Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Calculus by The University of Sydney

4.8
stars
3,561 ratings

About the Course

The focus and themes of the Introduction to Calculus course address the most important foundations for applications of mathematics in science, engineering and commerce. The course emphasises the key ideas and historical motivation for calculus, while at the same time striking a balance between theory and application, leading to a mastery of key threshold concepts in foundational mathematics. Students taking Introduction to Calculus will: • gain familiarity with key ideas of precalculus, including the manipulation of equations and elementary functions (first two weeks), • develop fluency with the preliminary methodology of tangents and limits, and the definition of a derivative (third week), • develop and practice methods of differential calculus with applications (fourth week), • develop and practice methods of the integral calculus (fifth week)....

Top reviews

JP

Oct 9, 2023

Great course, the professor explains with excellent examples and the exercises really reinforce the material and are challenging. Thank you for offering this great courses from excellent universities.

CL

Nov 13, 2021

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement

my will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 1,098 Reviews for Introduction to Calculus

By Min Z

Dec 31, 2020

I've learned these concepts in high school, but I forgot everything because I barely used mathematics in my life after graduating from high school. Professor David Easdown explains these concepts in a constructive and logical way which makes math less elusive. I love listening to these lectures! Highly recommend other students who want to improve fundamental calculus.

By Lachlan W

Jun 11, 2020

David has been incredibly helpful over the duration of this course. The process of videos and detailed notes before consolidating learning have been super useful! I highly recommend this course to anyone who is looking to step into University math or who has an interest in calculus.

Although it does get hard, I'm sure you will have just as much or more fun than I did.

By Lintha S

Oct 2, 2020

Excellent course! Clear explanations, comprehensive (includes a module on pre-calculus so it is a great way to refresh memory for those who have had some prior education as well as beginners!), engaging quizzes and a very helpful discussion forum. Also well-paced - 5 weeks is not too long nor to short! Definitely recommend as an introductory course on calculus.

By Kyle R

Jun 20, 2020

Very nicely organized introduction to Calculus. I felt comfortable taking this course after having been away from mathematics courses for a few years. The instructor is excellent uses some great applied examples of different concepts. I could have gone without a few of the proofs in the second week on derivatives and the week on integrals. Really good overall

By Omar M

Sep 1, 2020

This is without a doubt the best online course about calculus. If you are looking to build some strong foundations or get a refresher, don't think about it, you are not going to find a better course. Shoutout to Professor Easdown and the team that built this course, you've really done a superb job! This course is thorough, high-quality, and best of all, FUN!

By Brittney H

Jul 9, 2020

Great course! Professor Easdown is so engaging - his enthusiasm for calculus and the material kept me going when it got tough. I had an introduction to calculus when taking a machine learning course, and decided that I wanted to understand the fundamentals better. This was the perfect course to choose to get down the basics! Thank you Professor Easdown : )

By Yasoda S K

May 2, 2020

An excellent course, which provides great insights. Although I think myself as good at mathematics, it proves to me I am not. Most of the quizzes are designed very effectively to test the understanding. I really sense the challenge while answering graded quizzes. The material instructor provides is really helpful for understanding and revising concepts

By Charles W

Jun 17, 2020

Professor Easdown's obvious enthusiasm is matched only by his attention to detail. I'm thoroughly impressed at how well he breaks down each and every concept into clear, concise explanations that successively build on each other. I honestly wasn't sure what to expect from calculus, but I now feel that I have a solid understanding of the subject matter.

By Michael d H 

Dec 8, 2020

This course has been my “Covid” companion for the last 8 months. It has kept me sane. The instructor (David Easdown) is essentially what makes this course. His dedication and knowledge is what drives this to be the best experience, for me at any rate, and from what I read here, and others of a lifetime.

By Mattia C

Apr 28, 2020

Very, very, well explained, for everyone (even for me, without a strong math background). A lot of exercises that helps to fix the knowledges and a detailed notes for every argument. A lot of help directly from the instructor in the discussion forum. One of the best courses I ever attended.

