Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Calculus by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
3,577 ratings

About the Course

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Top reviews

OM

Invalid date

I have completed quite a few courses on Coursera. This is by far the best instructor. I really hope David is going to do teach another Coursera course soon - I will sign up regardless of the content!

SV

Invalid date

Exceptional course. Fantastic explaining by Professor Easdown, I wish more teachers were as clear as he is, and as kind and thoughtful towards their students. Many, many thanks in case you see this.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 1,103 Reviews for Introduction to Calculus

By Asim Z

Dec 7, 2020

I am really very thankful to COUSERA and THE UNIVERSITY OF SYDNEY which give me a lot of learning through the course Introduction to CALCULUS and I am also very thankful to my honorable tutor.

By CHUAN W

Jul 31, 2020

Thank you so much for this course! I really like it. It smoothly take you into the world of calculus without any barrier. All you need for prerequisite is some practice in algebra manipulation.

By José E d S N

Jul 4, 2020

Um curso lindo para aqueles que estão na universidade ou estudando a disciplina de introdução ao cálculo. Vale a pena, conceitos bem definidos e é o melhor curso de cálculo que já tive acesso.

By Hector I L

Feb 27, 2021

This is an excellent course that will provide you with the basic reasoning and algorithms, required for Calculus. The course was not too challenging, but was not easy. I highly recommend it!

By julie

Jul 31, 2023

excellent course to refresh or build understanding. Clear and concise videos supported by notes and examples. The forum hints for exercises and answering of questions is timely and helpful.

By Anthony S

Oct 4, 2021

Professor Easdown is an excellent instructor. He has an obvious passion for the subject and teaches with great enthusiasm. His explanations are clear and examples are helpful.

Thank you!

By An B

Sep 10, 2020

An amazing course with detailed explanation of fundamental techniques in Calculus. I would highly recommend other students trying this course before taking any advanced studies in Calculus.

By Nathan O

Jul 18, 2021

This is a course that I would definitely recommend for anyone trying to understand the fundamentals of Calculus, It is well taught and is appropriate for all types of mathematics learners.

By Murat E G

Jan 24, 2022

Excellent course! Prof Easdown makes the material very interesting with real world examples and historical context. I think you will love this course even if math is not your fav subject.

By Paul F

Apr 30, 2020

I took this course to brush up as I took calculus 3 many years ago. I am very pleased with the instruction and the course overall although it has been a humbling experience! ;) Thank you!

By Hari T

Jun 7, 2021

The exercises are challenging enough and the materials(note) provided is good for self study. The course is a bit lengthy, I think. The videos tutorials are great. Great way of teaching

By Kevin D

Aug 10, 2021

I really appreciated some of the new insights hat helped me to further develop my understanding of Calculus and pre-calculus concepts. I recommend taking this course with David Easdown

By Maria R R G

Mar 26, 2022

I really enjoyed this course. The material that comes with each video has its topics well defined, the examples are clear and the writing is clear and concise. Thank you for sharing.

By Marcin D

Jan 8, 2021

Fantastic teacher, talks about complicated subjects in interested way and explains evrything clearly. Very well thought out exercises which builds up on the knowledge gathered along.

By HAIBO W

Aug 12, 2020

This is a fantastic course which teaches me a lot about a new topic-Calculus from beginning (Precalculus) to advanced calculus. Connections between the daily life are well developed.

By Edgar C F C

Jun 23, 2024

I enjoyed this course from the beginning. I loved how Professor David explained the topics. I recommend this course to those like me who want to refresh their knowledge of calculus.

By Kowshik D

Jul 12, 2020

I have taken this course to revise my knowledge and to learn in-depth about calculus. This course helped me a lot. The lecture was great and the instructor is very friendly. Thanks!

By PRAKASH Y

Jul 7, 2020

very informative and very conceptual course. Thanku very much to coursera and University of Sydney for providing this opportunity.Thanku very much or gratitude to course instructor.

By Basant C

Jun 24, 2020

Very interesting and innovative ideas of calculus have been taught. Really very good platform to learn calculus. All the topics are explained in very easy way. Thanks team Coursera.

By Nihar M K

May 25, 2021

This is an excellent course. From this course I learned a lots of concepts and formulas. This course has been very effective in enhancing my knowledge and creating my good profile.

By IVAN F

Mar 9, 2021

An excellent course, perfect for those who wish not only to employ calculus, but also to truly grasp its most fundamental notions, indeed most often by the use of common intuition.

By Deleted A

Apr 13, 2020

Probably, one of the best calculus course that sparked my interest in mathematics. Professor Easdown did a great job of explaining it, and, the problems were never easy! Thank you!

By Audrey Y

Mar 30, 2020

This course teaches students from very fundamental skills to harder concepts in calculus. The videos are clear, and the teacher is patient. I feel sooo great after completing them!

By Susan V

Feb 19, 2021

Excellent organizatiion and progression of ideas and skills. Best mathematics teacher I have ever been taught by. Especially enjoyed relating of ideas to history of mathematics.

By Douglas M S

Feb 9, 2023

Even I don't being a native English speaker, his explanations are extremely helpful for anyone starting with Calculus and wanting to understand the foundations. Thank you, David!