Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.8
stars
1,701 ratings

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

MI

Invalid date

This course has made me fall in love with probability. Highly recommended for anyone who dislikes probability. You will end up loving probability later. Great instructor and quality lecture material.

SM

Invalid date

Excellent explanations, clear, concise and fun. Best course I found on basic probability, really entertained me and got me stuck to the computer wanting to learn more. Definitely recommended!

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 662 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Loïc M

Jul 16, 2023

I really liked it! It really helped me in my comprehension of probability, how to calculate risk, how to make smart decisions. You see, if you wanna become a day trader, a risk manager, etc., this course is for people like you. Thank you, Karl Schmedders, for this amazing course!

By Zehaie H

Aug 5, 2021

I had taken introductory probability and statistics course back in college. Although I did very well in the homeworks and exams, I must say I did not get it. All up to recently, I felt that course was a waste. But, with Pr. Karl's course, it all came together. Thank you, Pr. Karl!

By Xiaobing W

Jul 11, 2021

I like the way this course is organized - about 10 mins lecture followed by exercises. Easy-to-understand language and interesting contents. I've gained a deeper understanding of probability. I wish I had such a course during my university days. Sadly I didn't. Luckily I now have.

By Kaisa K

May 14, 2018

I fully enjoyed this course. It is a great introductory course into probability, with tons of real world examples. I had taken probability as part of my college courses >10 years ago, so I just needed a non-boring refresher. This was great. The professor was animated and engaging.

By Carlos V

Mar 16, 2019

The best place I've found to start getting a good (and Intuitive, as the course's name rightfully states) grasp of Probability concepts that I have been familiar with for many years, without really understanding their meaning. Thanks a bunch for the superb work.

Ausgezeichnet!!!!

By ALEXANDRE X S

Jun 9, 2020

Excellent... I have some troubles with english, but not a lot. The distribution of classes are good, but exercises are little unclear. I've needed to read many times to understand. But, i found my way. Thank's a lot by the oportunity. And, sorry about the english. I'm learning!

By Daniel K

May 6, 2017

I found this course very helpful in doing exactly what the title says it is trying to do. The professor is excellent at translating theory into readily grasped concepts. The exercises were well thought out and presented and added value to the course. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

By Siyavash K

Aug 30, 2023

Outstandingly amazing course. I enjoyed and learnt very useful information which motivates me to get deep and learn more about statistics (specially Bayes rule).

Huge gratitude to the UZH and special gratitude to Karl Schmedders and José Parra Moyano for their time and effort.

By Deleted A

May 6, 2019

Es un curso diseñado para personas que no tienen mayor conocimiento sobre la teoría de la probabilidad. Si bien este no es mi caso, debido a la claridad y profundidad del profesor, me pareció un curso excelente; especialmente debido a los ejemplos y aplicaciones que utiliza.

By SUDHIR K

Jan 4, 2022

It gave not only a good isight of probability but the applications of it in real world. Which gives us a new perspective of probability of how it could be used. Great. Thanks a lot for the course which is provided in a easy to understand way with good real time examples.

By Kay R

Mar 11, 2021

Course Lecture is verygood . Lots of mistakes in the quizzes.. There is some tehcnical issue with Quiz 1.2 and no one can pass that. I am entering the correct answer (and tried different), and all gives wrong. Please fix the Quiz 1.2 issue so we can complete the course.

By Anand D

Jun 9, 2018

It is a great course that teaches you HOW to think about probability and really helped me find new ways to think of probability and Maths. Greatly appreciate the work put in by Karl Schmedders and Jose. Their enthusiasm for the subject is infectious even in a MOOC. :)

By Tran H D

Feb 12, 2021

Karl Schmedders did a brilliant job explaining probability in a gentle and practical way. The course materials have been carefully crafted to equip us with insights and intuition to comprehend what probability is to make sense of the data-driven world around us.

By cfinnna

May 24, 2017

It's an interesting intro course of probably if you don't know much about this subject. The lectures are straightforward and easy to digest, exercise are well-organised. The excel formulas introduced are quite useful. Looking forward to more courses from Karl :)

By Harish S V

May 3, 2020

Superb course!! I am not new to probability. However, while teaching Machine Learning, I realised that it would help if I have a deeper understanding of Probability. This course was a great help!! Thanks to Prof. Karl for giving me that intuitive understanding.

By Luis F H

Nov 2, 2020

An exemple of teaching! With humor and skilled technique Karl conducts the course fabulously and desmystifies concepts of probability and statistics easily, what makes the course essential for students who want an initial and stimulant approach to the subject.

By Saad Z S

Jul 26, 2020

I have hated probability for as long as I can remember. But this course was incredible. I highly recommend it for those who have a hard time understanding the basics and nuances of probability. The instructor is one of the best I have studied from on Coursera.

By Enrique

Apr 5, 2020

This is an excellent course. Professor Schmedders not only provides an good introduction to probability; he also explains how our most common intuitions are often based on probabilistic thinking. I would definitely take another course with Prof Schmedders.

By Dariusz J

Feb 4, 2020

The course introduces to probability in a very simple and friendly maner. Real life examples helps to understand better the topics.

For things to change, I would add more practical exercises for the audience, so we may try it more.

Thank you for the course

By santhosh K

Feb 15, 2018

Excellent course with lucid explanations and illustrations, quite easy to understand for those with no background knowledge. Congratulations to Prof Karl and his team and coursera for this wonderful module. Expecting many such course series from Prof Karl!

By Aman S

Sep 21, 2020

One of the most unique and amazing courses which changed my perspective completely about probability! All the fantastic examples provided to explain the applicability of a particular topic was exceptionally good. Looking forward to more such courses.

By Praveen K

Aug 19, 2017

The way Karl taught the probability was more practical and intuitive rather than theoretical. I also liked the enthusiasm in teaching . As promised in the beginning of the course it was fun and i enjoyed a lot. Thanks once again for the cool stuff!!

By Amit m

Mar 10, 2018

Very good introductory course. Teacher was passionate and explained even the smallest of details, which some professors tend to gloss over. It was a little too easy for me, so I'm hoping to see some intermediate/advanced courses from the professor.

By Ted O

Oct 11, 2022

I rate this course and its intructor highly. It introduces a variety of examples to demonstrate the key ideas for the topic and these examples are applicable to business situations. I feel confident to continue my study of probability. Thank you

By SongNan

May 4, 2017

Very cool course let me dive into probability from very different traditional Math Formula perspective, and give me many chances as I can to apply what I learned into real application. I will definitely recommend this course to any other people.