciate it.

By TEFL V

Nov 15, 2022

good course. Talks about how chinese herbs slow the aging process

By Fabiola G

Apr 1, 2021

well put together course. It has lots of future reading material

By Dongliang Z

Feb 13, 2019

The course provides me a brief introduction yo Chinese medicine.

By Howra A

Aug 25, 2020

Great experience learning about Qi and balancing Yin Yang .

By Ka-Weng C

Feb 18, 2023

Perfect course for anyone interested in Chinese Medicine!

By John T R

Mar 12, 2023

Interesting and informative Worth the time and effort

By Maria K

Mar 18, 2021

very nice course, useful information, videos well made