By Maahir J

Apr 20, 2020

Exactly what I needed! Clear, concise explanations covering a wide array of topics. Moreover, the professor's visible mathematical passion and enthusiasm made the course all the more interesting. It is definitely the most structured and intuitive dive into Calculus!

By Alimukhamed T

Aug 5, 2019

Simply - lean way to become higher than average in calculus. Love the course with its subject and material structure. Lecturer explains all the stuff lovely and with passion. Music introduction deserves separate appreciation. Thanks a lot!

By Hércules R

May 25, 2020

For the first time, I was able to practice and learn Calculus in a clear way. This course gave me the opportunity to understand the applications of derivatives and integrals in a way I never did before.

By Christopher L

Nov 14, 2021

thanks coursera and Professor David Easdown for suitable instruction and friendly methodology after calculus which course to carry in advancement

my will is to undergoes with chemistry engineering

By Nicholas F A

Jun 14, 2020

A good recap of important mathematical concepts and and different perspectives, providing interesting elucidation, to what is already known. Thank you for this course, it was superbe.

By Jared E

Oct 21, 2020

Very thorough, with an exceptional instructor. Hands down the best instructor I've ever seen on Coursera, showing both enthusiasm for the material and for education.

By Denis P

Oct 7, 2020

I’ve been teaching science for 31 years in a highschool. This course was really a good way to refresh my mind. Moreover, the professor was outstanding.

By William B

Aug 7, 2021

For the most part, wonderful course. Great instructor and good progression of topics. I only wish there was a bit more instruction when it came to actually writing out how examples were solved. Often we would go through great examples, but I would be left missing one or two steps that were skipped over or were described orally, but not on paper. When I would go back to my notes I would not remember "what he said" about a step. This may be an issue with my note taking, as I often had difficulty knowing which examples to copy word for word, and which to not spend too much time on. As a result, however, I spent hours taking notes in hopes to retain all the information, and I still had several times where something was missing. That being said, I sadly don't feel that I have a full grasp on the final week's materials. Well organized course, I just wish I had know/was given proper instructions as to how to fully decipher the complex material. This is where having a real university instructor with office hours would be optimal.

By Mathew B

Oct 14, 2020

A great course and in particular a good lead into calculus if you haven't been exposed to high school mathematical methods equivalent. As I had come out of high school only having done general maths; I thoroughly enjoyed how this course was structured with clear lectures, notes and backed up by the many practice exercises available. Best of luck to anyone else who undertakes this course, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

By Kaminskaya S

Jan 29, 2021

I've complited 50% of the course and now I'm thinking to drop it. There are some reasons to do it. Firstly, the materials are vague, lectures are messy and professor tries to cover too many different topics with no profound explanation. Secodly, during the course I was made to read extra materials to find answers for my questions. I'm really disappointed :(

4 stars because precalculus part is good enough.

By Deleted A

Mar 7, 2022

I did not put my hands on mathematics for a long time. The Intorduction to Calculus course has helped me regain my fundamentals of mathematics. I recommend this course for those who are looking forward to taking difficult courses (such as Vector Calculus, Differentail Equations, and Matrix Algebra) because this course builds a basic knowledge for students.

By Luca S

Jan 30, 2022

Good review of introductory calculus. Lecture materials and notes are a little bit spotty for people who are new to calculus - I found myself supplementing with some additional online resources and my old calc I textbook) -- but the material is presented well and I learned some things that I missed when I took calculus in school many years ago.

By Luke M

Dec 2, 2021

Instructor was great, notes and videos were helpful. Would help if there was a set of solutions for each quiz, but the instructor does a great job of explaining any problems. Sometimes, my screen would go black when I paused a video, which made it difficult to follow along in challenging exercises, but overall was a solid course.

By Will T

Sep 12, 2020

Interesting and clear instruction, with a fair balance of basic and challenging review quiz problems. The (relative) brevity of the course meets the objectives of an introduction, and the clarity of instruction leaves one wishing for greater breadth and depth...

By Erqing X

Oct 8, 2019

Very participant-friendly course with excellent teaching and gradual difficulty adding, but some parts seem to be too basic, especially for Chinese students in the pre-calculus part, which undermines the efficiency of teaching.