Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Calculus by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
3,561 ratings

About the Course

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Top reviews

JP

Oct 9, 2023

Great course, the professor explains with excellent examples and the exercises really reinforce the material and are challenging. Thank you for offering this great courses from excellent universities.

OM

Sep 26, 2020

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,096 Reviews for Introduction to Calculus

By İbrahim B

Jul 25, 2023

I started this course at the end of the 2022, having a little knowledge about calculus. Now I know the fundamental theorem of calculus and a lot more aboout this topic. The course also help me to improve my english. Course instructor, David Easdown, is excellent. There were no time that I did not understand him.

By Zatum M

Jul 15, 2022

Took this course to fill in gaps in my calculus basics prior to taking a postgrad module. Found it very useful. The instructor covers the ideas and intuitions behind the theorems and concepts in a clear and systematic way. He did a great job! I now feel that I have a better foundation to build up on my calculus.

By Bognár A

May 24, 2020

Professor Easdown is one of the most enthusiastic teachers I've ever had the pleasure of learning from. His love for mathematics is very contagious and will make this 5-6 weeks seem much shorter and much more pleasant. I highly recommend the course for anyone interested in calculus and mathematics in general.

By George G

Jun 3, 2020

Loved the course. Professor Easdown treats calculus as it ought to be treated - it's magic! I took the class to brush up on my calculus after many years removed and it didn't disappoint. Thanks so much professor Easdown for putting together a well-structured and cogent class. I highly recommend you take it.

By Mattia D S

Nov 28, 2022

This course has been a good occasion to review some pre-calculus algebra and some calculus topics and to learn new items.

David Easdown has been able to make concepts relatively easy, though sometimes some topics would benefit of some additional material.

Strongly recommended for students from grammar school

By Daniel B

Oct 24, 2020

After taking this course I felt like I learned a lot in a short period of time. The first two weeks of the course were a very good review of the important math I learned in high school. The last 3 weeks made me feel as though I had a good foundation to learn more about calculus and higher levels of math.

By Munira R

Sep 12, 2020

Most helpfull and very recommend for every Mathematics student who want to learn how to draw graph from curve equation and all type of graph....also helpfull for learn and create intrest in calculus..that topic will be good...and the professor is amazing in teaching..they make you solve problems easily...

By Pluta M

Sep 28, 2023

I think it is very good introduction to calculus. Videos and notes are great and interesting. Quizes are not very hard, if someone watched the videos and read notes. Maybe calculus is not very fun, but this course really makes all this things interesting and gives hope that learning calculus is possible.

By Darren C

Mar 13, 2021

A very good course, very interesting and challenging. It is 12 years since I've studied any mathematics at a higher level so this was a real learning curve. The last week in particular was very challenging. But thank you for the course and keeping my afternoons occupied during the current UK lockdown!

By Federico M

Mar 14, 2022

Very insteresting course, well explained in detail, walking the student through the understanding process of the subject, the teacher David Easdown gives every lecture without taking anything for granted and providing the student with the resources necessary to get to the main point of every lesson

By Olivia G A L

Jan 6, 2022

This course is easy to understand and includes accompanying notes. The notes are very useful for doing the exercises. Also, the most challenging part is the practice quiz. But, don't worry! If you understand the material from the videos, I'm sure you can do every quiz in this course :) Fighting!

By Rand S

Aug 16, 2020

Challenging towards the end, but the first couple of weeks really prepare you for it. Although the only flaw is that, it's so much content!! I do not regret it though, taking this course. I'm a high school student and I found this very informative and preparatory before starting Cal in grade 12.

By 임래영

Sep 27, 2020

Thanks Professor Easdown! You are the best teacher I've ever met. The course is always easy to comprehend and succinct and I can feel your joy for studying mathematics. It made me feel joy too, in studying mathematics. I really look forward to your new course in advanced calculus. Thanks a lot.

By Deleted A

Sep 18, 2021

Really sweet and passionate instructor that inspire interest about the topics with clear explanation and good examples. The course also shows some real life situtations that we could apply the topics, and also look at the proofs of some famous formulas that we have all knew for our whole life.

By Sateewan

Feb 15, 2021

The course is very helpful for me, within few days I have revise my whole course and particularly, also learnt new concepts and skills. During pandemic situation this is one of the great platforms to learn basic and advance skills.

Thanks to the team of coursera along with sir David Easdown.

By Valentin A

Jan 26, 2022

One of the best courses i've been completed so far on this platform, helped me to refresh my knowledge in basic calculus. Instructor is very passionate and only thing i've been missed is more difficult practical examples. They should be optional anyway. Wish there be more courses like this.

By Daniel H

Dec 11, 2020

An excellent course! Sometimes difficult although rewarding. If you have the desire to learn and push forward you will find success. This course is well paced and the teacher's approach is clear and concise. I feel that I actually learned and have better understanding of the maths involved.

By Mauro S

Jul 30, 2020

An excellent instructor and a very good course. It was tough, but I made it. I found the strategy of providing accompanying notes to the videos particularly effective, and something I suggest to all instructors on Coursera, especially those engaged in mathematics-related courses. Thank you.

By Howard C

Jul 11, 2019

This is really a super great course for both beginners or advanced learners. The instructor help clarity many important Calculus concepts from basic to advance level. I'll definitely review it again when I got time, really thankful for making Calculus easy to understand. Thank you so much!

By Robert H S J

Nov 5, 2021

The instuctor, David Easdown, is excellent. But even though this was a refresher for me - I took advanced calculus some decades ago - I found it very demanding. The course was absorbing and fit my needs, but I think it might overwhelm someone who had not already been exposed to calculus.

By Daniel W

Dec 29, 2020

Over the years I have taken two semesters of calculus at university and one MOOC one line. This is by far the best calculus course I have taken. The instructor is a brilliant teacher and knows his topic very well. I wish I could have had him as a teach when I attended college years ago!

By Joel P

May 23, 2020

I am a high school math teacher taking this course as review. It was a great way to get back into Calculus. The videos and notes help immensely. The instructor does a great job of balancing practical examples while making sure to challenge those that would like to be challenged.

By Shu Y

Mar 12, 2022

I started studying first after like 15 years, but the lectures were great to refresh from high school math and lectures were really well-made to understand complex ideas.

English is not my first language, but I could easily to understand with lots of animations and clear expressions.

By steve s

Nov 15, 2021

I have only positive things to say about the course design and the instructor. I thought Prof. Easdown was helpful and enthusiastic. His enthusiasm in particular was infectious. I enjoyed the real world examples of the principles being explained. The whole experience was enjoyable.

By Mahmoud S

May 3, 2021

I couldn't purchase a certificate, but I would like to, just how good the course is.

Prof. David's approach to teaching the content is inspiring and exciting. He's also one of the humblest instructors on this platform.

I am glad I was taught this subject under his instruction and help.