Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.7
stars
1,006 ratings
409 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS

Sep 17, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

MI

Aug 10, 2020

This course has made me fall in love with probability. Highly recommended for anyone who dislikes probability. You will end up loving probability later. Great instructor and quality lecture material.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 408 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By C S

Jul 03, 2020

A great intro course or refresher for someone doing basic probability calculations. The topics are well structured and the exercises in class are practical.

By Shashank

Oct 08, 2018

Wonderfully helpful. If you ever need help in probability, take this course. It teaches you all important fundamentals in a engaging and fun way. Loved it.

By Tim L

Jul 24, 2020

Karl does not always take you through all of the math, but his enthusiasm for learning and of the subject matter counteracts any short-coming he may have.

By Arun T

Feb 07, 2020

Exceptional course. Stands out amongst the many I have completed or attempted. The humour is particularly engaging and makes the course a treat to take.

By Learner4Life

Feb 03, 2018

Very nice course. It does what the title says. Excellent instructor. Thank you so much professor

Karl Schmedders, the TA, and the whole Coursera team.

.

By Seungwan K

Sep 07, 2017

Easy, smart, and funny introduction to probability. Recommend this course to those who feel that probability would be difficult but would like to learn!

By Robert E

Aug 11, 2017

A really great course with good explanations. My favorite parts were the applications in week 3 and finally understanding what a z-score is (week 5).

By Herbert E D

Jun 01, 2017

A thoughtful and engaging course to help one think critically about probability without getting bogged down in too many maths details: really helpful.

By Shweta n

Oct 21, 2020

i liked the nice broken down explanations, sometimes during the excercise and table my mind would wobble but on repeat watching it, it was understood

By Monika M

Dec 04, 2019

Excellent course for beginners! It has really sparked an active interest of probability and has prepared me for an intermediate statistics course.

By Maksim U

Jan 13, 2019

The course was just awesome! Both instructors are super charismatic and give extremely clear life examples to illustrate their points. Thank you.

By Nika I

Oct 13, 2019

The course was very interesting and informative. I repeated what I knew and studied everything I had never heard of. Everything was very clear.

By Rohit M

May 30, 2017

Great effort by both, Instructor and TA. Very good collection of quiz questions. Which enhanced the learning's form this course. Great work!!!

By Igor I

Jun 10, 2017

Great course! Fun professor, easy to listen. Very good for learning basic skills in calculating probability. Fun exercises (Millenium Falcon)

By Ms. N B A H

Sep 03, 2020

Its a great course to learn basic knowledge about probability. Love the simple example and yet easy to understand. Recommended this course.

By Alexander M D

Aug 26, 2020

Great teacher, great information. Some classes are a lot to digest for a beginner and may take a few re-watches before fully comprehending.

By Feng L

Jun 30, 2020

Nicely explained by Karl, a great lecture for students to really understand the concepts. Looking forward to the next level of probability.

By Preetha J

Jul 06, 2018

Great course with truly interesting and engaging lectures. Lecturer is excellent and exercises at the end of each module are very helpful.

By Walid Z

Nov 04, 2018

Simply excellent. I had a lot of fun learning about probabilities and clarifying some notions that I missunderstood.

Thank you very much

By Atulya G

Jun 12, 2017

A wonderful course for beginners in probability. Interesting problem set and exercises, especially the applications of Benford's law.

By Mauricio M P

Jul 02, 2020

In some formulas it is necessary to separate the operations with square brackets. There are times when the operations are confused.

By Raghu T P

Feb 18, 2018

Instructor is simply awesome. The way lecture is delivered with superb examples. Its an excellent course and no one shoudl miss it.

By Isaak C

Aug 29, 2020

Your course is fun and I will not be the alligator food. If you have class, I am looking forward to enrolling your course again.

By Paulo P M

Nov 26, 2019

It is a great introdutory course. It explains statistical concepts in an easy way to understand, and also statistical notation.

By Joep M

Sep 26, 2019

Very clear and fun course! Excellent teacher with lots of examples, but also explains all the basic theory from the ground up.