Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.8
stars
1,701 ratings

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

MI

Invalid date

This course has made me fall in love with probability. Highly recommended for anyone who dislikes probability. You will end up loving probability later. Great instructor and quality lecture material.

SM

Invalid date

Excellent explanations, clear, concise and fun. Best course I found on basic probability, really entertained me and got me stuck to the computer wanting to learn more. Definitely recommended!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 662 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Chelsea S

Feb 8, 2023

Karl was amazing and I liked how he explained things. As a math major that doesn't like real world mathematics he made the concepts seem easier than just memorize equations. He was very likeable and was easy to understand. The TA was not as likeable nor was he as easy to understand with his accent. I would sign up for a class from Karl again if it comes up. Thank you for making this ffree And interesting.

By Mariam K

Jan 11, 2022

This course was great! It covered some basics and not in an overwhelming way, it was very interesting.

I have learnt the probability and statistics in school and then uni but was never interested and neven understood everything, i was just using pieces of knowledge, but this course helped me very much! Now I can move on to other courses without worrying that I will not understand the subject thoroughly!

By Darshit S

Apr 16, 2023

I really enjoyed the course by Prof. Karl Schmedders. His way of teaching was amazing and It really changed the way I used to look at probability. I learned a lot from him and it was a great experience re-learning probability from someone very knowledgable like him. I am also very grateful for the opportunity to have discovered this course by Prof. Karl Schmedders and I highly recommend him as a teacher.

By MADHAV S

May 24, 2020

Honestly I was having a hard time this semester Because of some advanced statistic courses that I had and my basics weren't clear. But this course really helped me nail it. This was really intuitive fun and the examples were really Good. A huge thanks to the Instructor. I had so much fun in doing this course. I was afraid of math but this really got me excited I'm looking forward to more statistics .

By Daniela M

Aug 5, 2022

This course is incredible! The modules are very interesting and throughout the five weeks you get to deepen your highschool knowledge on this topic, so I would definitely recommend taking this course if you want to prepare a bit more before entering university. Everything is well explained and the professor is always excited whenever he introduces a new concept, so overall it's totally worth it.

By Peter H

Jan 14, 2021

+ Clear explanations

+ The written text of the lectures is helpful

+ Very good examples in Module 3

+ Good explanation of the binomial distribution

+ Airline Overbooking is an excellent example

_ The formal definition of the Student's t-distribution is confusing

_ The Q-Q plots are only superficially treated in the course script

_ Is the solution shown for the exercise of Module 5 really a Q-Q plot?

By Заров Е А

Jan 31, 2019

That was the great course! I really enjoyed by it.

Thanks a lot for the teacher. All examples were clear, all concepts were understandable.

I was completely intended to continue each next lesson.

And the words in the title "Intuitive" and "Introduction" are absolutely proofed! It was quite introductory

- not so easy but not so hard. And I have got a good intuition inside a topic!

Thanks a lot!

By Alexander S

Apr 22, 2022

Absolutely fantastic videos from a very enthusiastic professor who really knows how to explain and clear and engaging way. The attached reading PDF is somewhat messy and include a lot of information which is hard to digest unless you actually studied probability. Overall, I highly recommend this course for those who would like to understand and be able to use central probability concepts.

By Hatsumi N

Oct 8, 2020

Fantastic perspective of some basics of probability. To design a course around "intuition" is brilliant, and students will move beyond manipulation of numbers and formulas to truly building a strong foundation of understanding the utility and meaning of probability in the real world. The passion of the instructors shine through and inspires the student to continue on in the subject.

By Karl S C

Jun 26, 2020

The most fun way to learn statistics. Cool professor. Examples were relevant and the materials are top-notch. He makes probability bearable for people who want to learn it but are somewhat "turned off" by the Maths. Side note, the teaching assistant looks like The Flash and Charles Leclerc.

Overall, a great course to take if you want to learn probability easily. I highly recommend it.

By Ahmed A

Mar 9, 2021

I enjoyed this course! everything is just done right. The only exception, is sometime the only way to answer a question, was to re-watch a video to pick up a number; because the question required a side-context explained in the video or in an excel sheet; which seemed unrelated to the value of the content. Otherwise, the course is awesome. Intuitive indeed! thanks Karl and Jose!

By Mubarak A

Apr 27, 2020

Excellent course. The instructor explained the conceptual ideas and combined them with cool applications.

