Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Calculus by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
3,557 ratings

About the Course

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Top reviews

JP

Oct 9, 2023

Great course, the professor explains with excellent examples and the exercises really reinforce the material and are challenging. Thank you for offering this great courses from excellent universities.

CL

Nov 13, 2021

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement

my will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,096 Reviews for Introduction to Calculus

By Phat-Duy T

Feb 12, 2023

This is a truly great course for Calculus review. I really enjoy the course with easy to understand lectures and detailed notes with simple language for non-native English speakers to understand. I hope that University of Sydney and Associate Professor David Easdown would provide more intermediate and advanced level of calculus courses for us to understand deeper about the subject, especially for me as a student major on economics.

By Kevin K

Jun 26, 2023

The University of Sydney's Introduction to Calculus MOOC was very well organized. The video presentations were clearly well-rehearsed as they flowed smoothly and error-free. The instructor provided written notes (in .pdf format) that complemented the video lessons and were immensely helpful. The instructor's energy and enthusiasm made the topics interesting. The instructor promptly responded to discussion forum questions.

By Chin j t

Apr 1, 2021

the course content is really great, your visual aids are astounding and tremendously aid in enchancing understanding. The pace is good and explanation is thorough, well grounded and illuminating, You complement the lesson with real life examples which makes mathematics sound really useful. However, i think you should make the questions harder. I managed to finish all practice questions and graded questions over 4 days.

By Jorge C

Jun 11, 2024

This is my first time reviewing a product/class on Coursera and I can't recommend this product enough. I've completed Calculus I before and this was a really nice refresher course. Materials and notes are plentiful with the professor giving great explanations and examples for what each section encapsulates. You'll learn more accurately and in a much better way with this course over others that I've seen on here.

By aborucu

Apr 4, 2021

This is a pre-calc course and Instructor is highly motivating students to develop understanding of topics which were confusing for me. He does this by breaking subjects into small bite sizes. So I had the chance to both refresh and/or grasp missing concepts that hindered my understading of calculus. Of course it's not a full fledged course but it made me confidently pursue calculus topics of interest afterwards.

By Nikhil S

Aug 21, 2022

Prof. David is able to convey the fundamental of Calculus easily. It was easy to follow through the entire course. The summary at the end of each chapter helped me recall multiple techniques. The pdf note in each session is detailed. There was a proper synchronization across all the modules. Nothing felt out of place. I would recommend the course to anyone who can spend at least 3 days a week amidst other work.

By Alex B

Jan 5, 2024

"It's an amazing fact that no matter which circle I choose, no matter how small or how large, this ratio, P divided by D is the same. It's not obvious, it's a fact most people take for granted." -David Easdown "But if the general truths of Logic are of such a nature that when presented to the mind they at once command assent, wherein consists the difficulty of constructing the Science of Logic?" -George Boole

By Yuriy M

Jul 4, 2022

It is an excellent course. It is designed in such a way that you are gradually developed from 0 level in calculus to the level when you understand it. Every concept is explained in simple words and concepts so that you do not need to ask any help. After that course calculus became for me "a general thing for general people", not a monster for mathematicians

Looking forward for the next courses from this tutor

By manaranjan p

May 28, 2021

One of the best courses I have take so far. I was looking for a course which starts with some basics of precalculus and the course was exact fit. I have been working on ML for last 3/4 years and was looking to do a calculus course for a very long time. Very happy to find this course. The pace, content, explanation, practical tips, quizzes are perfect. Thanks Prof.David Easdown. You are amazing!

By Jerry H

Jan 25, 2023

This course is fantastic. I do not agree with those who commented that the lecturer only covered the main ideas while the quizzes were way too difficult and did not provide answers for learners. If you fully understand the key concept covered in the lectures, then you are supposed to solving those quizzes correctly. Otherwise, I would suggest you go through the notes and lectures again.

By Anton A

Sep 25, 2023

It turned out that this course was a perfect fit my needs. I've attended calculus class in the University, but at that time I didn't care much about understanding it. Now I finally can say that I understand the calculus concepts. Also now I feel unlocked from continue learning more advanced topics in math. This is a bliss to have an opportunity to learn this online and for free!

By fengxinxin

Sep 23, 2022

This course is sososo great! The professor illustrates every steps in details in order to make them accessible to students of different level!! SO KIND!! And the content of this course is also fruitful and progressive! Everyone should give it a try! The most important thing is that this course let me know the beauty of calculus that stimulates me to go deeper in the future.

