Chevron Left
Back to Financing and Investing in Infrastructure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financing and Investing in Infrastructure by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
1,448 ratings
411 reviews

About the Course

Learn how debt and equity can be used to finance infrastructure investments and how investors approach infrastructure investments! According to the OECD, the global infrastructure investment requirement by 2030 for transport, electricity generation, transmission & distribution, and water & telecommunications totals to 71 trillion dollars. This figure represents about 3.5% of the annual World GDP from 2007 to 2030. The European Commission estimated, that by 2020, Europe will need between 1.5 - 2 trillion Euros in infrastructure investments. Between 2011 and 2020, about 500 billion Euros will be required for the implementation of the Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T) program, 400 billion Euros for Energy distribution networks and smart grids, 200 billion Euros on Energy transmission networks and storage, and 500 billion Euros for the upgrade and construction of new power plants. An additional 38 - 58 billion Euros and 181 - 268 billion Euros in capital investment will be needed to achieve the targets set by the European Commission for broadband diffusion. Traditionally investments in infrastructure were financed using public sources. However, severe budget constraints and inefficient management of infrastructure by public entities have led to an increased involvement of private investors in the business. The course focuses on how private investors approach infrastructure projects from the standpoint of equity, debt, and hybrid instruments. The course concentrates on the practical aspects of project finance: the most frequently used financial techniques for infrastructure investments. The repeated use of real life examples and case studies will allow students to link the theoretical background to actual business practices. In the end of the course, students will be capable of analyzing a complex transaction, identifying the key elements of a deal, and suggesting proper solutions for deal structuring from a financial advisor's perspective. Course Format The course will consist of lecture videos, readings, and talks given by guest speakers. Although we do hope you will attend the entire course, it is possible to just focus on single topics. Suggested Readings The course is designed to be self-contained, there are no obligatory readings that must be acquired outside of the course. For students interested in additional study material, you may refer to: • Gatti Stefano, "Project Finance in theory and practice", Academic Press, 2nd edition, 2012....

Top reviews

SA
Dec 27, 2020

very useful course I learned a lot of things related to project finance, the instructor was good as well. I just wanted to know if there is a list of the meaning of the key words used in the course.

TG
Aug 19, 2020

I enjoyed the course. The material is well explained, good details and examples. Gives a good base of Project finance with focus on the insfrustructur phases and the relevant risks and solutions.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 405 Reviews for Financing and Investing in Infrastructure

By TOZZI P A

Nov 13, 2019

In a nutshell, it is important to know project Finance because is a new financial strategy. This is the right way to approach this topic

By Pathias A

Feb 21, 2019

Great course with lots of expert advice to learn from. Everyone interested in Infrastructure Finance should undertake this course.

By Ivan I

Mar 7, 2018

In this course you can learn the main elements of financing project related to infrastructure and earn a professional view of it.

By Juan A

Aug 28, 2019

A great course clearly explained by the professor in charge, who has easily described major factors which govern project finance.

By Santos A

Dec 29, 2016

This is a very easy to follow,yet very rich course in project financing.I recommend it to everyone involved in project financing.

By Asheesh A

Mar 10, 2021

This has been an excellent course to refurbish my finance skills that I learnt during my MBA which was more than ten years back.

By Vijay S

Aug 9, 2019

Its a very helpful course for those who are interested to learn in detail about the financing and investing in infrastructure.

By William P

Jul 10, 2019

Excellent course, very relevantI speak from experience as having been managing transmission electricity network BOOT projects.

By Alex P

Aug 2, 2020

Very well presented. Very relevant subject matter that is applicable to major infrastructure projects across North America.

By Alexander P

Mar 8, 2017

A very good overview of infrastructure finance. Helps if you have base knowledge of corporate finance before you take this.

By AGABA R

Apr 26, 2021

This is a good course for any one who wants to have a firm grasp of the fundamentals of Project finance. It was excellent.

By Gustavo F R

Jun 4, 2018

Awesome course for those who want to learn how infrastructure projects are planned and executed from the financial side.

By Joao P d A P

Mar 10, 2020

Exceeded my expectations! Congratulations for both the quality of the contents but also the efficient delivery methods.

By Patrick R

Aug 24, 2019

Excellent in necessary scope, succinct with valuable details, and also delivered very effectively. Highly recommended.

By Ahrum P

Apr 9, 2017

Great overview into Project Finance for beginners. Professor has simple examples that explain the concepts succinctly.

By Jeffrey C

Oct 27, 2016

excellent intro to project financing and infrastructure investment. covers both quantitative and qualitative aspects.

By Stephanie C

Mar 22, 2020

One of the few online courses on financing and investing in infrastructure that is simple and straight to the point

By Stella

Jun 27, 2020

I like the way material is being presented, i enjoyed the course, thank you for making this available for everyone

By Somnath M

Jun 3, 2017

The course gave me very good perspective on project financing, risk analysis, and multi-stake holder management.

By Marcin U

Jan 23, 2021

Best course I have taken so far! Very well taught, I loved the lectures, teacher was right on point - amazing!

By Federico C

Jan 7, 2019

Clear and very interesting course, suitable for everyone. Very good skills by the professor to keep the scene.

By Naveen B

Feb 25, 2018

The course is Simply awesome. It provides me a deep insight of each and every phase of Infratructure Financing

By Gokhan B

Feb 21, 2017

Very intensive, but amazing course. Thanks to the Lecturer. Great preparation and excellent control of topics.

By Sandro M d O

Sep 28, 2016

Excellent content. The course is easy to follow and not exhausting at all. It will help me a lot in my career.

By Gabriele Z

Apr 16, 2020

I found this course really interesting. Professor Gatti is professional and extremely clear in every section.