Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP by Google Cloud

4.0
stars
819 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn about the fundamentals of trading, including the concept of trend, returns, stop-loss, and volatility. You will learn how to identify the profit source and structure of basic quantitative trading strategies. This course will help you gauge how well the model generalizes its learning, explain the differences between regression and forecasting, and identify the steps needed to create development and implementation backtesters. By the end of the course, you will be able to use Google Cloud Platform to build basic machine learning models in Jupyter Notebooks. To be successful in this course, you should have advanced competency in Python programming and familiarity with pertinent libraries for machine learning, such as Scikit-Learn, StatsModels, and Pandas. Experience with SQL is recommended. You should have a background in statistics (expected values and standard deviation, Gaussian distributions, higher moments, probability, linear regressions) and foundational knowledge of financial markets (equities, bonds, derivatives, market structure, hedging)....

Top reviews

AK

May 28, 2020

Very interesting course, I totally agree that there are very few courses that cover time-series analysis. I haven't tried BigQuery before. Looking forward to next courses in this specialization.

MS

Jan 29, 2020

Excellent! But, I am missing some of the prerequisites since I just wanted to take a chance and try things out, but feel like proceeding further might lead to some stumbling blocks.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 221 Reviews for Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP

By John Q

Mar 2, 2020

of all the courses I've taken at Coursera, and I admit many times I took on too many courses at once and only partially finished. .....this one was the worst. Poorly put together, almost a mish-mash. Lectures that had a true information content of maybe 20%, presenters who on video were simply reading a script, Quizzes that were trivial to pass, Exercises/Labs that were no better than copy-paste exercises (or typing exercises if you felt that represented value). It's like they had to put together *something* for a 4 week course, so each part of the team got one of those weeks, ... and no one ever got together to review the overall gestalt. And, some of the videos were clearly coddled together from other only semi-randomly related courses. I shudder to think what would happen to Coursera if more of their courses were like this. A major FAIL for online learning.

By Pedro S

Jun 7, 2020

Not very well structured, not coding explanation or training, you can fail the quiz as many times you like, re do them 100 times, and get a perfect score. Some concepts are well explained, but for example, when that guy explained about the neural networks, he started talking as if I was a expert on neural networks. I wont be posting this certificate on my Linkedin account, because after doing this course, I do not feel that I have learn enough to say that I understand ML.

By Deleted A

Jan 18, 2020

The course is mostly an advertisement for google cloud. What little there is about ML is a freshman 101 course — targeted at someone who has no idea, not practitioners as the syllabus suggests. But mostly, it’s about google cloud.

By Dan B

Mar 4, 2022

Its really a mess - screenshots are outdated, quizes have typos, materials are incomplete, but mostly the videos are largely incomprehnsible when viewed in sequence. This needs a editors run through the clean up the material.

By Nicolo P

Sep 19, 2021

No way for me to unenroll for this course and it hasn't even been 14 days. Coursera needs to do something about this

By Red R

Nov 10, 2022

Labs Malfunction

By SENTHIL V K

Jan 8, 2020

good introductory to ML and AI. however in the context of mostly trading, which is typically a regression problem. useful for some one who is new to ML and looking to learn or get exposed to possible use cases of ML and AI. Advanced users, probably know most of these techniques

By Sophie C

Jul 9, 2023

Comprehensive overview of the application of ML in trading. I learned time series forecasting and ARIMA. The world of quantitative trading is much more exciting than I thought. There are a lot of room for creative future algorithms.

By DeWitt G

May 13, 2020

Although I would have liked to see some examples of these models actually working in production, this course is a great introduction to the principles of using Google Cloud Tools to build machine learning models for trading.

By Anton K

May 28, 2020

Very interesting course, I totally agree that there are very few courses that cover time-series analysis. I haven't tried BigQuery before. Looking forward to next courses in this specialization.

By Yun P

May 1, 2023

The insights shared into trading are likely not hard to get elsewhere on public MOOC, so despite some minor issues with the lab or course, I am totally happy with the learning.

By Antony J

Nov 21, 2020

I thought this was excellent. Some familiarity with standard SQL is needed to get the most benefit from the materials, and the course is clearly aimed at GCP users.

By Inna P

Jul 9, 2021

Great introductory course to give you the taste of what lies ahead. Not a stand alone, as does not provide sufficient knowledge to build DNN on financial data.

By 陈俪师

Mar 21, 2021

Google Lab is very interesting and useful for me to understand the course, it also strengthen my SQL skills, Recommended!

By betty y

Oct 19, 2020

1. Excellent experience in AI lab; 2. Straightforward introduction of the Models; 3. Exercise also has inspiration

By aiye0003 J

May 2, 2020

This is a very good course because it tuned my already forecasting knowledge to look more into machine learning

By Andrew

Jan 13, 2020

Good course that gives a lot of breadth as an introduction to machine learning in finance. Well put together

By Kareem S

May 10, 2021

Great course, thank you to the talented people at Google for making this available at relatively low cost.

By Gabriel V

Aug 6, 2020

This is an amazing way to use data science in finance. This course is quite clear and easy to finish.

By Ed E

May 11, 2021

Great instructors and content. Clear topics explanations and straightforward practice coding labs

By Ralph S

Mar 22, 2020

Great introduction course that gives you an idea of various concepts of machine learning

By GABRIEL D F N

Jan 5, 2024

This course is great opportunity to learn more about trading using Machine Learning

By Advait N J

Feb 23, 2023

WAs a nice basic course , great for you if you are interested in Data Engineering

By Edgar C C

Feb 1, 2021

Excelente el curso. Lo recomiendo solo debes tener conocimiento básico de Phyton.

By Evangelos P

Jul 5, 2020

Nice course, this complex subject is introduced step by step with many examples!