Chevron Left
Back to Financing and Investing in Infrastructure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financing and Investing in Infrastructure by Università Bocconi

4.8
776 ratings
243 reviews

About the Course

Learn how debt and equity can be used to finance infrastructure investments and how investors approach infrastructure investments! According to the OECD, the global infrastructure investment requirement by 2030 for transport, electricity generation, transmission & distribution, and water & telecommunications totals to 71 trillion dollars. This figure represents about 3.5% of the annual World GDP from 2007 to 2030. The European Commission estimated, that by 2020, Europe will need between 1.5 - 2 trillion Euros in infrastructure investments. Between 2011 and 2020, about 500 billion Euros will be required for the implementation of the Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T) program, 400 billion Euros for Energy distribution networks and smart grids, 200 billion Euros on Energy transmission networks and storage, and 500 billion Euros for the upgrade and construction of new power plants. An additional 38 - 58 billion Euros and 181 - 268 billion Euros in capital investment will be needed to achieve the targets set by the European Commission for broadband diffusion. Traditionally investments in infrastructure were financed using public sources. However, severe budget constraints and inefficient management of infrastructure by public entities have led to an increased involvement of private investors in the business. The course focuses on how private investors approach infrastructure projects from the standpoint of equity, debt, and hybrid instruments. The course concentrates on the practical aspects of project finance: the most frequently used financial techniques for infrastructure investments. The repeated use of real life examples and case studies will allow students to link the theoretical background to actual business practices. In the end of the course, students will be capable of analyzing a complex transaction, identifying the key elements of a deal, and suggesting proper solutions for deal structuring from a financial advisor's perspective. Course Format The course will consist of lecture videos, readings, and talks given by guest speakers. Although we do hope you will attend the entire course, it is possible to just focus on single topics. Suggested Readings The course is designed to be self-contained, there are no obligatory readings that must be acquired outside of the course. For students interested in additional study material, you may refer to: • Gatti Stefano, "Project Finance in theory and practice", Academic Press, 2nd edition, 2012....

Top reviews

CY

Nov 03, 2017

Great course and great professor! I think this really helps me to understanding the fundamental knowledge of project finance. I think the additional study materials are really worth reading!

JM

Oct 05, 2016

Excellent course !!! Provides useful insights into the Infrastructure/Project Finance. Professor has dealt the subject in such a lucid and measured way that it was heart filling experience.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 238 Reviews for Financing and Investing in Infrastructure

By Maria S

Nov 18, 2018

This course was extremely well structured, engaging and informative. I would recommend it for anyone looking for an introduction to project finance or current early career professionals looking to fill knowledge gaps!

By Santiago D

Dec 07, 2018

Excellent, the course is very well structured and taught, materials are also very good.

By Fabio R C

Dec 20, 2018

Very nice course! As a lawyer, I am usually focused on drafting agreements related to project finance, however without understanding the financial concepts behind the documents. Now, I am not only able to understand the whole financial structure of a project, but I am also able to discuss and create new contractual clauses in order to reach better results to the stakeholders at the table. I definitely recommend this course.

By Fumiaki O

Jan 01, 2019

Very throgh course on fundamentals of project finance.

By Wendayehu

Jan 04, 2019

A Wonderful course! I was very lucky to get such a course in my career journey to be a starting investment banker having an engineering background. Thanks to Coursera, Bocconi University, the instructor and all the entire team!!!

By Edward K

Jan 03, 2019

Fantastic course that i would definitely recommend to any analyst trying to understand project finance and its technicalities.

Thank you Bocconi, Excellent.

By Halima I H

Jan 31, 2019

Excellent teaching, excellent material! Have come out a more knowledgeable person. Would totally recommend.

By Mohamed A C

Feb 07, 2019

Good course

By Sumeet A M

Nov 25, 2018

The course is really helpful and I do recommend it to any one that is beginning to engage deeper into the PF&AF sector. Cases and examples are quite helpful to match each of the unit concepts with the market practice.

By Rami S

Nov 27, 2018

Exceptional Course. Would recommend to anyone who has a keen interest in Investing in Infrastructure.

By mabalaka m

Jan 08, 2019

five star . a very concise course

By Federico C

Jan 07, 2019

Clear and very interesting course, suitable for everyone. Very good skills by the professor to keep the scene.

By Luis W T F

Jan 21, 2019

This is a very complete course that teaches the student how project finance deals are prepared along with all the elements that are involved in their settlement. The course also teaches how capital budgeting can be done to analyze the cash inflows and outflows of a given project on parellel with its financial sustainability.

By Dinesh D

Jan 11, 2019

It is a great course for project finance practitioners. One of the most take courses in project financing.

By German R

Jan 22, 2019

excellent course

By Horace G

Jan 23, 2019

Explanations, clear. Structure, easy to follow. Examples/cases very illuminating.

By alexandra j d

Feb 22, 2019

It is an excellent course!

By Pathias A

Feb 21, 2019

Great course with lots of expert advice to learn from. Everyone interested in Infrastructure Finance should undertake this course.

By Matea G

Mar 05, 2019

I find this course very useful. It handles the material in a manner that is understandable to everyone, not just those educated in the finance field. It gives a general picture of investing in infrastructure projects and is, above all, useful and interesting. My recommendations.

By Shakur R

Mar 02, 2019

An excellent course for people who want to know how project finance works. The instructor was really good with explaining 'complicated' topics in a way that made it quite easy for me to understand them.

By Abhisek M

Mar 04, 2019

Magnificent course. Impeccably designed and nicely summarized for all those who are or wish to enter into the field of project finance. A strong recommendation from my side.

By Sayantan G

Mar 06, 2019

Awesome with great explanation and up-to-date cases.

By Shruti S

Mar 09, 2019

Stefano Gatti is amazing and the structure of course in so flowy. His approach to explain is nice.

By Baptiste M

Mar 18, 2019

Very good course as an introduction to corporate finance with real application.

By sooin Y

Mar 18, 2019

So excellent for study of financing(ie PF)