Including Excell in the examples was a beneficial thing and a nice touch. Also, the quizzes were reasonable and essential to integrating the course.

I toked the course while taking a class about Probability in the University, and overall it is worthwhile to spend the time.

By Deleted A

Apr 16, 2018

Before this course, I hated probability exactly like Karl mentioned in the beginning of the course. But now it's really fun and interesting to look things from probability perspective. Thanks Karl for the course. Thanks Jose for interesting problems and way to solve them.

I look forward to further courses from Karl, please inform me whenever you are conducting a new course.

By Gisele D

May 2, 2023

¡Saludos desde Argentina!

Soy docente de Estadística en la Universidad de Buenos Aires y realicé este curso para ampliar mis herramientas en el aula.

Estoy muy satisfecha con el curso, las ideas me resultaron sumamente interesantes y aplicables.

Les mando un saludo cordial a los instructores

PD: me gustaría dejar sentado que los subtítulos en español contienen varios errores.

By 毛睿

Nov 4, 2022

The course provides the basic intuitive introduction and application of probability theory, provides the application of probability theory in different scenarios such as finance and law, and also includes the teaching of how to use Excel to process data.

After each unit, there are "Star Wars" and other exercises to consolidate.

It really made me interested in this course

By Floyd D

Jul 31, 2017

I've been trying for years to get to a point where probability doesn't scare me more than clowns. This class has done it for me. He's done an excellent job demystifying the subject and extracting the points one actually needs to understand from all the nice-to know's. Highly recommend the class to anyone in fields like statistics, Bayesian Networks, or data science.

By Y. Z

Oct 9, 2021

Taking the course is just like reading stories. The instructor presented really interesting and simple examples in a humorous way, which enables me to recall important concepts and connect the knowledge with daily life. This is an easy-to-take course and it doesn't take long to finish. But I really enjoyed it with these impressive stories. Thanks to the instructors!

By Veysel U D

Sep 23, 2022

I would highly recommend this course for those who need a basic understanding of probability. The course is well structured. The instructor is explaining the material by giving real-world examples, which makes it more clear and more interesting. The questions are evaluating whether you are following the course or not. They are pretty easy and straight forward.

By Marton G

Apr 8, 2020

Very well tought course, with clear explanations. I especially liked that the focus of the lectures is entirely on building intuition and understanding. The quizzes and exercises do not contribute much to the learning, but the lectures alone are well worth taking the course. Too bad there is currently no follow-up course available with more advanced topics.

By Thanh N T

Jul 7, 2023

The course truly reflects its name, extremely intuitive. This is not a math-based course, suitable for those who want an intuitive foundation on probability without a solid mathematical background. Of course, its weakness is the lack of details, but it breaks the fear of the topic. The most useful part is computing probability using software function.

By Mohummud D

Jan 25, 2017

I have been looking for a stats course to unlock further learning. This was it! I found the pace, content style worked for me to allow me to proceed on other courses. Yes, I 'hated' stats when younger and feared it. But I am more comfortable and eager to learn more now and put into practice the extensions I am now able to move on to. Thank you.

By Matthew A

Oct 16, 2017

A great overview of basic probability, with interesting applications and motivating examples.

Short quizzes after each video gives invaluable quick feedback on comprehension.

Prof Schmedders is an engaging and insightful instructor.

My only criticism is that it is just 5 weeks of material, it's all over too soon. A followup course would be wonderful.

By Lenis A G P

May 12, 2022

Exceptional course. I completed an undergraduate probability course from my bachelor's program, but didn't get the core of probability. Now, thanks to this course I finally got that core, and wanna keep studying probability, even redo this course, in order to correctly apply probability. THANKS TO PROF. KARL, and Jose Parra, for this course.

By Saman S

Aug 10, 2022

I really, really enjoyed this course. one of the best, and most useful educational content I've spent my time over. worthed every second, and more importantly, I will surely use what I've learned here in my finance career. I never hated probability, but now I Love it! Thanks to the brilliant instruction by Prof. Karl.

Cheers Saman Saybani

By Vinayak J

Dec 29, 2017

A great way to revise the basic concepts of probability before you dive into advance topics. This course provides an intuition behind each of the important concepts that makes it easy to understand why certain things are done the way they are done. Perfect length for an introductory course. Assignments could have been a little more complex.