Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.7
651 ratings
261 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS

Sep 17, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

RR

Jun 17, 2017

Amazing course to understand the nature of probability and its applications. Lecture delivery by Karl is fabulous and the efforts put in by Jose is highly appreciable. Hoping for an advance course.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 259 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By m.urban

Jan 14, 2018

Thank you Professor Schmedders.

By MAURICIO W

Oct 02, 2017

Brilliant!

By Budi P S

Jun 10, 2018

Good introductory course!

By Ruben W

Jun 03, 2017

Very good and fun to follow MOOC

By Antonio

Jun 12, 2017

If you want to have fun with probability the course of Prof. Karl Shmedders is for you.

By HEDFI H

Oct 22, 2017

This how probability should be taught.

By Amit m

Mar 11, 2018

Very good introductory course. Teacher was passionate and explained even the smallest of details, which some professors tend to gloss over. It was a little too easy for me, so I'm hoping to see some intermediate/advanced courses from the professor.

By nishan p

Jan 08, 2018

The best course I have taken on probability. The intuition for every concept was awesome. Thanks.

By Rebeca S O

Dec 30, 2017

Very nice course

By Antonia

Sep 25, 2017

Great introduction to probabilities. The lectures are easy to grasp and entertaining.

By ameya

Dec 05, 2017

Simple to follow, structured well. Good examples. Both the professor and the teaching assistant do a great job.

By Harshad

Jun 21, 2017

All concepts are very well explained along with practical applications.

Wish I was taught this way at school.

By I G A A

May 06, 2017

The course is really interesting. I like how Prof. Karl and Jose explained the materials. Thank you for creating the course!

By Ioana D

Feb 21, 2017

Very good introduction to probability, the concepts were really well explained, I wish there was a sequel to this course covering other subjects in statistics. I highly recommend this course for absolute beginners.

By Jayaganesh G

Dec 17, 2017

The Best.

By Luckson R S

Mar 11, 2018

Thank you, Mr. Karl.

By Tink

Feb 16, 2018

Excellent course with lucid explanations and illustrations, quite easy to understand for those with no background knowledge. Congratulations to Prof Karl and his team and coursera for this wonderful module. Expecting many such course series from Prof Karl!

By Johnny T

Mar 22, 2017

This short course offers informative and fun real world examples.

By Floyd D

Jul 31, 2017

I've been trying for years to get to a point where probability doesn't scare me more than clowns. This class has done it for me. He's done an excellent job demystifying the subject and extracting the points one actually needs to understand from all the nice-to know's. Highly recommend the class to anyone in fields like statistics, Bayesian Networks, or data science.

By Georgia P

Jun 06, 2018

Thank you!

By Sarwar S

Nov 01, 2017

very well structured course , a must take for someone who is looking for a career in field of analytics and statistics.

By Gema A

Sep 14, 2017

I like the course because it is taught in profound yet intuitive way.

By Ruba D

Jul 06, 2017

it was a very nice course that explained probability in a simple way

By Praveen K

Aug 19, 2017

The way Karl taught the probability was more practical and intuitive rather than theoretical. I also liked the enthusiasm in teaching . As promised in the beginning of the course it was fun and i enjoyed a lot. Thanks once again for the cool stuff!!

By Jerry R

Jun 15, 2017

An excellent course! a very gentle introduction to Probability. Subjects are taught in simple and yet effective explanations with a good sense of humor. I really like the real-world examples and exercises; they greatly help me to understand the concepts and enhance my learning experience.