Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.7
stars
1,054 ratings
425 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS
Sep 16, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

MI
Aug 9, 2020

This course has made me fall in love with probability. Highly recommended for anyone who dislikes probability. You will end up loving probability later. Great instructor and quality lecture material.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 424 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Ece Ö

Jun 7, 2020

Thank you so much!

By Fei

Sep 9, 2019

Very interesting !

By Valerii M

Mar 8, 2019

Beautiful Course!

By stevencheng1982

Jul 4, 2018

very good course!

By Vincent V

May 1, 2018

very good course.

By claudia s

Aug 17, 2017

Excelente course!

By Rebeca S O

Dec 30, 2017

Very nice course

By ARIFUZZAMAN M

Apr 17, 2020

Excellent!!!!

By Paul B

Mar 2, 2018

I enjoyed it.

By HUEY C S

Oct 26, 2020

Good course!

By Jaime E F

Aug 16, 2020

Great course

By Amir Z

Jun 13, 2020

Great course

By Robin C

Sep 14, 2019

Wonderful co

By Komal S

Jan 28, 2017

Nice course.

By WojciechŚwiderski

Jan 30, 2018

nice course

By Yogesh

Jul 20, 2017

Good course

By Georgia P

Jun 6, 2018

Thank you!

By Sherif N B

May 15, 2018

Thank you!

By MAURICIO W

Oct 2, 2017

Brilliant!

By Sri R W

Sep 22, 2020

Excellent

By Jayaganesh G

Dec 17, 2017

The Best.

By Michael P

Jul 27, 2017

Engaging!

By RAMAKRISHNA R

Apr 22, 2020

Excellen

By 谭庭玺

Aug 17, 2019

老师教的好

By Rick N

Jun 19, 2020

This course contained useful information, but I disliked the corny, jokey style in which it was presented.

The quiz questions and answer choices were confusing and frustrating. I especially disliked the obscure cultural references, such as television shows or internet memes. There were also numerous typographical errors and grammar errors.

A good point was that numerous real-world examples were presented. A bad point was that several annoying, silly, and unrealistic toy examples were presented.

The content was useful, but I wonder how useful it would be to someone who has no prior statistical or report-reading experience. For example, some students may have never seen a p-value before, and the explanation provided may have been insufficient for them.

I also strongly object to the use of the term "hard variable" to describe a variable that is clinically important.

"Hard variables" are those that are quantified and objectively measured. "Hard data" are data that take on quantitative values, and this is not restricted to births and deaths.

"Quality of life" is often subjective, not objective, so I do not consider it to be a "hard variable", even though it is clinically important.

I am glad I took the course because the content of the course is important.

However, I did not enjoy taking the course. It left me with an unpleasant, frustrated feeling of belittlement. The professor seemed to speak to the students as if they were young children. I was puzzled at why the professor apparently did not take the material seriously.