Chevron Left
Back to Mental Health and Resilience for Healthcare Workers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mental Health and Resilience for Healthcare Workers by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
359 ratings

About the Course

This course will help institutions and individuals better manage the mental health challenges of being a healthcare worker. Healthcare providers such as the University Health Network (UHN) address the mental health needs of their staff through several initiatives intended to help build resilience and to provide respite from the demands of their work. This was critical during the pandemic but, of course, healthcare workers encounter high levels of stress even without a pandemic. The primary purpose of this course was to document and explain lessons learned with the hopes of informing healthcare institutions and healthcare workers about effective strategies and why they work. Dr. Heather Gordon will highlight strategies she has employed within the UHN during the pandemic, and Professor Steve Joordens will discuss the psychology underlying these interventions....

Top reviews

DR

Mar 6, 2023

This was great! I'm a new healthcare worker, I will definitely be using these skills and knowledge for my mental health. This was both practical and psychological. Thanks a lot.

RS

Feb 17, 2022

Engaging, simple and concise course that teaches practical abilities that extended beyond the topic taught in the course, but can also be applied to every day lives and anyone.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 97 Reviews for Mental Health and Resilience for Healthcare Workers

By NIKI M

Nov 15, 2021

Excellent information, as care givers we need to hear this over and over again, so it was a great reminder to practice these steps to avoid burn out!

By Richard J M

Aug 28, 2021

Excellent materials, well balanced, clearly presented, and necessary. Thank you to the presenters and all others who made this available. Dr. Rick Meschino, Chicagoland, USA

By Jason

Aug 31, 2021

Loved learning about mental health and resilience from Dr. Heather Gordon and Dr. Steve Joordens. All of their information helped provide me with some answers as to what is going on in both my mind and body. The content is fully relatable and pertinent to those that work in in Healthcare, teaching and any other profession where you have been exposed to chronic stress and have reached a point where you are burnt out and need to realize to realize that you have to put yourself first because it is not worth pushing yourself through the chronic stress. Your life and your health NEED to be the first priority!

By Diane G

May 19, 2022

Very well presented. Narrator are good motivational speaker. Good advice given and technics to do on my own to help with stress. Recommend to all heatlh care worker.

By Elizabeth K

Aug 5, 2021

Thank you - It was good to hear someone officially explain the things we should do. Now I know these hints and strategies will work. Practice now and use them.

By Eric R

Aug 31, 2021

Good start. Reinforces what I knew yet felt alone. Sad yet true there are a large number of us in healthcare who are hurting. All we have is each other. Wishing hospitals and their agents would realize the vale of people and how important it is to be kind to each other. Empathy not rhetoric! Life is short and precious. Thank you both for starting the conversation and offering some resources. Challenge to cater a course with a diverse audience although was hoping the course was more in-depth. Thank you again. Be well and stay safe.

By Elioty G R

Jun 6, 2024

Excelente curso, a pesar que va dirigido a los profesionales de la salud en especial para la pandemia de covid, lo he podido aplicar a mi rubro de enseñanza y en mi vida personal, por eso siento que es muy efectivo, ilustrativo, aplicativo, real y vanguardista. Gracias a los expositores, excelente metodología y completo dominio y conocimiento del tema. Lo único malo es la traducción, los subtítulos en ocasiones no aparecían o se cambiaban muy rápido y no daba oportunidad de leerlos por completo.

By Suzanne D

Mar 1, 2022

A very interesting course. Loved it. I'm in the process of getting my masters in Mindfulness and this felll right into my learning. This course is definitely helpful tp bosses of they complete it. It will help them to take care of the staff.

I didn't register for a certificate but I didn't know the course was going to be this good. How can I get one now.

By Racheal B

Jul 9, 2022

A wonderful, enlightening course for healthcare workers and human beings of all professions in both a personal and workplace setting. Taking this course alone already places mindfulness on your mental health and it exposes you to a basic and effective toolkit to help you manage stress, stressors, and maintain positivitiy. Thank you for creating this course!

By Tanica W

Jul 19, 2023

This course was great for health care professionals facing burnout or becoming close to the burnout stages. Each module has amazing techniques and education paired with it. The best part about this course is the energy. I love healthy vibrant and lively energy. Thank you for this course it was truly educational and I enjoyed it.

By Kendall S

Nov 8, 2021

This was a great course! I learned a lot of knowledgeable tools that I plan on sharing with my co-workers through these trying times and helping them relieve some of their stress as well as my own. Wonderful job to Dr. Gordon and Professor Joordens!! Super grateful for your guys' collaboration- you work so well together! :)

By Khadijah T

Oct 10, 2022

Health care workers are mostly overworked, under-appreciated, and still expected to show up for their clients, every single day! I highly recommend this course to every healthcare worker who wants to intentionally prioritize their mental health and avoid burnout and other mental health issues.

By DR. B C

Jul 29, 2021

Excellent course, especially the last few modules which highlighted actual situations and recommended specific actions to mitigate stress, anxiety, and their detrimental outcomes. I wish this course had been available at the beginning of my health profession career.

By Afzal F

Nov 6, 2022

This was an interesting short course. I have learnt many tips regarding relaxing exercises, laughter yoga and how to manage negative thoughts by replacing them with positivity. I want to thank you both Professors for facilitating this helpful course.

By Nadine M

Sep 1, 2021

This course was well planned and executed. The information was delivered in a way that made it easy to grasp and understand. It provided many great techniques that are easy to include in a busy schedule and help improve quality of life.

By Ma. J V

Aug 10, 2021

The course was very enjoyable. It was stress-free because I'm learning like I am just flipping through the pages of my favorite novel.

It was really fun but at the same time learning new things. I like it very much

By Olga P

Dec 19, 2023

The course provides you simple and structured information about the resilience, as something that can be learnt and mastered, and also it gives you the "weapons" to prevent the burnout. Useful and fun!

By Donald R

Mar 6, 2023

This was great! I'm a new healthcare worker, I will definitely be using these skills and knowledge for my mental health. This was both practical and psychological. Thanks a lot.

By Richard S

Feb 18, 2022

Engaging, simple and concise course that teaches practical abilities that extended beyond the topic taught in the course, but can also be applied to every day lives and anyone.

By Jordaine P

Jan 22, 2022

It was an informative course, with beautiful refreshers. Thank you for the opportunity to relax during the course, with the various activities.

By Tasos G

Jun 8, 2024

I was really fond of the way the course was organized and lecturers were very polite and friendly, i learnt a lot of things i must say.

By Sunita S

Sep 2, 2023

Its really a wonderful course. I learnt a lot especially create schedule for mental health well being. thank you so much both experts.

By Barbara B

Mar 28, 2022

nice combination of practice with theory and helpful suggestions. very useful in other helping sectors such as higher ed. Thanks

By Jenn S

Jan 15, 2023

So many good ideas and advice to help prevent burnout. We have implemented several already at the clinic I work at.

By Joshua W

Sep 8, 2022

This was a very good course and gave a lot of helpful tips for managing anxiety, stress, and burnout even at home.