Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.8
stars
1,703 ratings

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

CC

Invalid date

The course content was very accurate for an introductory level. The instructor explains clearly all the topics and gives real life examples for a better understanding of the theoretical concepts.

MB

Invalid date

What an incredible course! Dr. Schmedders' energy combined with his knowledge made for an insightful introduction to probability that I will use as a launchpad for further explorations!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 665 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Bad J

Oct 16, 2019

That was one of the most awesome courses I've ever seen. Professor Karl explains extremely nice and now I think that probability is really fun! Thanks for all your efforts, Jose and Karl. I was really enjoying your lessons. Cheers from Belarus!

By Didier Z

Jan 25, 2021

Thank you Prof. Schmedders. Extremely well teached! The combination of theory and application to daily problems makes the content not only highly relevant but also a pleasure. Also thank you to your colleague who explained the exercises nicely

By Sean D

Jul 29, 2021

Prof. Schmedders was an incredible teacher who is very adept at explaining mathematical concepts. His friendly demeanor and great sense of humor also made the course very enjoyable for me, I don't think I would have completed it without him.

By Sergey D

Dec 7, 2022

Excellent lecturer. Exercices in Week 4 contain some material that has not been presented in lectures.

Also I think asking students to just copy some numbers from examples is not a very good idea.

I enjoyed the lectures. Thank you very much!

By Damian S

Jan 19, 2019

I have learned that "An Intuitive Introduction to Probability" explain basic concepts very clearly. I could learn basic concepts and did small application of theory. Very good for the people searching for an introduction to probability.

By vikram s r

Jun 13, 2020

This course is as it says i.e.very intuitive only due to the great efforts of Karl who makes it so easy for a novice and inspires confidence at each step. My hats off to a wonderful and intuitive teacher that he is! A rare breed indeed

By Ashish S

Sep 24, 2017

I always struggled in solving probability related problems. This course has definitely helped me in understanding my misconceptions in this area. Thank you for good content and examples which made this course fun to learn.

Thank you.

By Patric D

Jul 18, 2023

Extremely helpful to improving my accounting perspective. Professor Karl explained all topics well, not just how to solve particular problems but also the theoretical grounding surrounding circumstances to which probability applies.

By Eloy P H

Aug 29, 2021

Excellent way to teach probability as a tool for real world applications. More practical and less theoretical without losing rigor. Thanks for the course. Looking forward for more courses with professor Schmedders. Thanks again!

By Rashomi S

Apr 21, 2021

An excellent instructor. Easy to follow and understand. I particularly like the examples taken from popular culture, Star Wars to be precise. But I wish they have included more exercise so that will give the opportunity to practice.

By Ammarah F

Apr 10, 2018

this course is really helpful in building basics about probability. it explains with examples and also make us think about the wrong approaches we have been tricked by. in lecture quizzes are really nice aspect and keeps me engaged.

By Tomasz K

Feb 17, 2019

The course was great, thank you! The only thing I would change are the exercises, which required to repeat some values presented in the associated videos, somehow I did not find it exciting/teaching me anything... Still, thank you!

By Manideep L

Aug 25, 2017

This is a superbly crafted course, as it truly gives an intuitive introduction to probability. You'll get a sense of how important a role this intriguing subject plays in the real world thanks to the inclusion of its applications.

By Biswajit R

Jan 12, 2021

When I started, I never thought of completing the course on Probability. I was looking for clarity on some concepts of Probability but continued with other topics. One of the finest classes on Probability with so much simplicity.

By Piyanka D

Apr 18, 2019

The teaching technique of Professor is awesome. Loved to continue this course for his extensive delivery of lectures with easy real life examples. Thank you Sir, love to take part other courses where you will teach in Coursera.

By Nguyen M

Sep 28, 2018

Thank you so much! All the explanation in the course were clear and intuitive! I have looked for explanation for probability and random variables in many places and still could not grasp the ideas. and Karl is the best teacher!

By Daniel U

Mar 30, 2021

This is an amazing course. The tools I learned here have a wide range of applications. Karl and José did an amazing job. The material is very comprehensible and Karl explains it very well. I had a lot of fun and learned a lot.

By Prashant C

Oct 5, 2019

Karl is exceptional. Love the way you teach, especially the real life examples and cases.

Thanks to Karl, I am no more scared with the word 'Probability'...!! Kudos to you..!!

Would love to attend more MOOCs conducted by Karl.

By Rahul S

Oct 26, 2019

This is a very good introductory course to the challenging topic called Probability. My approach is to start from this course and then take advanced courses on the topic in my journey to Data Science, and Machine Learning.

By Anonymous L

Aug 8, 2023

Thank you, Professor Karl, for opening my eyes to the world of probability. Your teaching style made the subject fun and engaging, and I truly appreciate your efforts. I would also like to thank Jose for his assistance.

By Shay H

Aug 29, 2020

This is a really great, well-explained course for those who need a refresher or even have never taken probability courses before. Professor Schmedders is one of the best instructors I've experienced so far on Coursera.

By Anuar T

Oct 11, 2023

This course is fantastic! The material is presented in a very accessible language, making it easy to grasp all concepts. I particularly appreciated the abundance of practical examples, including applications in Excel.

By Ian H

Jul 11, 2023

Terrific course. Easy to follow and very ell explained. I particularly liked the module on Bayes Law - the examples for which were really interesting, especially the explanation of how CDOs caused the credit crunch.

By christopher w

Feb 23, 2018

Excellent course, the instructors were engaging and succeeded in making the course fun. I learned a lot from this and it did not feel like work at all, rather it was a pleasure to participate. Very nicely done indeed!

By Ioana D

Feb 21, 2017

Very good introduction to probability, the concepts were really well explained, I wish there was a sequel to this course covering other subjects in statistics. I highly recommend this course for absolute beginners.