Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.7
stars
1,075 ratings
434 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS
Sep 16, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

FR
May 20, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. The explanations are clear and, as suggested by the title, the lecturer uses intuition and daily-life examples rather than abstract and formal definitions and notations.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 433 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By SANTHA A

Nov 2, 2017

I have been teaching probability for many years, but this course helped me to get a lot of insight about real life applicaions. I enjoyed the course very much. Thank you.

By Li K

Jun 13, 2017

Nice course! Many thanks to Prof.Karl Schmedders! He made simple but deep enough introduction to probability. Now probability is fun and useful, and I want to learn more.

By Saeif A

Aug 10, 2020

This is one of the best courses I've taken in Coursera. I've never seen anyone teaching probability like this. I wish there are more courses from the same instructor.

By Rajvardhan M (

Jul 15, 2019

The lecturers have seamlessly weaved course

content + topical and intriguing examples/applications of Probability

into an engaging learning experience. Brilliant!

By Sulaiman Q

Aug 17, 2017

After this course I can safely say that I don't hate probability and It's fun and useful and I want to learn more. Cheers to Prof. Karl Schmedders, He was amazing.

By jack s

Jul 30, 2017

Excellent. Very clear instruction with some very interesting real life examples. Course a bit basic for me. Wish there was a follow-up with more advanced material.

By Zsuzsanna H

Sep 29, 2020

Smart, up to the point, easy to follow, even the most complex theorems. Great presentation, helpful exercises, excellent real life application. I simply liked it!

By Kate

Aug 2, 2020

Very simple, clear and at the same time capacious course. I especially liked the teacher Karl and his TA Jose, they were very enthusiastic and easy to understand.

By Daniela A L

May 20, 2018

Requiere un nivel muy básico del inglés. Es excelente para entender la teoría elemental de la probabilidad y para aprender las funciones básicas de esta en excel.

By Camilo R

Nov 5, 2017

The contain is very clear, much better than other courses and books. It would be a fantastic idea whether the Prof will launch a new MOOC Advanced Stat course :).

By Mohamed K

Jan 27, 2020

An excellent introduction to probability. The course is really fun. I hope that the instructor could provide more advanced classes on probability and statistics.

By CALVINO P D

Jul 17, 2020

Thank you so much to teach me with a great humour and even greater passion. Thank you so much to makes me love what I hate. Thank you Prof. Karl, and Prof. Jose

By giorgio i

Feb 1, 2021

Good lecturer, good assistant. The presentation appealed to our intuition and was precise and with excellent examples. It was a pleasure to audit this course.

By C S

Jul 3, 2020

A great intro course or refresher for someone doing basic probability calculations. The topics are well structured and the exercises in class are practical.

By Shashank

Oct 8, 2018

Wonderfully helpful. If you ever need help in probability, take this course. It teaches you all important fundamentals in a engaging and fun way. Loved it.

By Tim L

Jul 24, 2020

Karl does not always take you through all of the math, but his enthusiasm for learning and of the subject matter counteracts any short-coming he may have.

By Asha S

Nov 24, 2020

Clear, solid content with relatable real-world applications make it fun. Quite lively too. Prof. Schmedders is how we wish our Math professors would be!

By Arun T

Feb 7, 2020

Exceptional course. Stands out amongst the many I have completed or attempted. The humour is particularly engaging and makes the course a treat to take.

By Learner4Life

Feb 3, 2018

Very nice course. It does what the title says. Excellent instructor. Thank you so much professor

Karl Schmedders, the TA, and the whole Coursera team.

.

By Seungwan K

Sep 7, 2017

Easy, smart, and funny introduction to probability. Recommend this course to those who feel that probability would be difficult but would like to learn!

By peter n

Feb 24, 2021

Extremely entertaining professor and very interesting examples / stories / exercises that are cleverly structured and in an easily understandable way.

By Robert E

Aug 11, 2017

A really great course with good explanations. My favorite parts were the applications in week 3 and finally understanding what a z-score is (week 5).

By Herbert E D

Jun 1, 2017

A thoughtful and engaging course to help one think critically about probability without getting bogged down in too many maths details: really helpful.

By Shweta n

Oct 21, 2020

i liked the nice broken down explanations, sometimes during the excercise and table my mind would wobble but on repeat watching it, it was understood

By Monika M

Dec 3, 2019

Excellent course for beginners! It has really sparked an active interest of probability and has prepared me for an intermediate statistics course.