Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP by Google Cloud

3.8
stars
200 ratings
71 reviews

About the Course

This course is for finance professionals, investment management professionals, and traders. Alternatively, this course can be for machine learning professionals who seek to apply their craft to trading strategies. At the end of the course you will be able to do the following: - Understand the fundamentals of trading, including the concept of trend, returns, stop-loss and volatility - Understand the differences between supervised/unsupervised and regression/classification machine learning models - Identify the profit source and structure of basic quantitative trading strategies - Gauge how well the model generalizes its learning - Explain the differences between regression and forecasting - Identify the steps needed to create development and implementation backtesters - Use Google Cloud Platform to build basic machine learning models in Jupyter Notebooks To be successful in this course, you should have a basic competency in Python programming and familiarity with pertinent libraries for machine learning, such as Scikit-Learn, StatsModels, and Pandas. Experience with SQL will be helpful. You should have a background in statistics (expected values and standard deviation, Gaussian distributions, higher moments, probability, linear regressions) and foundational knowledge of financial markets (equities, bonds, derivatives, market structure, hedging)....

Top reviews

MS

Jan 30, 2020

Excellent! But, I am missing some of the prerequisites since I just wanted to take a chance and try things out, but feel like proceeding further might lead to some stumbling blocks.

AA

Jan 13, 2020

Good course that gives a lot of breadth as an introduction to machine learning in finance. Well put together

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 69 Reviews for Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP

By Albert W D P

Jan 13, 2020

I have taken multiple courses on Coursera. This course had particular strengths and weaknesses. For strengths, I certainly learned a fair amount from the course, particularly as it applied to ARIMA models for finance. For weaknesses, the course seemed to have been somewhat haphazardly thrown together. Week 4, the last week, was particularly poor. The lectures had little to do with one another and appeared pulled from multiple other sources. One was geared for people with advanced skills in mathematics and machine learning and was way out of my, and most people's, wheelhouse for learning.

By Silviu M

Dec 27, 2019

Rather good content but I believe it is not always presented in the right order. In addition, some of the revision questions were extremely superficial. Last, I really don't like lecturers reading out the content from their laptops. I can do that by myself!

By SENTHIL V K

Jan 09, 2020

good introductory to ML and AI. however in the context of mostly trading, which is typically a regression problem. useful for some one who is new to ML and looking to learn or get exposed to possible use cases of ML and AI. Advanced users, probably know most of these techniques

By Martin S

Jan 30, 2020

Excellent! But, I am missing some of the prerequisites since I just wanted to take a chance and try things out, but feel like proceeding further might lead to some stumbling blocks.

By Andrew

Jan 13, 2020

Good course that gives a lot of breadth as an introduction to machine learning in finance. Well put together

By Ricardo B

Jan 22, 2020

Maybe Week 4 can be Week 1. It has the description of the tools used in the rest of the weeks.

By Arunkumar M

Jan 13, 2020

Great introduction for people who want to get started in ML, GCP and Fin Tech

By Roberto R

Jan 09, 2020

Great start material for ML and Cloud Computing

By Steve H

Jan 16, 2020

Good intro to ML and using GCP.

By Seshadri S K

Jan 14, 2020

Great course with Basics

By Kar T Q

Feb 01, 2020

Excellent introduction

By Juan R M O

Jan 09, 2020

A lot of possibilities

By Raguram S

Feb 08, 2020

Great Course

By Carlos V

Jan 20, 2020

Good course on the applications of ML to stock trading, examples are quite nice and the labs provide explanations on how to utilize the ML libraries available, recommended for anyone interested on more time-series type of analysis and ML

By Gabija

Feb 02, 2020

Giving 4 stars as there were some technical problems with AI Platform in week 3 and could not access the lab work, which is pretty disappointing.

By Marcos F

Jan 21, 2020

A good intro to machine learning in finance. I does not goes very deep, but hat some useful exercises and practice with google cloud.

By Samuel T

Jan 15, 2020

Some of the content in Week 4, might be better placed earlier in the course. Other than that it was a great learning experience.

By Anirban S

Jan 19, 2020

Introduces concepts in a lucid way albeit depending on some prerequisite knowledge at times.

By Rodrigo L D

Feb 19, 2020

Good introduction to ML and GCP, shallow content on Trading

By jamesguo

Feb 15, 2020

a bit too easy, looking forward to next courses

By Henry M

Jan 19, 2020

Good introduction

By Alexey L

Jan 19, 2020

First 3 weeks were quite good, although I found lack of lab practice. The time limitations on using GCP account were slightly pushing to complete it fast without having time for thorough thinking and experimenting. Although they could be restarted - the work had to be recreated again when this happened. Last week was very shallow and non-consequent and looked like it should be the first week as there were explanations of ML and GCP AI Notebooks. Which had been used during already during the first 3 weeks. Although I'm impressed with GCP platform and its AI capabilities, I felt like it had been highly advertised and selling though the course, where my personal preference would be learning more of algorithms and experimenting and using GCP just as one a tool.

By Peixi Z

Jan 10, 2020

Like the finance aspect of things but the machine learning part seems to be pieced together from other lecture series and doesn't have great relevance to the trading topic. Also I am not here to learn the way Google do things albeit its power. You can run a separate ad channel if you want but why Coursera?

By mohammadreza s

Feb 16, 2020

the platform they chose for submitting homework was not very well. most of the time it took me 15min to get to the platform to code the homework. also, it doesn't dig deep into topics, which is fine because it is a comprehensive course.

By Nikolas M

Jan 14, 2020

Decent intro for ML but very limited in how it relates to trading. I would not say I feel comfortable creating an algo after this course. Also, felt very much like a Google ad quite often.