By Sarah P

Feb 2, 2022

Incredible, Prof. Easdown is easily one of the best mathematics lecturers I have come across. Calm, crystal clear explanations which expose the student to the wonder of calculus without overwhelming them. I have tried many calculus courses, and this was the first that actually helped me feel like I was getting anywhere. Thank you so much! Highly recommended for anyone

By Niall C

Sep 12, 2023

An excellent course for learning or refreshing everything you need to start doing Calculus. The instructor is clear and the lectures are interesting, and he gives plenty of real life applications of the techniques taught. There are also helpful comments and discussions available in the forum, which I would encourage anyone who gets stuck to look through. Thank you !

By Tsai-Yun L

Mar 18, 2021

Best instructor ever - passionate, elegant, and smart! The teacher explained concepts and theories of calculus not only very clearly, but also elegantly. I really enjoyed this course. It is a very well planned and well paced introduction to calculus course. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to start learning calculus! And a big thank you to Prof. Easdown!

By erdem h

Mar 23, 2021

Good teaching methods applied in this course. The lecturer seems enthusiastic throughout and is well informed about the subjects he teaches. I liked in particular that harder questions were actually solved in the study materials and in the quizes were relatively a bit simpler ones. This way supposedely students are also likely to complete the course. Thank you.

By shazia a

Apr 15, 2023

Its very beneficial course for me. Its includes all basics concepts of mathematics. David Easdown expained each and every topic very well. I learnt a lot of concepts from all modules. I really enjoyed during this course by attempting challenging quizzes and assignments. Thanks cousera team who gave me a opportunity to attend this course. Thanks for certificate.

By Gabriel R

Feb 13, 2021

The course is excellent. The videos convey the concepts clearly, and concisely. The instructor conveys knowledge and passion about the subject. The notes are well laid out, and contain relevant examples. I really appreciate the extra module at the end of week 5 tying it together to physics, as it's exactly what I want to apply this knowledge base to. Thank you!

By Anil S

Jun 6, 2024

Simply a SUPERB course! I studied calculus many years ago at university and wanted to refresh my knowledge. The structure of the course is excellent with videos, notes and exercises to test your understanding. The course builds knowledge gradually and gets harder as you progress through it. I've gained an intuitive understanding of basic calculus. Thank you!

By Partha P

Apr 11, 2021

I took this course to refresh my university Calculus to learn Machine Learning and I can confidently say that this course on Calculus is the best I have taken so far. Very clearly explained. The exercises comprise of well selected questionnaires, which reinforce the learning further. Thank you Coursera, The University of Sydney and Professor David Easdown.

By CH Y

Dec 1, 2021

The course is even better than the courses I had taken when I was a college student.

I sincerely appreciate the professor's kind, careful, and easy explanations, which were enormously helpful for me to understand and remind the calculous.

I strongly recommend this course to every people who want to grab the core concept of calculous from the basic level.

By Andrew H

Dec 12, 2021

Very challenging, and I needed to reset deadlines multiple times, but excellent videos that slowly build up concepts with the hardest problems on practice quizzes. This was my first try at formal math in 21 years and I was able to pass. Much better experience than Calculus as a high schooler, when I dreaded it. Now I have confidence to pursue more.

By Manuel U C A

Apr 5, 2020

Un excelente curso donde no solo aprenderás Cálculo, sino desarrollaras otras habilidades matemáticas a medida que se avanza en el curso y por lo menos desde mi opinión aprender a ver el cálculo desde otra perspectiva y sus aplicaciones de la mente de unas de las instituciones más importantes del mundo. La verdad me voy muy satisfecho de este Curso.

By Yusuf E K

Aug 18, 2020

I really loved this course, with my bare Calculus knowledge from highschool. Thanks to the venerable lecturer, I have remembered all my knowledge from the scratch, and I think that I have done this by apprehending all the topics. Thanks Sydney University and Mr. Easdown, I am pleased for attending this priceless course! Greetings from Turkey.

By Pauline P

Jun 30, 2020

This was an excellent introduction to calculus. It was well presented, well set out and logically explained. I really enjoyed following each step, I found the quizzes and assessments a challenge, but with careful attention to the videos and notes not impossible. Thank you Professor Easdown, you have inspired me to dig deeper into calculus.