Chevron Left
Back to An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

Learner Reviews & Feedback for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability by University of Zurich

4.7
664 ratings
266 reviews

About the Course

This course will provide you with a basic, intuitive and practical introduction into Probability Theory. You will be able to learn how to apply Probability Theory in different scenarios and you will earn a "toolbox" of methods to deal with uncertainty in your daily life. The course is split in 5 modules. In each module you will first have an easy introduction into the topic, which will serve as a basis to further develop your knowledge about the topic and acquire the "tools" to deal with uncertainty. Additionally, you will have the opportunity to complete 5 exercise sessions to reflect about the content learned in each module and start applying your earned knowledge right away. The topics covered are: "Probability", "Conditional Probability", "Applications", "Random Variables", and "Normal Distribution". You will see how the modules are taught in a lively way, focusing on having an entertaining and useful learning experience! We are looking forward to see you online!...

Top reviews

NS

Sep 17, 2017

Superb course. I am very impressed with the way the faculty explained real world examples through the probability concepts. I wish we can have more courses from him on statistics and machine learning.

RR

Jun 17, 2017

Amazing course to understand the nature of probability and its applications. Lecture delivery by Karl is fabulous and the efforts put in by Jose is highly appreciable. Hoping for an advance course.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 265 Reviews for An Intuitive Introduction to Probability

By Gaurav K S

Apr 17, 2017

Excellent approach to explaining the theory. The emphasis on getting the fundamentals right was a welcome change from other similar courses which get into problem solving mode too soon without clarifying the basics. That being said the usage of multiple real world problems like Monty Hall, Prosecutor's Dilemma and the brilliant explanation for solutions helped me derive great clarity on key concepts. The best Coursera course I have encountered in a while.

By Georgi S

Dec 09, 2017

I love probabilities now!

By Dmitriy K

Aug 28, 2017

Excellent course for students seeking for understanding of underlying concepts of probability. The course structure and problems are very helpful. Application based problems help to see concepts discussed in the course in action. Would like to see a higher-level course on probability from Professor Schmedder.

By Mansik S

Apr 26, 2018

Very much informative and intuitive like the title!

By Anand D

Jun 09, 2018

It is a great course that teaches you HOW to think about probability and really helped me find new ways to think of probability and Maths. Greatly appreciate the work put in by Karl Schmedders and Jose. Their enthusiasm for the subject is infectious even in a MOOC. :)

By Rocio R

Mar 05, 2017

Very easy to follow!

And very nice exercises.

By Stefano M

Jan 11, 2018

Excellent explanations, clear, concise and fun. Best course I found on basic probability, really entertained me and got me stuck to the computer wanting to learn more. Definitely recommended!

By Simone S

Apr 17, 2018

Although very simple it delivers what it promises

By Nitin M

Jul 05, 2017

It is a gentle introduction to probability. The professor and the teaching assistant are excellent. This indeed is a intuitive introduction to probability, I would highly recommend this course.

By Nevzat C

Jul 25, 2017

The way that Karl fallow is great. Very thanks to him.

By hari

Jul 02, 2017

Can I have more advanced course of this

By m.urban

Jan 14, 2018

Thank you Professor Schmedders.

By vidya b

Sep 10, 2017

wonderful course, covers basic probability and its applications in the most interesting way i have seen ever.

By MAURICIO W

Oct 02, 2017

Brilliant!

By Olivier T

Aug 27, 2017

Very good... a very good start to understand Probs...

By Budi P S

Jun 10, 2018

Good introductory course!

By Ruben W

Jun 03, 2017

Very good and fun to follow MOOC

By Antonio

Jun 12, 2017

If you want to have fun with probability the course of Prof. Karl Shmedders is for you.

By HEDFI H

Oct 22, 2017

This how probability should be taught.

By Rebeca S O

Dec 30, 2017

Very nice course

By Antonia

Sep 25, 2017

Great introduction to probabilities. The lectures are easy to grasp and entertaining.

By Amit m

Mar 11, 2018

Very good introductory course. Teacher was passionate and explained even the smallest of details, which some professors tend to gloss over. It was a little too easy for me, so I'm hoping to see some intermediate/advanced courses from the professor.

By nishan p

Jan 08, 2018

The best course I have taken on probability. The intuition for every concept was awesome. Thanks.

By ameya

Dec 05, 2017

Simple to follow, structured well. Good examples. Both the professor and the teaching assistant do a great job.

By Gema A

Sep 14, 2017

I like the course because it is taught in profound yet intuitive way.