Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP by Google Cloud

4.0
stars
820 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you’ll learn about the fundamentals of trading, including the concept of trend, returns, stop-loss, and volatility. You will learn how to identify the profit source and structure of basic quantitative trading strategies. This course will help you gauge how well the model generalizes its learning, explain the differences between regression and forecasting, and identify the steps needed to create development and implementation backtesters. By the end of the course, you will be able to use Google Cloud Platform to build basic machine learning models in Jupyter Notebooks. To be successful in this course, you should have advanced competency in Python programming and familiarity with pertinent libraries for machine learning, such as Scikit-Learn, StatsModels, and Pandas. Experience with SQL is recommended. You should have a background in statistics (expected values and standard deviation, Gaussian distributions, higher moments, probability, linear regressions) and foundational knowledge of financial markets (equities, bonds, derivatives, market structure, hedging)....

Top reviews

AK

May 28, 2020

Very interesting course, I totally agree that there are very few courses that cover time-series analysis. I haven't tried BigQuery before. Looking forward to next courses in this specialization.

MS

Jan 29, 2020

Excellent! But, I am missing some of the prerequisites since I just wanted to take a chance and try things out, but feel like proceeding further might lead to some stumbling blocks.

Filter by:

201 - 221 of 221 Reviews for Introduction to Trading, Machine Learning & GCP

By Conor W

Jan 21, 2020

A waste of time and money really. Appears to cobbled together from other courses. It doesnt flow, instead jumps around on random topics and none of them link up. It can jump from very basic concepts to suddenly covering complex topics in the in a 2 minute video. The "graded" exercises are pointless. Just following a series of (convoluted) steps and nothing is learned and nothing is actually graded. Dont waste you time with this.

By Allen S

Aug 23, 2020

There could be some useful information in there but even with subtitles, the horrible audio quality makes it much too painful to wade through. I gave up and cancelled the course. I'm very disappointed as my cloud experience is entirely AWS and I was looking forward to learning about the Google Cloud alternative. How could a company as strong as Google produce such a staggeringly poor introduction to their platform?

By Luiz P F

Oct 22, 2020

There seems to much detail lacking in both ML and Trading aspects of the course. Moreover, the practice labs are not interactive and don't build up to add much to the content. There's not much exploration during labs either. Overall, a very poor introduction.

By Jodon K

May 31, 2021

The lectures are good. The coursework is atrociously bad. It appears to be pulled from a bunch of unrelated courses on both ML and BigQuery. The lectures are worth a listen, but I didn't come away having learned anything about programming ML for Trading.

By liweipace

Mar 12, 2020

It not available in China whatsoever. The course works fine. Yet the Qwiklabs are dumb. Even if you log in with a VPN, google will still block you because of geographic location, which is China. You should mention that at the info page or fix the problem.

By Amos E

Jun 27, 2021

The finance presentations were well-done. Unfortunately they have nothing to do with the other videos, or the assignments, which are about using GCP and machine learning in general. They have nothing to do with application of the financial material.

By Edward L

Feb 6, 2020

Constant headaches trying to get GCP to work. Even if you do get it to run without crashing (unlikely) you don't really learn much in the labs because they are already 100% written for you - its just run this code we provided.

By Jeremy H

Oct 5, 2023

Unable to access required course materials (https://www.coursera.org/learn/introduction-trading-machine-learning-gcp/discussions/search?q=qwiklabs).

By Sangusanthoshreddy R

Apr 25, 2020

More of theory.

Labs are not very poor. Doesn't explain the important part of code.

Intuition is not explained well.

Waste of money

By Adriano A

Jul 23, 2020

I can't stand the voice and the gestures of one of instructors, they really bother me. Sorry. Leaving because of this.

By Xiaolin Q

May 30, 2021

You basically pay for getting an advertisement. Nothing is actually taught except for introducing the "amazing" GCP.

By S. H M

May 29, 2022

Everything was superficially stated and the assignments were not clear and workable at all

By Philipp L

Mar 6, 2024

Outdated instructions. Notebooks don't run since packages changed or API changed

By Dheeraj T

Feb 26, 2024

This needs a serious update - The google cloud instructions do not work.

By Nikhil R

Apr 11, 2020

I find better organized and applicable content than this by googling

By JC h

May 7, 2021

terrible ... your instructions for unenrolling aren't accurate

By John Y

Jun 14, 2021

FUCK YOU, I WANT TO UNENROLL YOU FUCKING ASSHOLE

By Pedro M G

Jul 16, 2022

Tools don't work anymore. Update this course.

By sohail s

Mar 11, 2022

sale pitch couse to buy google product

By HE J

Jan 1, 2020

Too simple

By Charchit R

Feb 21, 2021

Very Poor