Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.7
686 ratings
277 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS

Sep 17, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

RR

Jun 17, 2017

Amazing course to understand the nature of probability and its applications. Lecture delivery by Karl is fabulous and the efforts put in by Jose is highly appreciable. Hoping for an advance course.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 275 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By vijeta i

Dec 04, 2017

was a good course

By Antonio P

Aug 30, 2019

Excellent teaching of a well designed introductory course about probability. I’ve appreciated how much can be taught while keeping tough maths out of sight. I’ve also appreciated the connection between theory and non-scholastic, real life applications.

By vinod n

Sep 19, 2019

An excellent coverage of topics and good lectures by Karl. My only quibble is that the exercises could be a little more challenging.

By Hasan B

Feb 01, 2017

Very nice and entertaining course

Sometimes the quizzes can be a bit frustrating. They could be set better.

Also, often the quizzes are very trivial.

By Crispin R

Mar 29, 2019

Videos were very useful and interesting. This helped me develop my understanding of statistics in my A-Level Maths course.

By Issam B

Jul 31, 2019

It's an interesting course because it has many applications .Thank you very much to Professor Karl Schmedders

By Andrey M

Sep 13, 2018

Nice introduction, especially if you are more interested in applications than math.

By Ahmad M

Nov 01, 2019

I had a better understanding of probability concepts now

By Prajjwal A

May 20, 2017

I really liked the ease with which Karl taught some of the most intriguing concepts of probability. I would suggest more numerical s to be included.

By Karrtik I

Nov 16, 2019

Excellent intuition till week 4, however week 5 could have been better. Also exercises can be more tougher and rigourous.

By AJAY H

Sep 19, 2019

This course covers very basic and does not explain how the normal distribution works, the maths behind it, and does not have rigorous exercise for practice

By Mostafa A A

Jul 31, 2018

A very simple, clear and easy-to-understand course about probabilities and their applications in real life.

By Jan P

Dec 16, 2018

The in-class quizzes are not relevant and exercises uninteresting. Otherwise interestingly conducted and helpful course.

By Lucas B

Mar 01, 2019

Not that challenging

By Evgeny G

Dec 20, 2018

While the lectures was interesting, I found flaws in exercises part and material navigation. We need more difficult exercises to practice or maybe links to some external tasks. Also navigation bar is bad. There's no way we can get back to completed videos on different weeks.

By Marcos M

Sep 01, 2017

The questions were too easy. Always just two questions. It's too much of watching the teacher talk, video edition could be used more. Some graphs and animations to "see" the concepts would be wellcome.

By yogesh s d

Apr 26, 2018

The course was basic. Exercises were way too easy.

By Amir G

Aug 13, 2019

after week 4 it is more teaching excel than probability and quiz was more "learn to find a calculator for this kind of subjects" than examine knowledge of probability.

By Paul K

Mar 03, 2018

Very basic, but a great introduction

By Deleted A

Feb 28, 2017

Funny and Intuitive explanations.

By Ahmed M Y O

Nov 21, 2017

very basic

By Bhavya S

Oct 29, 2017

It started out very well, but towards the end there was inadequate intuition provided. For instance, the binomial and normal distribution done directly through functions in excel stripped away the intuition. There was a missing base to these. Overall, the examples picked out were very interesting and would capture my attention.

By Nils A

Jun 03, 2018

Extremely distracting accent and voice, can't focus at all on what is being said

By Riccardo D C

Mar 04, 2019

The multiple choice questions in the quizzes, with their slippery, quite similar yet tricky possible answers, makes the course absolutely distracting.

By DONG Q

Jul 12, 2018

too simple