Chevron Left
Back to Health Concepts in Chinese Medicine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Health Concepts in Chinese Medicine by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.7
stars
373 ratings

About the Course

Course Overview: https://youtu.be/L0-cZt1Hw7c Chinese Medicine and Modern Medicine are two distinct medical systems, yet they both aim at the prevention and treatment of human diseases. With this in mind, we should understand the practice of Chinese Medicine in the context of Modern Medicine. In this course, we explore the basic theories underlying the practice of Chinese Medicine, compare and contrast the use of Chinese Medicine and Modern Medicine in Preventive Health, and discuss how to restore a healthy condition and understand the pharmacological basis of different types of Chinese tonifying herbs. By the end of this course, you will be able to: -              state the important Chinese Medicine literature from 5th century B.C. to 16th century A.D. -              describe and interpret basic Chinese Medicine theories -              apply the basic Chinese Medicine theories (such as the balance between Yin and Yang and the interaction among organs) to restore a healthy condition -              compare and contrast the use of Chinese Medicine and Modern Medicine in Preventive Health -              explain how the balance of Yang/Qi and/or Yin/Blood can be restored by using Chinese tonifying herbs -              adapt the Chinese Medicine concepts by reviewing the contemporary researches on pharmacological activities in Chinese tonifying herbs...

Top reviews

NP

Jul 25, 2022

Excellent course, excellent introduction on the subject, Professor Ko is excellent and friendly, I'd like to have intermediate and specialized courses from this same speaker offered on Coursera.

K

May 24, 2019

Great class. This was a unique class in that it explained the scientific background of TCM concepts. I really enjoyed this perspective since it is not information that is commonly available.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 125 Reviews for Health Concepts in Chinese Medicine

By Heine R

Jan 16, 2023

Generally its a great course, and my understanding of TCM health concepts improved a lot possible improvement: 1) Staff should answer in forum. 2) there are 2 or 3 questions in final exam where I wonder if the correct answer is wrong. "overcome qi deficiency" and "women with scanty menses"

By Martin M

Aug 7, 2020

Interesting course, and definitly worth a read and watch,but:

the questions are weirdly translated (maybe there is no english word for some concepts?), and somehow to some of them the meaning seems lost.

By foshan

Oct 22, 2021

A good introduction to Traditional Chinese Medicine especially how the action of Chinese Herbs can be linked to modern western medicine theory. Whetted my appetite to undertake further study.

By Su S M

Mar 1, 2019

I learned a lot from the course, although it is so much material that it would be great to have some visual diagrams in the material handouts so I can learn them in various ways much better.

By Rachael P

May 20, 2020

Very informative course and a great way to learn about CTM principles. The science can be a bit complex if you don't have a science/medicine background but well explained and interesting.

By Sven W

Mar 1, 2019

a bit to much into detailed medical words instead of global understandable wording. Nevertheless very informative and well structured, at least to have a first basic understanding

By Nalani S S

Apr 29, 2024

This is an informative class about the basics of Chinese Medicinal concepts and thinking. Very little herbal focus.

By Chatty A

May 24, 2021

Good overview on metabolism and immunity. But too much repetition in course material from week to week.

By Thomas H

Feb 24, 2020

A hard course with lots of knowledge learned that can help improve your overall health and longevity.

By Imani R

Jun 5, 2024

Great course if you want to learn the basic parallels between Chinese Medicine and Western Medicine.

By Nicola C

Jul 6, 2020

Congratulations to Professor Robert Ko

Interesting course on the basic concepts of Chinese Medicine

By Roxane B

May 31, 2020

It wasn't exactly what I expected, but overall, I am satisfied with what I've learned. Thank you !

By Frank D C

Oct 18, 2018

Very interesting, well documented and well presented course.

By Charles R K

May 15, 2024

Then course is good as it lays the basic foundation of TCM

By ROSARIO P L

Aug 20, 2020

It gives you another perspective about Modern Medicine

By Jonathan G

Feb 5, 2018

Fascinating course. I learned a lot!

By Sharon E L

Jun 8, 2019

I learned a lot. Thank you!

By Stefanie R

Jun 1, 2020

Good basic introduction

By manon g

Feb 7, 2021

very helpful course!!

By Leung T T O

May 28, 2018

Very good for me

By Meri I K

Jan 4, 2021

An interesting introduction to Chinese medicine concepts, although I found it somewhat repetitive at some moments.

By Penny M

Oct 2, 2021

Well done good support with video scripts and supplemental reading

By Kam L

Jan 2, 2021

Course is informative but could be difficult.

By Lisa L

Nov 8, 2020

awful - every video was repetitive and the professor would throw out scientific acronyms and not bother explaining them. this course is not for you if you do not have a medical or biochem background. i learned nothing. i decided to unenroll to stop wasting my time.

By Sock-Cheng L

Mar 4, 2021

Boring class. Cannot unenrol