Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to GIS Mapping

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to GIS Mapping by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
2,133 ratings

About the Course

Get started learning about the fascinating and useful world of geographic information systems (GIS)! In this first course of the specialization GIS, Mapping, and Spatial Analysis, you'll learn about what a GIS is, how to get started with the software yourself, how things we find in the real world can be represented on a map, how we record locations using coordinates, and how we can make a two-dimensional map from a three-dimensional Earth. In the course project, you will create your own GIS data by tracing geographic features from a satellite image for a location and theme of your choice. This course will give you a strong foundation in mapping and GIS that will give you the understanding you need to start working with GIS, and to succeed in the other courses in this specialization. This course is for anyone who wants to learn about mapping and GIS. You don't have to have any previous experience - just your curiosity! The course includes both practical software training and explanations of the concepts you need to know to make informed decisions as you start your journey to becoming a GIS analyst. You will need a Windows computer with ArcGIS Desktop installed. (software is not provided)...

Top reviews

AF

Apr 16, 2020

Don Boyes is one of the best instructors I have seen. Throughout the course, I never felt boring. So all credit goes to Don Boyes for making this course very interesting with his good sense of humor.

KS

Aug 1, 2021

This course is all about the introduction of GIS. It gives an insight of the GIS system especially the projection systems. Don Boyes made this course very easy and so entertaining. Thank you so much.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 659 Reviews for Introduction to GIS Mapping

By Kiruthika S

Dec 7, 2021

I liked work out the map digitizing , its useful for me

By Manamboba M B

Nov 15, 2023

How could I please have access to ArcGIS for my laptop?

By Pradip S

Jan 30, 2020

A good course to learn the basics of geospatial tools

By Abdirahman H H a

Mar 29, 2023

thanks to give me these course i like it

By Wessal B S

Oct 24, 2023

provide us with the software license

By HITESHKUMAR S

Jun 10, 2020

best MOOC for learning GIS software

By Mrinal P

Oct 15, 2022

Very effective course on GIS

By Muhammad F K

Jul 1, 2020

Good to learn. more theory.

By WIRA K

Jan 20, 2023

Learnt new knowledge here

By SOBITHAN S

Dec 14, 2021

very basic things covered

By AHMED " T S A D

Sep 6, 2020

Great Course

Great Teacher

By Jalal A

Dec 26, 2023

Great for basic learners

By SALISSOU E Y M H

Apr 25, 2022

A lot things i learnt

By Varun K

Dec 28, 2020

great basic course

By Reza A

Jun 21, 2020

Thanks coursera..

By Ajay

Oct 25, 2021

VERY NICE CLASS

By Md. R K

Jun 22, 2020

Amazing Course.

By Darshan B

Jul 29, 2021

A good teacher

By Álvaro P

Jul 20, 2021

Good course

By Abdul m

Jul 27, 2020

nice

By Edison M B Y

Jul 1, 2020

GOOD

By Deleted A

Jul 24, 2020

Me quede en la semana 4 y no me permite avanzar con el curso, cuando intento abrir un video no me lo permite, se vuelve a cargar automáticamente. En cuanto al contenido es muy útil e interesante, me gustaría poder acabarlo y aprender. Gracias profesor explica muy bien.

By mert b

Dec 3, 2021

I am strongly against making any proprietary software as a kind of mandatory course material and it's also expected in the assignment. Other than that "introduction to gis" part was useful for me. thanks.

By Anastasia A

Mar 12, 2020

It is a good course as an introduction to GIS, but please put subtitles to the videos or a translation of them so that the learning of Spanish speaking people can be faster and more fluid.

By Patrick B

May 29, 2021

This course seems to be a bit old. If we are to be using GIS online that it should be taught from that point of view. I think this needs to be updated.