Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Calculus by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
3,574 ratings

About the Course

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Top reviews

SV

Invalid date

Exceptional course. Fantastic explaining by Professor Easdown, I wish more teachers were as clear as he is, and as kind and thoughtful towards their students. Many, many thanks in case you see this.

JJ

Invalid date

excellent course to refresh or build understanding. Clear and concise videos supported by notes and examples. The forum hints for exercises and answering of questions is timely and helpful.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,101 Reviews for Introduction to Calculus

By Dhruv A

Dec 4, 2022

Professor David Eastdown taught and explained each and every topic of the course as promised, and with the utmost clarity. I am extremely grateful to you sir, and everyone involved in the creation of such a lovely Introduction to Calculus !

By Caroline M

Jul 12, 2020

The course is nicely paced with a great blend of challenge and guidance. Prof. Easdown shows an infectious enthusiasm for the subject that excludes no one. Honestly felt encouraged to do everything asked of me. Just the refresher I needed.

By Michael G

May 28, 2020

I enjoyed the course. Professor Easdown is easy to listen to clearly explains the concepts. I took calculus nearly 50 years ago but never used it and found that in this 5 week course, I got a good handle back on the basics of calculus.

By K. S

Oct 26, 2019

This has been a fantastic course. Fast paced and covers a major portion of the landscape. The passion of Mr. Easdown towards Maths and Calculus is amazing to watch and hear. Would love to go through a similar course in advanced calculus

By Mihai S I

Feb 9, 2023

A great "Introduction to Calculus" course, the information is presented very clearly and there are plenty of practice exercises to develop the needed skills.

Professor David Easdown is great at explaining concepts in an accessible way.

By Kenneth B

Jul 30, 2022

Excellent course, clearly explained and illustrated. Never to fast for the student and each area covered to provide a decent knolwedge level to continue on to further calculus courses.

Rarely saythis about Math, but this was enjoyable

By Ahmet L

Mar 16, 2022

before course, i was guessing that i know calculus but i was wrong. The instructor was awesome. He teached me the logic. I couldn't solve every problem but i know the logic behind the calculus anymore. That matters. Thank you David!

By Luis R G S

Aug 9, 2020

This is an excellent course, with a lot of examples, exercises, and a great presentation from professor Easdown. Every topic is explained with a detailed explanation and the charisma of the professor. I really recommend this course.

By Chris

Jun 25, 2021

The teacher taught deeply and explain things carefully, he broke down formulas that students had to memorise in school. He also provided notes so that students can review and learn more. This is the course I wished I've had ealier.

By John A E

Oct 23, 2020

As a civil engineering student, studying calculus is a great way to start the career. Even though it challenges me a lot, I hope this is a way for engineering students to study this kind of course. Thank you also to the instructor!

By Omar A

Feb 6, 2024

It's a GREAT course, Just pause and ponder and play with your pen and notebook and try as you can to read the notes after the videos especially when the instructor mentions to do so, and if you got stuck while solving the quizzes.

By Jorge E M L V

Mar 12, 2019

Muy bueno este curso donde aprenderás todo lo relacionado con la introducción al cálculo lo recomiendo mucho para aquellos estudiantes que se inician en carreras de Ciencias e Ingeniería y quieren aprender cálculo de variable real

By Sakonlapath K

Aug 11, 2022

I want free certificate the first time when applying for the course was told me will I finished my course i will recive a free certificate. But now why can't I . I want certificateeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh fuck

By Rakshita D

May 24, 2020

Great course, helped me build a comprehensive understanding of calculus. Highly recommended if you want to start learning Calculus. The practice quizzes after every topic helped build the concept which was taught in the videos.

By Jade P

Jun 9, 2021

Great start to learning Calculus. I found the pressure of the classroom intimidating for learning Math. Here, videos that I can rewind and take at my pace, really helped me grasp the concepts. Thanks to the Prof and Coursera

By Richard T

Feb 3, 2021

I last did calculus 60 years ago and remembered enjoying it. This was a great review of the subject and knocked off a lot of the rust. David did a fantastic job both with his video presentations and with the course notes.

By Bia P

Feb 12, 2023

Exceptional professor! Not just knowledge is shared through the course but also passion and desire to commit and do better.

I only wonder if Professor Easdown has made any other courses or even a continuation of this one.

By Sarfuddin A T

Nov 14, 2020

Well organized course content, extensive exercise and vivid lecture by the Professor has made course a successful online platform of learning. I 'd like attend more courses like this to increase my capacity in teaching.

By Hieu N

Dec 23, 2023

What a great course. The instructor is very passionate about the subject and was able to break down complex concepts into intuitive and easy to understand explanations. This makes calculus textbooks such a waste of time.

By Dmitry E B

Sep 8, 2021

Assuming a completeness of topics for the introduction to calculus, this is an exemplary course due to the clarity of teaching and holistic integrity of the topics. Thank you, David Easdown from the University of Sydney!

By Basel K

Sep 5, 2020

Great Job, Introduction to Calculus if very important course, Functions and the applications with functions, derivation and integration with this course clear and easy.

I hope to complete to reach to advanced calculus.

By Keyue C

Nov 28, 2021

This is a comprehensive but accessible introduction. The instructor is very enthusiastic and made me feel relieved when studying difficult math concepts. I love all the animation, which made math easier to understand!

By Juan C R

Oct 20, 2020

This course was phenomenal. I was able to learn calculus in a way I had never experienced before. Thank you to proffesor David and his team, and if you are reading this, I encourage you to take this wonderful course.

By Sergey S

Sep 25, 2019

Awesome instructor and explaining very well! I learned a lot. I wish Prof. David Easdown was teaching other more advanced calculus courses. I would take all the courses he teaches. Thank you very much, Prof. Easdown!