Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Calculus by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
3,553 ratings

About the Course

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Top reviews

JP

Oct 9, 2023

Great course, the professor explains with excellent examples and the exercises really reinforce the material and are challenging. Thank you for offering this great courses from excellent universities.

AF

Apr 8, 2022

An excellent course, especially if like me you had done some calculus in the past and wanted a refresher. David is an excellent, clear, and attentive tutor. I can't recommend him enough. Many thanks.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,096 Reviews for Introduction to Calculus

By Neil N

May 25, 2022

This was an excellent course. The instructor was too good - lucid, clear, and enthusiastic. He made complex ideas easy to understand and he definitely sparked a curiosity for learning calculus. He made it fun. I would rate it as one of the best online courses I have done so far.

By Cory M

Mar 5, 2022

The instructor was great. It was easy to understand difficult concepts (with practice), plenty of practice excersizes, and the professor was clearly passionate. I'm not a math guy, and while this was challenging for me, I absolutely learned and grew as a result of this course.

By Lance O

Sep 12, 2020

It is a long time since I have done such a course. I found that it was really valuable because it did not spoon feed me and made me go away to revise things I had long since forgotten. Really worthwhile not just for the content but the way in which it made me go about learning.

By Elvira N

Jan 11, 2024

This course was nota totally new to me, it was actually a review of my knowledge in Calculus which I did about 30 years ago. I loved the course, it was easy to follow, clear and brought understanding to a lot of mathematical issues which I didn't understand about 30 years ago.

By Connor W

Apr 6, 2023

This is an excellent course. David is a wonderful professor. His enthusiasm for the subject is infectious, and he explains the course content very clearly. I loved this course so much that I am going back to school to pursue a graduate degree in math. Thank you so much, David!

By Hernan D

May 2, 2020

The teacher of this course will motivate you to learn calculus. His teaching style is quite fantastic. He makes you feel like you are discovering new things. He is very polite and courteous and makes you feel comfortable learning math. Thank you Mr. Easdown for you great work!

By Jasleen

Jul 15, 2021

Extremely useful. I thoroughly enjoyed each and every lecture of this course. So many concepts related to Calculus got cleared . Very informative and properly sequenced course contents . Appreciable effort on the part of organizers. Great thanks to Professor David Easdown!

By Zhen Y L

May 26, 2020

The course arrangement is superb as it allows us to comprehend calculus progressively. As such , you won't feel overwhelmed and be able to appreciate calculus more. Highly recommend this course and it would be better if the audio for certain lessons can be slightly louder.

By EK

Dec 12, 2020

The course is incredible. Perfect balance between theoretical concepts and their implication in practice. I hope professor Easdown continues teaching courses on Calculus (now more on Advanced Calculus, please:)). Unfortunately, I couldn't find any online courses from him.

By Claire R

Sep 20, 2019

This course is very well designed and very intriguing. High recommend! I really like Mr.Easdown's lecturing sstyle, he somehow make math courses much more interesting than the ones I took before! Many thanks to Mr.Easdown! I do appreciate your help through out the course!

By Roxana G

Jun 1, 2020

Me gusto mucho las explicaciones breves y sencillas, los diversos ejemplos y situaciones hipotéticas que facilitaba la comprensión, también agradezco que en los foros se proporcionara ayuda para los ejercicios prácticos. No se me hizo pesado y lo disfruté bastante.

By Jay H

Apr 19, 2020

This is a great course. The explanations are clear in each video and the notes give the level of detail needed to consolidate the material. Occasionally it goes a little fast, but the Professor is very available and helpful in the discussions for each practice quiz.

By Udayan S

Apr 15, 2020

The course was amazing!! I enjoyed watching the videos, reading the notes and attempting the exercises. Mr. David Easdown is a wonderful teacher and I enjoyed each lecture. Overall, it was a wonderful experience, and I hope to pursue further courses in mathematics.

By Finnegan C

May 17, 2023

This course thoroughly covers every topic I needed and greatly improved my skills in precalculus and some calculus. It has helped me score very well on recent tests and was very enjoyable to complete. This instructor is fantastic and I can not recommend him enough.

By Simon C

Jun 26, 2020

Este curso me ayudo muchísimo a entender muchas cosas referente al calculo. Quiero agradecer a todas las Universidades y profesores que ponen sus conocimiento en pro de la comunidad y un agradecimiento especial al profe DAVID EASDOWN de la Universidad de SYDNEY .

By Kay

Mar 29, 2024

Great for introduction to calculus, even though the pacing is a little bit fast, Professor David's excellent teaching skills and way of visualizing the stuff accurately and simply made this a breeze for me. Thank you for this journey, Professor David and Coursera!

By Jose A G A

Oct 23, 2022

Thanks a lot, David! I have really enjoyed refreshing my knowledge that I studied more than 30 years ago and that I had very rusty. I have discovered (may be rediscovered) novel tricks and interpretations and the videos have been very illustrative and entertaining

By Brian D

May 25, 2022

This was an excellent way to brush up on pre-calculus mathematics and learn the reasoning behind calculus. Prof. Easdown was a great presenter and the lectures/notes were always thoughtfully prepared. I'll definitely be taking further courses in the future!

-Brian-

By Mebin G M

Jun 24, 2020

Great teaching and notes, it helped me explore many basics in calculus that I couldn't understand in last 30 years of my life. Real meaning of what is calculus,why it is important. Thanking the tutor on this occasion, who transformed me to a better maths aspirant.

By Anvithraj R

Jun 22, 2020

This course helped me familiarise myself with the wonderful field of Calculus and also introduced me to mathematical analysis and mathematical modelling. it also enhanced my problem-solving skills in a way that will benefit me in other complex mathematical topics.

By Yu K H

May 25, 2020

A great course for knowing some basics of calculus. I only have high school knowledge of trignometry and functions but I still manage to understand the topics taught here. Its very good for the teacher to explain the rationale and good use of graphs to illustrate.

By Gal R

Aug 22, 2021

 A Brilliant course, constructed thoughtfully and creatively. I was delighted and I have learnt a lot. The videos, notes and exercises complimented each other perfectly. David is a great and enthusiastic teacher and was quick to respond to my questions. Thanks!

By yuru w

Dec 3, 2019

Professor David Easdown's calculus course is rather enlightening and insightful. More importantly, he showed the calculus in a fun and enjoyable way. Plus, his enthusiasm is contagious and makes me absorbed to his calculus world! Millions of thanks to David:-)

By Mai, T D A

Mar 25, 2022

Thank you so much for providing this wonderful calculus course! There are a lot of information for a short course. I still need to review materials and practice more even I completed the course. Wish to have more problems for practicing!

Thank you so much!

By Iakov S

Feb 16, 2023

Very interesting course. Perfect for beginners as well as for those who'd like to refresh their knowledge of calculus. Thanks a lot to the lecturer. It's a pity that David has no other courses here. It would be nice to have a more advanced course by him too.