Chevron Left
Back to Financing and Investing in Infrastructure

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financing and Investing in Infrastructure by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
1,911 ratings

About the Course

Learn how debt and equity can be used to finance infrastructure investments and how investors approach infrastructure investments! According to the OECD, the global infrastructure investment requirement by 2030 for transport, electricity generation, transmission & distribution, and water & telecommunications totals to 71 trillion dollars. This figure represents about 3.5% of the annual World GDP from 2007 to 2030. The European Commission estimated, that by 2020, Europe will need between 1.5 - 2 trillion Euros in infrastructure investments. Between 2011 and 2020, about 500 billion Euros will be required for the implementation of the Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T) program, 400 billion Euros for Energy distribution networks and smart grids, 200 billion Euros on Energy transmission networks and storage, and 500 billion Euros for the upgrade and construction of new power plants. An additional 38 - 58 billion Euros and 181 - 268 billion Euros in capital investment will be needed to achieve the targets set by the European Commission for broadband diffusion. Traditionally investments in infrastructure were financed using public sources. However, severe budget constraints and inefficient management of infrastructure by public entities have led to an increased involvement of private investors in the business. The course focuses on how private investors approach infrastructure projects from the standpoint of equity, debt, and hybrid instruments. The course concentrates on the practical aspects of project finance: the most frequently used financial techniques for infrastructure investments. The repeated use of real life examples and case studies will allow students to link the theoretical background to actual business practices. In the end of the course, students will be capable of analyzing a complex transaction, identifying the key elements of a deal, and suggesting proper solutions for deal structuring from a financial advisor's perspective. Course Format The course will consist of lecture videos, readings, and talks given by guest speakers. Although we do hope you will attend the entire course, it is possible to just focus on single topics. Suggested Readings The course is designed to be self-contained, there are no obligatory readings that must be acquired outside of the course. For students interested in additional study material, you may refer to: • Gatti Stefano, "Project Finance in theory and practice", Academic Press, 2nd edition, 2012....

Top reviews

SA

Dec 27, 2020

very useful course I learned a lot of things related to project finance, the instructor was good as well. I just wanted to know if there is a list of the meaning of the key words used in the course.

TG

Aug 19, 2020

I enjoyed the course. The material is well explained, good details and examples. Gives a good base of Project finance with focus on the insfrustructur phases and the relevant risks and solutions.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 514 Reviews for Financing and Investing in Infrastructure

By Stella D

Jun 27, 2020

I like the way material is being presented, i enjoyed the course, thank you for making this available for everyone

By Shawn K

Dec 6, 2022

Material was well communicated, included well thought out corresponding supplemental material. EXCELLENT COURSE!

By Somnath M

Jun 3, 2017

The course gave me very good perspective on project financing, risk analysis, and multi-stake holder management.

By Keaobaka P

Jan 25, 2022

The course was very informative and provided basic knowledge required for infrastructure and project financing.

By Eliseo C

Jan 31, 2023

Outstanding course. The teacher was perfect. He explained concepts in different ways and always with examples.

By Marcin U

Jan 23, 2021

Best course I have taken so far! Very well taught, I loved the lectures, teacher was right on point - amazing!

By Federico C

Jan 7, 2019

Clear and very interesting course, suitable for everyone. Very good skills by the professor to keep the scene.

By Naveen B

Feb 25, 2018

The course is Simply awesome. It provides me a deep insight of each and every phase of Infratructure Financing

By Gokhan B

Feb 21, 2017

Very intensive, but amazing course. Thanks to the Lecturer. Great preparation and excellent control of topics.

By Sandro M d O

Sep 28, 2016

Excellent content. The course is easy to follow and not exhausting at all. It will help me a lot in my career.

By Gabriele Z

Apr 16, 2020

I found this course really interesting. Professor Gatti is professional and extremely clear in every section.

By Emmanuel B K

May 8, 2017

An excellent and interesting specific course! I was delighted to complete the entire course in just eight da

By Halima I H

Jan 31, 2019

Excellent teaching, excellent material! Have come out a more knowledgeable person. Would totally recommend.

By Geoffrey P

May 13, 2018

Clear and concise introduction to project finance to get an overview of this sector in the banking industry

By Zuhaib Q

Mar 6, 2018

Exceptional Course. Would love to attend more and gain knowledge and experience from world best institutes.

By Dinesh D

Jan 11, 2019

It is a great course for project finance practitioners. One of the most take courses in project financing.

By Jack W

May 7, 2018

Great introduction to project finance. Can consider including more case studies and full-fledged modelling

By LUIS A G V

Mar 6, 2022

Highly valuable for non financial experts and people involved in projects with project finance funding.

By Hector R

May 7, 2021

A very relevant course today with the rise of P3 and the challenges to financing public infrastructure.

By Abraham S

Jun 3, 2020

Very interesting course covering the main aspects of project finance. Useful examples and case studies.

By Vincent S

Nov 15, 2023

Great course that is well structured, easy to follow, and provides a good summary after each session.

By Patrick M

May 28, 2022

It is a fantastic course in grounding the key concepts and practical applications in project finance

By Rami S

Nov 27, 2018

Exceptional Course. Would recommend to anyone who has a keen interest in Investing in Infrastructure.

By Ricardo S

Feb 10, 2018

Gives a thorough overview of project finance basic concepts in a complete and understandable fashion.

By Lim P H

Nov 11, 2022

Well informative course that allows me to know more about financing and investing in infrastructure.